Chevron Left
Вернуться к Indigenous Canada

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Indigenous Canada от партнера Альбертский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 14,129
Рецензии: 5,353

О курсе

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Лучшие рецензии

AS
6 сент. 2020 г.

I found this course to be very informative. Thank you for the opportunity to see our shared history from another perspective. I hope this is as groundbreaking for my fellow Canadians as it was for me.

VK
23 февр. 2021 г.

Excdellent course! I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to learn the material presented. Thanks you so much! All the work that was evident in putting this course together was worth the effort!

Фильтр по:

251–275 из 5,545 отзывов о курсе Indigenous Canada

автор: Wojciech T

19 нояб. 2020 г.

Thank you very much for this course. It gave me an opportunity to understand better not only the situation of First Nations, Métis, and Inuit people in Canada, but also reconsider the history and the contemporary situation of a country that I decided to make my own. Also, this course had a special value to me because the institution where I am working is committed to the process of reconciliation and indigenization. I had a rather superficial idea of the consequences of the direction such declaration would take us but now I have the tools and the minimum knowledge to meaningfully contribute to these efforts. Last, as an educator who moved teaching to an online platform due to the pandemic, I learned a lot from the structure , teaching strategies, and methods of evaluation used in this course.

автор: Heather E

5 нояб. 2020 г.

I highly recommend this course to everyone! I had no idea that so much racism existed and still exists within Canada, toward the Indigenous peoples. This course was highly educational because I never learned any of this in my history classes or regular education classes. There were times that I felt ashamed for how Canada treated and continues to treat Indigenous people and I hope that as more people acknowledge that this is occurring, that the racism will be transformed and healed. I found the YouTube talks with Tracy, Paul, Dan and a special guest that week, were really helpful in solidifying the weekly study. Thank you so much for putting this course together, I'm sure it took a lot of hard work and time, it's changed how I am as a person because it affected me deeply in a good way!

автор: Rick R

24 нояб. 2020 г.

A good overview of a complex, emotional and sometimes threatening topic for non indigenous people. As an overview and introduction, to people either unfamiliar with the topic (which should be a small minority) or those wishing to gain a bit more knowledge, I found that the course often slipped into academic lingo and almost seemed reluctant to simplify the language used to break down,describe, encapsulate and summarize content. I enjoyed the course, and after almost a decade away from my career as an adult educator; where one of my last projects was developing a course for a government ministry to introduce this topic to mostly non indigenous staff, I found this to be a good refresher ... I would recommend this course as a mandatory introduction to a more comprehensive course ..... thanks

автор: Susan M

9 нояб. 2020 г.

Indigenous Canada is an excellent course in all regards. The material is presented very effectively in that the material is layered so that learning is also layered as the weeks proceed. The course creators very effectively organized the materials. The production of videos, notes and interviews is also excellent and provides wonderful resource material for the future. The speakers are very engaging and communicated the material with knowledge and passion. While not part of the course material per se, the weekly Q&A with Dan Levy, Dr. Bear and Dr. Gareau and multiple guest speakers added a treasured aspect to the course that I am extremely grateful for. The Q&A brought it all even more to life and I enjoyed the visiting more than I can express. So overall, thank you for everything!

автор: Carolyn M

15 июля 2021 г.

Thank you for designing an informative and reflective journey into the history of colonization and the resiliency of the First Peoples of Turtle Island. I found it fascinating, horrifying, and illuminating. These truths are a necessary foundation for all Canadians to lead to a more realistic and painful acknowledgment of what and who's land this nation was built on. Dr, Bear and the other presenters did a thorough job of navigating me through this material, these stories, the economic, social, political and spiritual implications of the treaties, the abuses, the strength and the enduring legacy of the First Peoples on this land. Miigwetch from this little lady who's humble home stands on the land of the Williams Treaty of 1923, in what is now called East York, a borough of Toronto.

автор: KAMALA R

4 февр. 2018 г.

