Chevron Left
Вернуться к Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World от партнера Лондонский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 3,823
Рецензии: 1,128

О курсе

The Global Diplomacy course is a unique offering to the MOOC environment. Bringing together cutting edge research in the broad fields of Diplomatic and International Studies, award winning distance learning delivery and the instructors previous experience of delivering a successful MOOC. Please see the volume Global Diplomacy: Theories, Types and Models authored with Dr Alison Holmes, (Westview, 2016), and the Understanding Research Methods MOOC from Coursera. The Global Diplomacy MOOC has a direct heritage in the University of London International Academy/SOAS Global Diplomacy MA Programme launched in April 2013 which have attracted hundreds of students from around the world. The Global Diplomacy MA Programme is provided by the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy which has been teaching postgraduate courses in Diplomacy for over twenty five years. After completing the 'Global Diplomacy' MOOC, learners will have: 1. The ability to demonstrate a critical understanding of the nature and development of global diplomacy, drawing on a variety of relevant contributing disciplines in the broad field of International Studies. 2. An understanding of changes in diplomatic practices and procedures and the relationship of those changes to contemporary politics. 3. A sound grounding in both theoretical and empirical approaches to debates in diplomacy so that students have been exposed to the and skills needed to analyse global diplomacy. 4. knowledge of issues in global diplomacy in historical and contemporary contexts....

Лучшие рецензии

MS

31 окт. 2019 г.

Absolutely incredible course in diplomacy that gives you a perfect glimpse of understanding how diplomacy works in practice and what achievements you need to posses in order to become a good diplomat.

SS

28 мая 2020 г.

Great course. I had a general interest in diplomacy and wanted a little taste of what it was, this course has provided me just that. It has amazing resources to help enhance our knowledge of diplomacy

Фильтр по:

901–925 из 1,116 отзывов о курсе Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World

автор: Фот Н С

1 июня 2017 г.

вам

автор: Vardah I

30 июля 2020 г.

👍

автор: Nahed A B

14 февр. 2021 г.

T

автор: mohamed a m

4 нояб. 2020 г.

w

автор: Charlie B

6 мая 2020 г.

I

автор: Dipesh T

21 сент. 2017 г.

U

автор: Patricia M

4 апр. 2022 г.

During the course, there was the request that errors in the script should be made known if possible so that the script text could be corrected. I submitted various corrections but cannot see that they have been implemented and am wondering if and how such consructive submissions are actually heeded by the organisers of the course.

Some of the material that was to be downloaded was not possible and when I sent an enquiry on how to access the docments/information, I received no response. This is not conducive to motivating participants when they have the feeling that no one is attending their queries.

I would like to know how the system works on this type of course as the previous courses I have enrolled in were of a different nature than this one.

I found the challenges of composing essays on the individual themes each week quite a challenge and enjoyed researching the themes even though we were restricted in the number of words permitted. Sometimes I was disappointed that some participants did not fulfil the required number of words and again wondered how the organisers deal with such submissions?

How is it possible to receive a feedback from Simon Rolfe?

Looking at some of the +submissions over the weeks, I noticed that some were quite "old", i.e. a few years old and was wondering if the content of the videos was similar and just generalities were being put forward. The link to some further reading was also not of the recent past, does this mean that standard material is being used and not updated?

In general, I found that the videos in week 5 were a resume of the previous ones with considerable repetitions and another issue that puzzled me was the fact that after week 4 I was informed that I had "passed" the course when, in my opinion, the most challenging essay was the one to be submitted was at the end of week 5. How is this possible? Was the essay at the end of week 5 not of importance to the organisers of the course?

I would appreciate an acknowledgement of my comments and some answers as well. Thank you!

автор: Thomáz D

20 нояб. 2017 г.

The course does a good job at presenting contemporary views on diplomacy in an accessible way. There's nothing too academic going on, and the relation between the new conception of diplomacy presented here and the recent changes in international law (particularly when it comes to human rights) is only hinted at; but overall it serves as a nice introductory course to the subject and offers some interesting insights.

The course material is also quite interesting. My only issue with it is that the "classes", which are actually interviews with specialists, are cut so that only the section related to the theme being discussed in a given week will be displayed. At week 5, however, the whole interviews are made available, and you have to watch the same clips from previous weeks along with the new bits. I found that watching the interviews without cuts was much more interesting than watching the clips, and I wish I had known about them sooner.

