Chevron Left
Вернуться к История рока, часть вторая

Отзывы учащихся о курсе История рока, часть вторая от партнера Рочестерский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 348
Рецензии: 86

О курсе

This course, part 2 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the early 1970s to the early 1990s. This course covers the music of Led Zeppelin, the Allman Brothers, Carole King, Bob Marley, the Sex Pistols, Donna Summer, Michael Jackson, Madonna, Prince, Metallica, Run-DMC, and Nirvana, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Emerging out of the experimental and ambitious years of late-60s psychedelia, rock splintered into a variety of styles in the 1970s as the music business continued to expand. By the end of the decade, punk and disco had challenged the excesses of the hippie aesthetic, as rock became more commercially streamlined and radio friendly. The emergence and rise of MTV transformed pop music and propelled the careers of Michael jackson and Madonna, while heavy metal and hip hop dominated the late 1980s. Nirvana leads alt-rock's return to simplicity in the early 1990s....

Лучшие рецензии

SH
29 сент. 2020 г.

Fascinating - really filled out my knowledge and understanding and introduced me to new music - despite having lived through much of the history. Enjoyed the laid back but informed videos.

MM
23 сент. 2017 г.

Excelent. Actually now is more fun to read about musicans (recently Iggy Pop & Black Sabbath) because context is better understood. (A bit weird that Tom Waits is not even mentioned)

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 86 отзывов о курсе История рока, часть вторая

автор: Ferdinand P

18 мар. 2018 г.

Amazing class, just as good as the part one. I learned a lot and made myself several awesome playlists, which I will keep enjoying after this course!

автор: Randall L

7 окт. 2015 г.

Very interesting information. I lived through a lot of this material so it was doubly interesting. Very thorough, unbiased and informative.

автор: jim t

21 апр. 2020 г.

this is a great course. i learned a great deal about the history and gained a better understanding of the music i enjoy.

thank you

автор: Walter C

1 апр. 2017 г.

More than a course on history of rock, is a course on history of culture and american society in the 20th century. Recommended.

автор: Gregg H

24 июня 2016 г.

A great course especially if you follow along with the book and use the extra videos and music links from the book's website.

автор: Christos N

7 июля 2020 г.

HELLO TO EVERYONE.

AS A ROCKER AND A RADIO PRODUCER, THIS COURSE WAS EXCATLY WHAT I NEEDED.

THANKS A LOT TO THE PROFESOR .

автор: Saeideh A

10 мар. 2017 г.

Loved and truly enjoyed this course! I kind of feel sad it ended. Huge thanks to John Covach for his great enthusiasm.

автор: Shirley K

13 июля 2020 г.

what a fun course! brought me back to the birth of metal and hair bands . thank you so much for doing this course!!

автор: Koos J

20 сент. 2017 г.

Another very interesting course. Enjoyed it so much and I'm so sad it's finished now!

автор: Andrew G

29 авг. 2015 г.

Excellent Course. Really enjoyed the content and the teachers style in delivery.

автор: Travis W

24 июля 2017 г.

As with all of Professor Covach's courses, this one is five stars plus.

автор: 동현 김

23 дек. 2017 г.

I love this class as a Korean who loves Rock music, which never dies!

автор: Kseniia I

5 мая 2017 г.

So much facts, interesting lessons, smart and intelligent professor!

автор: Joy S

9 мар. 2016 г.

Love this instructor. Want more. Wish he could play music clips.

автор: Emilio V

3 февр. 2019 г.

A must, If you want to understand and enjoy the history of rock.

автор: Holly H

13 мар. 2017 г.

Great Professor, interesting enhancement to my knowledge!

автор: Gina K

17 мая 2020 г.

Fascinating, and brilliantly taught by Professor Covach.

автор: Bill W

8 мар. 2016 г.

well researched and presented in a very informative way.

автор: Tim H

30 нояб. 2015 г.

Great study series of Rock artists, bands, and events!

автор: M W

26 окт. 2020 г.

The Professor was excellent! The course was thorough.

автор: Dot

15 апр. 2017 г.

Fantastic course! Too bad there's no part 3...

автор: John C

31 янв. 2019 г.

Excellent course. I really enjoyed it.

автор: Christos K

29 апр. 2018 г.

Excellent course, really enjoyed it!

автор: Helena C

24 мая 2016 г.

it's super helpful and interesting!

автор: Lindsay A H

1 нояб. 2020 г.

Excellent teacher and information!