I think this course should be part of our mandatory mainstream education. Although I had some superficial familiarity with the course content through Social Studies education in 1980s Alberta, a lot of this content was delivered expertly to someone with fresh eyes, perspective, and enthusiasm for learning the truth about indigenous peoples, history, and culture. As a resident living in unceded territory of Tsleil-Waututh First Nation, I believe it is my duty to learn as much as I can in honour of the indigenous people's contributions to this land, and for the debt of gratitude we owe to them. I hope for more classes on native studies through coursera or on my own. I am also a U of A alumni and wish I could go back a couple decades in a time machine so I could have taken courses then.

автор: Vita P

25 нояб. 2020 г.

Excellent overview of many complex issues.

Thanks you so much.

Three comments: 1. It would be nice to have a place to post questions. Although I acknowledge with over 9,000 students this may be overwhelming. My question: What was scrip? That term was never explained, although I have looked it up - I'm not sure if I understand correctly in context.

2. When discussing visual art it is important to actually show the art. It may mean getting permission and /or copyright, but would make that section so much richer and more comprehensive. The artists where the art work was shown was so much more comprehensive.

3. Thank you for including Leah Dorion's work - explaining the visual iconography and giving me an excellent example of the power of story telling and iconography as educational tools.

автор: Suzanne W

23 нояб. 2020 г.

I very much enjoyed the course given by Dr. Tracy Paul and her assistants. I also loved the art created and explained by Leah Dorion to supplement the course,

It was an excellent presentation of material on Indigenous Canada and my level of information has grown by leaps and bounds.

I looked forward to every class, scheduled them in my daily planner, and they were a priority in my weekly plans.

I have spoken to family and friends about this course and what I have learned these past 12 weeks. I have encouraged them to do the same....some have said they will!

I have never taken an online course before, If I do again, I sure hope that it meets the high standards that this University of Alberta Indigenous Canada course did. It was excellent.

Thank you all so very much.

Suzanne Watson

автор: James J

17 окт. 2020 г.

As a big-city descendant of "settlers" I have had a woefully weak knowledge of the injustices suffered by Indigenous Canadians. This marvellous course has opened my mind and heart. None of my ancestors, to my knowledge, had direct responsibility for Indigenous=settler relations or government decisions. I wish I could talk with them now, to see if they would be as ashamed as I feel.

I found out about this course thru a link from HIP (Honouring Indigenous People) which I support as they appear to offer constructive projects in partnership with Indigenous communities. This U of A course has taught me a lot. But in the spirit of "Idle No More" I feel called to participate more actively in these projects - financial support may help with the shame I feel, but that's not enough.

автор: Hope C

8 нояб. 2020 г.

What a beautifully presented course. As an American neighbor to Canada our history is woven together. Our history has been white washed and presented to us from only one point of view. A view that makes us believe the lands were our right to take and inhabit as we founded them. We've been led to believe untruths about Indigenous people. This course opened up those false truths, shed light on things that have been glossed over in a positive light to make the history more appeasing and less brutal than it actually was. This course is very important and should be introduced to all learners in our school systems. Thank you very much, I've learned a lot and I will take those lessons with me and integrate them into my life going forward. I'm committed to being a life long learner.

автор: Chris L

6 нояб. 2020 г.

Compelling course detailing the vibrant and diverse ways of being and knowing of our country's indigenous people. A great introductory course that traces the history and perspectives of indigenous cultures from pre-contact to today, it is not afraid to address some of the more catastrophic and tragic interactions between settlers and aboriginal people.

The videos contain some very insightful interviews with indigenous scholars, authors, and artists, both in English and native languages.

I would recommend this course to any Canadian who wants to gain a greater understanding of indigenous issues, wants to learn about the tremendous diversity of cultural beliefs and practices of indigenous people, and how these beliefs and practices interact with modern western settler culture.

автор: curtis v

21 дек. 2020 г.

I found the course to be an extremely eye opening experience. I was reminded of some indigenous teachings early on in my elementary school years, and then introduced to the darker sides of indigenous relations history. Personally I was uncomfortable with the references of continued colonial oppression, as I would have thought more collaborative discussions toward reconciliation & reparations would be more beneficial. That being said the atrocities of the past do continue to resonate, and I cannot speak to the immeasurable harms they have cost so many, and the culture as a whole. Therefore I am in no position to dictate how the message is presented, and feel I have gained new prospective into the definite lack of forward progress (especially from Canadian governments).

