Chevron Left
Вернуться к Indigenous Canada

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Indigenous Canada от партнера Альбертский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 14,154
Рецензии: 5,355

О курсе

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Лучшие рецензии

VK
23 февр. 2021 г.

Excdellent course! I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to learn the material presented. Thanks you so much! All the work that was evident in putting this course together was worth the effort!

GC
13 окт. 2021 г.

This was one of the best online courses I have taken. It was well written, great material related to my own personal development and gave me a better understanding of the Indigenous Peoples in Canada.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 5,555 отзывов о курсе Indigenous Canada

автор: Julie K

24 янв. 2018 г.

This course was thought-provoking, eye-opening and a truly excellent way to learn more about Indigenous cultures and issues in Canada. I've recommended it to many of my friends and will encourage them to take it as soon as possible.

автор: Angela B

3 июля 2020 г.

I appreciate all that I learned from the materials offered in this course. It has helped me to further my knowledge and gain greater understanding. Thank you for the work that you did to bring this course to an accessible platform.

автор: Kea A

1 июня 2020 г.

Thought provoking and well presented. I am very glad that I participated in this class, and learned more about Indigenous Peoples in Canada. Thank you for providing this excellent and informative interactive educational experience.

автор: rachelle m

19 нояб. 2019 г.

This is really powerful information. Unfortunately, as a forty year old, I had to learn this on my own not through curriculum or media or powerful discussions. Knowledge is power and hopefully this get out to the greater population

автор: Jennifer B

19 авг. 2020 г.

As someone new to learning the history of indigenous peoples, I really appreciated this course. I especially enjoyed the look into multiple cultures' world views, and how the instructors didn't shy away from speaking harsh truths.

автор: Oliver K

21 апр. 2020 г.

This course was excellent. It was very well spread and had a mixture of both instructions, narration, social and material 9artwork) interaction. I have recommended it to all my staff - sorry - they are all supposed to take it.

автор: Navraj S

30 сент. 2019 г.

Hi, this is not a review.

I actually logged in with my facebook but I changed my email and de-linked my facebook. Can you please send me my completion certificate at my updated email. Which is snavraj4@gmail.com, thank you so much

автор: Deborah-Anne M

29 мая 2020 г.

This course was very informative and the video's were both clear and concise. It is refreshing to find correct information on the Indigenous Peoples and I am very excited to convey the real truth to people that I associate with.

автор: Aaron F

20 нояб. 2018 г.

Im in my third week and so far this course has taught me so much. Especially from the perspectives of Indigenous people; which is a purview the elementary and secondary education system do not teach a lot of. Great job for this.

автор: Jessica L

5 авг. 2020 г.

The instructors were amazing. I learned so much more about Canadian history and about indigenous peoples. I have a better understanding of protests, treaties and colonization. I know there is so much more to learn and explore.

автор: Fiona M S

4 июня 2020 г.

found this course to be very interesting. Information about the indigenous people that i hadn't heard before or mad me think about things from the indigenous peoples point of view rather than the general European point of view.

автор: Alyssa M

13 нояб. 2017 г.

Every Canadian should take this course. I am so thankful that I came across it. It has added to my perspective and knowledge even more than I could have imagined. I highly recommend it and already have been doing so. Thank you!

автор: Luminita

14 нояб. 2017 г.

Loved this class, every module contains fascinating information about indigenous peoples in Canada, it really provides a basic, well-rounded picture of indigenous Canada. Highly recommended for anybody interested in the issue.

автор: Mariana B

10 февр. 2021 г.

I am deeply appreciative of the care, effort and sharing that went into this course. It was excellent and I am grateful for the opportunity to take it and learn about Canada’s Indigenous people.

автор: Dave M

3 окт. 2020 г.

Informative and thought provoking. This should be a required course for every politician and policy maker.

автор: Virginia C

3 февр. 2019 г.

Very informative and easy to follow. Thanks for the opportunity to learn more about Indigenous culture.

автор: Alonso P H

4 янв. 2019 г.

Excellent course. Very insightful and a very good introduction to many different issues.

автор: Bambi L

11 февр. 2019 г.

Very thorough, very informative. I like the delivery and convenience of this course.

автор: Tomos S

28 янв. 2019 г.

Excellent course. Very well prepared and informative.

автор: Keith B

16 дек. 2018 г.

Very interesting and will pass on to others.

автор: 戚兆禹

11 февр. 2019 г.

very coool

автор: Alexa W

1 июня 2017 г.

The videos were very well done: not overboard with animations, but helpful with maps and pictures, etc. The course was logically organized, and created a good momentum to Indigenous contexts in Canada today. As many people have already mentioned on the discussion forums, some finessing of the quiz questions would help students truly demonstrate their understanding of the material as opposed to only being able to figure out tricks to the quiz. A self-pacing online course is one reason why many people will take this course: that flexibility is great. However, I will say that as the weeks went on (and I was following the 12-week schedule until only the second last week), I found the discussion boards a bit lonely. I would read and sometimes respond to a post, but it had been posted weeks before and that person was likely never going to return to that particular discussion. The TA Sara, though, was awesome had providing helpful and encouraging comments. As someone who has done a lot of work in this topic area already, I was hoping for perhaps an opportunity to write and get direct feedback. I realize that a MOOC isn't really designed for that. But perhaps just as there was a fee for those who wanted to take the quizzes and get credit, perhaps there could be another level for those who want to do assignments and get individual feedback. I'm glad I took this course: it filled in some gaps in my knowledge, especially in the older history. I hope that this course proves successful and that tons of people take it. Thanks!

автор: Shannon H

16 нояб. 2017 г.

This was well presented with several ways of getting the information. This made it possible for many different learning styles to be successful.

автор: Camilla B

10 июня 2020 г.

While it was hugely educational and I learned so much. I believe the course would be better if it was able to be more interactive at times. Watching the videos was good but sometimes difficult to concentrate on. I did read and watch the video at the same time to enhance my learning.

The material was informative and opened my eyes up to how much I didn't know and how I can be a better ally to the Indigenous people of Canada and in my own community. Thank you for making this course free / low cost. I believe having it so accessible will encourage people to take it and learn more about Indigenous people.

автор: Carrie W

10 дек. 2020 г.

Redundant format for each module. Questions in quizzes felt designed to be tricky.