Chevron Left
Вернуться к Indigenous Canada

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Indigenous Canada от партнера Альбертский университет

4.8
Оценки: 965
Рецензии: 319

О курсе

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Лучшие рецензии

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

YH

Sep 25, 2017

This course was eye-opening and an essential learning experience for my work with First Nations children and their families. I have and will continue to recommend this course to my colleagues.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 331 отзывов о курсе Indigenous Canada

автор: Marjorie G

May 21, 2019

I wish there is a part two to this course. I want to learn more,

автор: Cristoberly A B

Apr 13, 2019

A course that every Canadian needs to take to promote the healing of our nation.

автор: Art H

Nov 21, 2017

There are several reasons why I rated this course as being poor. First, the presentation style does not make use of the capabilities of the medium, namely a significant (perhaps 70 to 80%) portion of the course is just lecturing. There are flashes of material on the screen behind the presenter but, most of the time, there is no specific discussion of the picture, diagram or map. The course would be enhanced significantly by using videos, real interviews (rather than just having the interviewee speak about the topic just like a lecturer), and by really incorporating graphics into the presentation. My second reason is that the material is presented in a very superficial manner. I realize that this is an introductory course but the course organizers/presenters need to go in depth into a few of the examples rather than just quickly going over them. Thirdly, there is very limited resource material given and the access to that material is not very user friendly. For example, if one wanted to get more information on a particular treaty, it would be helpful to have the reference to that directly incorporated into the course notes so that one could click on the reference and bring up an article with more details.

автор: greg f

Jun 27, 2019

well done,very informative and ground for a lot of thought over the course of material presented.

автор: Jennifer M

Jun 26, 2019

This introduction course has left me wanting to dive deeper into this history and culture. How my ancestors and family have experienced the detrimental effects outlined in this Course.

автор: Tamara S

Jun 26, 2019

I would love to be able to share on Facebook but could not find a way. Very informative course that many Canadians should take.

автор: david b

Jun 25, 2019

A fantastic and insightful look at indigeneity in Canada. Thank you!

автор: Erin H

Jun 25, 2019

Wonderful course packed with great information and relevant to today

автор: kyra f

Jun 25, 2019

this is the best online course i have taken..lots of flexibility in your hours and courses. i really enjoyed learning about Indigenous peoples of Canada as i an Inuit but haven't really ever learned about other native peoples of Canada.

автор: Annette L

Jun 18, 2019

Amazing! Very insightful and educational

автор: Anna M G

Jun 10, 2019

I admit to being rather naïve when it comes to Indigenous Canada. This course is a real eye opener. My heart is heavy as I learn how western civilization imposed its values, morals and worldviews on Indigenous peoples.

As a correctional nurse working in a maximum security detention centre, I learned how much our punitive justice system is juxtaposed with the once practiced restorative justice system of First Nations Peoples.

I have also learned how a society that values not just humans but all life as equals, as much to teach us in are present day " throw away society"

I would recommend this course to any Canadian who wishes to have a better understanding of Indigenous Canada.

автор: Liyan D

Jun 07, 2019

Growing up in central and northern Alberta, I thought I had a pretty good idea of Indigenous history. I was wrong. This course has changed everything. For example, I now REALLY understand that I was born on Treaty 6 lands, and spent quite a few school years on Treaty 8 land. That reality matters and should be foremost in our minds. I also learned that there is another word for "Cree" and I had no idea that was the case. I now know that nehiyawak (lower case only) is a correct and respectful term. Everyone should take this course!

автор: Kamshi K

Jun 07, 2019

This is an excellent course. It's clear, concise, varied and easy to follow. It was good to be able to download the course notes and to make notes along the way using the "save note" function. It covered a wide range of aspects that any non-indigenous or unlearned indigenous person can gain much insight and information from. Highly recommended!!

автор: Alexis R

Jun 06, 2019

I was very naive to how Canada came to be. This course opened my eyes to the hardship, determination, and resiliency the Indigenous have conquered. Would recommend to anyone!

автор: Jeff A

Jun 01, 2019

Very informative and clear, I would highly recommend the Indigenous Canada course, to anyone that would like to learn and understand the history of Indigenous peoples.

автор: Paula M C

May 30, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, and the instructors! It has provided me with a much broader understanding of Canada before and since colonization, and of the painful and poignant struggles that the Indigenous peoples of this land have endured at the "divide and conquer" whims of colonial and European powers. I am most impressed with the resilience and the power of community action of First Nations, Métis and Inuit people in Canada to effect positive change for all. I will highly recommend this course to my colleagues here at Western U. It was my first MOOC and I'm happy it was with you, Professor Bear! Miigwetch!!

автор: Larissa T

May 28, 2019

Excellent course, it was a much needed supplement to my grade school and post-secondary education.

автор: genevieve l

May 24, 2019

Should be part of public school curriculum.

автор: Sarah H

May 23, 2019

Fabulous course that gave me the foundation to further my own education in this area that's so important today. I knew I needed to learn more but didn't know where to start but I found this to be a good starting point. The videos were concise and informative and the teachers are great. I appreciate that this course was made the way it was.

автор: Katherine B

May 23, 2019

I really enjoyed to learn of all the little things that made Canada the way it was and the changes that our Indigenous people are making .

автор: Simon T

May 22, 2019

Loved it. Videos and materials provided were very interesting. Knowing more about how indigenous people were treated unfairly by us settlers revealed mixed emotions.

автор: Adriana L

May 21, 2019

It was very good. Very informative. I liked it very much.

автор: Wendy M

May 21, 2019

As a complete beginner to a subject I shamefully should know more about, I thought it was a very comprehensive and informative introduction. If its purpose was to inspire me to want to know more, it worked! Thank you!

автор: KATHY M

May 20, 2019

I knew very little about Indigenous before I started this course. I have learnt many things and looking forward to learning more. This is a great course for a distinct overview of the nation.

автор: Tyson M

May 19, 2019

This course is a very in-depth overview of history told from the perspective of the indigenous tribes of Canada and includes a unique view of cultural practices and the impacts of colonialism both past and present. I thoroughly enjoyed this course. It was easy to follow and the videos were well made. Thank you for the hard work.