автор: Katherine M

5 авг. 2020 г.

Fantastic information, I learned a lot from it and look forward to sharing my knowledge with my students. I'm a Canadian Forces Military Police member and worked in Cold Lake for 7 years. I now teach at the Canadian Forces Military Police Academy, and I think that it is very important for Military Police (and police in general) to know about the complexities of policing the Indigenous communities and to have a better understanding of their mistrust for the police. A lot of things mentioned in the course are things I heard of, but did not know in depth. The readings and videos, as well as interactive interviews really ensured that all students could capture the information and fully understand the importance of what was being taught. I would definitely recommend to anyone.

автор: Dragan S

17 сент. 2021 г.

Very informative. I came to Canada in 1969 and did not know the language. I was in grade 2 at the time and experienced a lot of discrimination and hardship. When I was in grade 7 my junior high school had an indigenous exhibit and that when I became very interested in indigenous culture. I have read many texts, like the infested blanket and the Beothuks, that disappeared from Newfoundland, wiped out. Currently I am reading a text called the sleeping giant awakens. Its hard for me to observe the genocide that has taken place against our indigenous people, and in a way continues today with denial. I follow Cindy Blackstock and her activities of trying to write wrongs, very courageous. I enjoyed learning. Stay strong and continue the education of the community. Miigwech.

автор: Marie T

24 янв. 2021 г.

Thank you for the opportunity to participate in this course. As a non-Indigenous Canadian who lives in southern Ontario I appreciate 'this primer' to help me ground my learning moving forward. The learning format was enjoyable with the mix of presentations, interviews, quizzes, additional resources and the integration of art to spark my curiosity and reinforce key points. I chose to learn through the modules in a two-week period, doing more module per day when I made time. It was a good pace for me! I have recommended this Indigenous Canada course to some of my colleagues, friends and family members. I feel that I am looking at events and issues locally, nationally and internationally in different ways as I travelled this course's path during two wintry weeks in 2021.

автор: Krysta o

1 дек. 2020 г.

This course is a must for older and younger Canadians. I am a Canadian of Irish decent. I was always taught to be proud of my culture, but many of my First nation friends were not. I didn't understanding their struggle or the laws in place to suppress them as people. It wasn't till I was older that I realized how white washed my education actually was. My friends would perform cultural dances and make traditional art all through elementary and high school. I got to see only a little bit of a culture that my ancestors tried to oppress, but from what I was able to see it is beautiful. Its a culture of community. Which is what the name Canada means. Community being there for one another. If you want to understand our history told properly I suggest you take this course.

автор: Barbara N

28 авг. 2021 г.

I registered for this course to learn about the history of residential schools, among other topics, and to understand the issues we are facing as a result of that history, and how to show respect and move forward. I learned so much more and am left with much to think about and what I can do. The materials are excellent and I will reread them as there is much to absorb and digest. Appreciated having three lecturers, they were excellent. I really enjoyed the artwork and its storytelling at the end of each course. This latter component has inspired me to want to purchase Indigenous art. I am not an expert in this area but I enjoyed it for its storytelling - meaningful, simple but complex. with a beauty in its wisdom. Thank you very much for a great course.

автор: Malcolm J

24 сент. 2021 г.

I am very honored and proud to have completed the Indigenous Canada course offered by the University of Alberta. It reaffirmed knowledge I gained growing up within Treaty 6 territory and near the Cold Lake, Kehiwin, and Blue Quills First Nation. What surprised me what how much I didn't know but this course brought to light the historical & present context that I did not receive or understand. I challenge all of you to complete this course. My personal experience is that it has absolutely reframed my view of the history of Canada, Indigenous people, and the struggles they are continuously facing. It is online and free but would encourage everyone to take the diploma version to ensure the University has the resources to continue to invest in programs like this.

автор: Lynn G

26 окт. 2020 г.

