Chevron Left
Вернуться к Calculus: Single Variable Part 3 - Integration

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Calculus: Single Variable Part 3 - Integration от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.9
Оценки: 217
Рецензии: 31

О курсе

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this third part--part three of five--we cover integrating differential equations, techniques of integration, the fundamental theorem of integral calculus, and difficult integrals....

Лучшие рецензии

CC

Jul 02, 2018

I like it because it though me differential equations. This topics was previously missing from my education. It can be daunting to learn DE without proper guidance. This course provided just that.

AB

Jun 18, 2016

A bit difficult, but not truly when a good effort is made. No doubt interesting. Even a post graduate student will truly benefit from this course.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 33 отзывов о курсе Calculus: Single Variable Part 3 - Integration

автор: Sanchit S

Aug 21, 2016

Hey guys. So I just completed a Discrete Calculus course, offered by UPenn, through Coursera. I'd like to give a you guys an overview of the course, and my experience through this journey.

This, 5 part course, is designed to be completed within 21 weeks, with a work time of 6-8 hours a week. However, if you're really dedicated and have enough time, you can probably finish it within 8 weeks (like me). Oh, and it is taught by Prof. Robert Ghrist (he's cool, trust me).

First, for the prerequisites, you should have taken at least Calculus AB, to do well in this course. Practice with advanced integration techniques and some prior knowledge of Taylor Series is a plus.

Part 1 of the course begins with a study of Taylor Series. From what I've noticed, part 1 emphasizes the importance of using Taylor Series to develop an intuition about the behavior of a function at limits such as 0 and infinity. After revisiting some familiar topics with the perspective of Taylor, part 1 ends with introducing asymptotic analysis (big O), which took me a while to grasp.

Part 2 is review for the most part. However, it helps to further strengthen the idea of differentials, and their uses. Some bonus lectures introduce topology, and spacial curvature. Also, there is an introduction to the algebra of operators (which is elaborated in part 5) Some BC topics are also reviewed.

Part 3 mostly deals with practicing integration techniques, however emphasizes on Differential Equations (with specific focus on coupled oscillators). Formal definite integrals are introduced. Some more BC topics are reviewed.

Part 4, focuses on applying knowledge from the preceding parts. Although it starts off easy with areas, volumes, and arc length, the focus shifts to statistics and physical applications. There is a weird study of Work. Rotational Inertia and PDFs are taught in tandem. There is a brief study of high dimension spaces and hyper volumes. Centroids are taught through the use of double integrals.

Finally, part 5 introduces discrete calculus. Basically, continuous calculus, retaught with the perspective of series, in a discretized, non continuous setting. It begins with the study of finite differences, and a rather comprehensive practice of discrete integration. Differential equations (aka recursion relations) are taught, through the use of operators. Then, the focus shifts to numerical analysis, by introducing methods to approximate integrals (like Runge Kutta method). Following that, there is a very comprehensive study of convergence of series. And trust me, it is taught super well (way more in-depth than BC). Finally, the focus shifts to the rather obscure Taylor Remainder Theorem. This might be review for some.

This course was pretty challenging for me. I spent a lot of time doing my homework, and taking really good notes (for future reference). After a fee of $50, I earned my course certificate after the final exam (sigh).

This is a super cool course.

автор: Fred H

Jun 11, 2019

It's a challenging course to me.

автор: JORGE E M L V

May 31, 2019

Excelente curso de verdad que es muy bueno hacerlo ya que se aprende mucho del cálculo integral en una variable

автор: Michael C

May 03, 2019

Great course.

автор: Omar J

Nov 10, 2018

So far the most difficult chapter of the 5-part calculus course. This makes successfully finishing the course feel like a great achievement. Prof. Ghrist does a wonderful job explaining the concepts of this chapter. The structure of the course is also well-organized to gradually give the learner a better understanding of integration concepts and techniques.

автор: thanhthanh2502

Sep 13, 2018

the content is very useful

автор: Maxine T

Aug 19, 2018

difficult though, really useful

автор: CMC

Jul 02, 2018

I like it because it though me differential equations. This topics was previously missing from my education. It can be daunting to learn DE without proper guidance. This course provided just that.

автор: Jorge P

Apr 26, 2018

Just superb, not easy, challenging but so well prepared. Thanks for it Dr Ghrist.

автор: Lau C C C

Apr 21, 2018

thank you very much

автор: EDILSON S S O J

Mar 27, 2018

Amazing Calculus Course!

автор: Xiao L

Nov 22, 2017

The Bonus lectures are just great! I majored in Mathematics in university, and they're even enlightening to me. BTW, thanks for the introduction to Wolfram Alpha. It's really fun.

автор: Sachin M V

Oct 25, 2017

Excellent Course

автор: bernie3311

Sep 10, 2017

a rather difficult one but clearly and simply explained.

автор: Vincent L

Jul 24, 2017

Some sections were too hard with limited information from the videos. I had to study other material to be able to complete them.

автор: Patricia B

Jul 11, 2017

Best calculus course ever.

автор: Gregorio A A P

Jul 08, 2017

Excelente, felicitaciones , solo que es triste no poder disfrutar al 100% un curso de esta calidad al no estar traducido al español, le agradecería que por favor lo traduzca del ingles al idioma español ya que solo esta parcialmente traducido.

nuevamente felicitaciones por la gran didáctica con la que imparte el curso y sobre todo por la calidad con la que enseña.

автор: Alassane K

Apr 26, 2017

I have really enjoyed learning materials from this course. This is a great chapter!

автор: Ren P

Apr 11, 2017

Good

автор: Мария Ш

Mar 12, 2017

Where is the certificate? Thank you.

автор: Shaurya D S

Mar 09, 2017

Excellent course. Very informative.

автор: Shaurya D S

Mar 09, 2017

Extremely well structured course!

автор: Rohit B

Feb 08, 2017

I will be sad when I finish Chapter 5. Cant wait for Multi variable calculus

автор: Bhavik P

Dec 09, 2016

excellent course ..please guys enroll and learn with best prof...Robert Ghrist....

автор: Kedibone K

Nov 29, 2016

try using practical examples after explaining the concepts