Chevron Left
Вернуться к История рока, часть вторая

Отзывы учащихся о курсе История рока, часть вторая от партнера Рочестерский университет

4.8
Оценки: 254
Рецензии: 55

О курсе

This course, part 2 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the early 1970s to the early 1990s. This course covers the music of Led Zeppelin, the Allman Brothers, Carole King, Bob Marley, the Sex Pistols, Donna Summer, Michael Jackson, Madonna, Prince, Metallica, Run-DMC, and Nirvana, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Emerging out of the experimental and ambitious years of late-60s psychedelia, rock splintered into a variety of styles in the 1970s as the music business continued to expand. By the end of the decade, punk and disco had challenged the excesses of the hippie aesthetic, as rock became more commercially streamlined and radio friendly. The emergence and rise of MTV transformed pop music and propelled the careers of Michael jackson and Madonna, while heavy metal and hip hop dominated the late 1980s. Nirvana leads alt-rock's return to simplicity in the early 1990s....

Лучшие рецензии

MM

Sep 24, 2017

Excelent. Actually now is more fun to read about musicans (recently Iggy Pop & Black Sabbath) because context is better understood. (A bit weird that Tom Waits is not even mentioned)

NB

Nov 01, 2015

John Covach's lectures are clear and well-thought out, and he does a good job of fielding the "fan mentality" that so often plagues other rock history and music history courses.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 54 отзывов о курсе История рока, часть вторая

автор: Emilio V

Feb 03, 2019

A must, If you want to understand and enjoy the history of rock.

автор: John C

Feb 01, 2019

Excellent course. I really enjoyed it.

автор: Kinga S

Nov 20, 2018

I took both parts of the course and I miss it already! Professor Covach has not only very entertaining way of talking about the music but the genuine love and engagement is so visible, that you can't not to smile when watching his lectures. Not to mention the knowledge, oh boy, that's a huge piece of history with the mind-blowing diversity we're talking about. Which also makes it impressive how much of the information is included in the course. And it made me hungry for more!

Anyway, I loved both parts of the course, it was pure joy and I managed to learn a lot about music history from the early XXth century, which I'm sure I wouldn't pursue on my own.

Thank you for tremendous time, Prof. Covach!

автор: Baczo Z

Oct 09, 2018

Focused too much on non-rock styles, such as disco, rap, etc., but en large, pretty nice course.

автор: Ray W

Aug 16, 2018

Love these two courses.I new alot of the topics but was suprised with a few of the topics.very well organized and understandible.Thanks for a fun course.

автор: Juanjo R C

Jun 30, 2018

El curso está muy bien, lástima sea todo en inglés. Lo que hago es abrir una nueva ventana con los subtitulos y traducidos automáticamente al español, de esta manera el ordenador me queda en 2 ventanas, el video y los subtitulos .

автор: Christos K

Apr 29, 2018

Excellent course, really enjoyed it!

автор: Ferdinand P

Mar 18, 2018

Amazing class, just as good as the part one. I learned a lot and made myself several awesome playlists, which I will keep enjoying after this course!

автор: Loren E K

Feb 14, 2018

John Covach is a fantastic teacher that has a obvious love of music in general. I would definitely take other courses from Mr. Covach if they were offered. Great class!!

автор: 현석 김

Jan 11, 2018

good

автор: 동현 김

Dec 23, 2017

I love this class as a Korean who loves Rock music, which never dies!

автор: Christos N

Oct 09, 2017

HELLO TO EVERYONE.

AS A ROCKER AND A RADIO PRODUCER, THIS COURSE WAS EXCATLY WHAT I NEEDED.

THANKS A LOT TO THE PROFESOR .

автор: Maris

Sep 24, 2017

Excelent. Actually now is more fun to read about musicans (recently Iggy Pop & Black Sabbath) because context is better understood. (A bit weird that Tom Waits is not even mentioned)

автор: Koos J

Sep 20, 2017

Another very interesting course. Enjoyed it so much and I'm so sad it's finished now!

автор: Jeanine D

Sep 08, 2017

Fun topic although having only a person talking can make the course tedious at times. Would be good if there was a Spotify playlist for the course.

автор: Eric F

Jul 30, 2017

Hello, I am very enjoy about this course. It is a very good overview of rock history and trigger to study some topics deeper. Just a remark, some sessions have not english subttiltes, it is very helpful ;-)

Thanks again.

Regards.

автор: Travis W

Jul 24, 2017

As with all of Professor Covach's courses, this one is five stars plus.

автор: Virginia C

Jul 23, 2017

Interesting survey of rock music. Lectures are well organized and flow smoothly.

автор: Daniel B P

Jul 06, 2017

Super!

автор: Carrie F

Jul 03, 2017

So much fun! I grew up in the 80s, so this second half of the class has been like memory lane for me. I'm a teacher on summer vacation, and I can't think of a better way to spend it than learning about rock and roll!

автор: JUAN E G A

Jun 22, 2017

Wonderful!!

автор: George B

Jun 15, 2017

Amazing!

автор: Jesus A B S

May 30, 2017

Loved it!

автор: Ashish G

May 21, 2017

excellent summary of the the period from the late 60s to the 90s. A course like this can never be comprehensive but there has been a lot of thoughtfulness in the sampling process as well as in drawing some threads for the student to mull over and make up his/her own mind.

автор: Kseniia I

May 05, 2017

So much facts, interesting lessons, smart and intelligent professor!