Very enjoyable course! I learned some new concepts that I was unaware of and reminded of some that I had misplaced over the years. The only criticism that I have is I would have liked to see the presenters speaking more free-form and sharing their knowledge, rather than just reading from a script (that ended up being our course notes!). But overall, the lessons were well-presented and the material was engaging. I would recommend that the course provide the student with links to outside materials such as websites and Youtube videos on some of the topics, For e.g. I found it most helpful to go and watch some CBC archival footage on the Oka Crisis and to watch the interviews on the Truth and Reconciliation website. This additional material rounded out the course.

автор: Danica J

27 июня 2021 г.

I learned so much from this course! It was created with a lot of heart, but also great intelligence. I appreciated how I could both listen and read the transcript of each lesson, I loved the art work, I think the tests were tough but they made me review the material, which covered a lot of history and analysis. I am very grateful to have taken this course. It helped me to understand Oka and Idle No More, but also gave me the tools to understand things not covered like the Tsuut'ina and the ring road in Calgary, Joyce Echaquan in Joliette and Eishia Hudson in Winnipeg. I wish I could understand and change the source of the negative attitudes expressed by many Canadians, and I cherish and celebrate all the things the course allowed me to experience. Thank you!

автор: Sherry S

30 нояб. 2020 г.

This course - which is also available free of charge - has provided me with so much information and history and background about an extensive array of subjects that deal with the colonialization of Indigenous peoples of Canada (and elsewhere) and their historic determination to not let go of their culture. Coming from Northern Ontario, and seeing first hand the unfair and inappropriate treatment of and attitudes towards many first nations people, I was very happy to take this course and follow the history from first settlers on. To be honest - although it was very difficult material emotionally at times, I am left with a very positive notion that our indigenous neighbours, friends, artists and activist community will grow stronger with each generation.

автор: Scott B

21 дек. 2020 г.

An eyeopening and mind expanding course of Indigenous People, their culture, their history, and their significance in all lives who live, work, and/or study in Canada. Though a primer course to more advanced and detailed courses on the subject of Indigenous Canada, I feel that this program should be mandatory for all schools in Canada. Despite having some basic concept knowledge of Indigenous Canada through the settler society public school system, I learned more during the weeks devoted to learning from this course than I have during my 44 years here on Earth prior. Thank you Dr. Bear and associates for providing stronger educational foundations than I had previous held to help me further appreciate the Indigenous People and their land that I live in.

автор: Judy J

23 апр. 2017 г.

I loved that this course offered WRITTEN and VIDEO lessons. I find it difficult to learn by just watching a video. By doing some of the learning by reading and re-reading, I absorbed more.

Quizes are also another modality that works well. Quick to do, easy to score, inexpensive to administer, both teacher and learner can assess student learning very quickly.

I wish all Coursera programs included more than one methodology for learning. Video is fine, but it isn't the best for everyone, and it isn't the only way to teach things. Many Coursera program rely too heavily on video as their only teaching tool. There are something like 12 or 14 modalities for teaching students. Thank you for using more than one way. I especially liked your reading materials.

автор: Ashton G

22 сент. 2020 г.

The course was fantastic to be a part of. I enjoyed every lecture, I really enjoyed the layout and the options given (you can read the lecture as it is being presented on screen, and there are course reading notes that really helped me). I think the quizzes may need some re-wording on some questions as they can be confusing and appear irrelevant to helping the student understand the content. But other than that, everything was perfect and I am very grateful and honoured to be able to take this course and learn about Indigenous past and present in Canada. This course is now a gateway for me to be able to learn even more because I know a little more about where to look and I have under my toolbelt some proper perspective to the issues at hand today.

автор: Sasha R

13 дек. 2020 г.

The Indigenous Canada course is beautifully curated, each week revealing a new layer of detailed and fascinating tools to educate and open my mind to a subject that I had previously not had the privilege to learn and understand.

The course is interwoven with a series of wonderful video's, learning resources and art which communicate a diverse and complex history of Indigenous Canada. Over the past 12 weeks I have cultivated an understanding of this fascinating and painful subject, whilst watching the course videos.... Each segment always delivered using respectful, diverse and detailed storytelling.

I am honoured to participate in a course which embodies the beauty and diversity of Indigenous Canada and inspired and hungry to learn more.

Thank you