автор: Josh C

5 мар. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed the course and thought it provided a good introduction to diplomacy in the modern world. Personally, I would have liked if the course was slightly more onerous but I appreciate there is only so much that you can do with this MOOC format.

I liked that for each topic there were contributions from a variety of speakers — obviously, each speaker's background influenced their views on the topics explored and I thought the course was richer for that. I felt that the video content was actually a little light and would have enjoyed longer-form videos in which the speakers were more directly addressing the question. Sometimes it seemed as though the videos had been retrofitted to the stated question (i.e. occasionally speakers did not appear to be addressing the topic at all).

It would also be good to provide suggestions for additional supplementary reading.

автор: Shaheena K

16 янв. 2018 г.

Global Diplomacy offers a comprehensive introduction to the subject. It is clear and course requirements are not arduous - yet stimulating and thought-provoking. I would have appreciated knowing the different lengths of submissions in advance, this would have assisted my balancing commitments better to submit the assignments. Also, leaving almost 2 hours of valuable videos to the last session could be adjusted. The last series of videos could easily fit into one of the first two weeks. The content of these videos would have assisted my understanding of the topic and not detracted from the specific subject matter from week 2-5. Also, with a longer paper due in the last week, one would have been able to absorb the video material earlier and have more time to critically engage with the final assignment.

автор: Raimundo Q J

14 дек. 2017 г.

This course was very good for me and i enjoyed so much it will help me improve and discuss with different people about Diplomacy, which is the main reason for what state and non-states actors act together to do business around the world. Was extremely useful for me now i understand little beat about the agreement that states makes it is not only for goodwill of other country but the diplomats has to work very hardy to convince other parties to come and do business with us. Not only i cold learn other process and saw when we have a weak diplomacy what is the results. This course was very good but i think it would involve more areas and extend the period of his duration.

автор: Valeriia M

23 янв. 2020 г.

The course may be interesting in case you want to learn about different points of view on diplomacy, and it makes you analyze the opinions of others as well as to form your own. It makes you think more and gives you new ideas and helps to choose the concept of diplomacy which fits best with your worldview. However, I personally would like to ger more theoretical information and facts. Maybe I just need to find another course for it. Anyway, I would like to thank all the experts and the team that made the course. They all did a great job!

автор: Lokko F

6 дек. 2016 г.

This is an educative programme. I have gained some knowledge in the subject area. It as increased my interest Global Diplomacy. Also opportunity to read more about the theory and practice of Global Diplomacy. It will go a long way to enhance my skills as a diplomate to influence leadership positively at all levels of life to build positive net work, develop appropriate diplomatic skills to enhance international relations, negotiations, and ensure peace and security in contemporary global world.

автор: Monica G

16 мар. 2020 г.

I found the interviews and videos very interesting and very well prepared. They present different approaches and perspectives on Diplomacy, with historical, social, cultural references and its role in modern society.

I believe that the course only needs to strengthen its evaluation system through some kind of Multiple choise or similar system to give more legitimacy and support to the training received and the evaluation it deserves.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

автор: Salsabila S S

18 сент. 2020 г.

I appreciate the courses which are compact and resourceful, as it engages many insights and perspectives from foreign policy experts instead of one. It also makes sure that the students do pay attention to the materials given by engaging one another in the assignments. However, it would be great if the course could give a more comprehensive introduction to what to expect from the course and give a bigger picture of what the context of the lessons would be in the coming weeks.

автор: E M

15 февр. 2021 г.

This was a really interesting and enlightening course, which prompted me to consider new aspects of the modern world of diplomacy and be more conscious of its place in history.

One thing I would say is that some of the readings appear a little outdated and could be replaced, or complemented by, some more contemporary sources. Also the transcripts of the videos could do with a proofread - some parts are miss-transcribed and could be confusing for non-native English speakers.

автор: Uwemedimo E

14 окт. 2020 г.

The course was very enlightening as it exposes the student to the various aspects of negotiations in the international systems. It also teaches the principle by which nations relate with each other in the International system. We were taught about the roles of diplomats in the International system. I recommend this course to anyone who works for a foreign mission or International organization. It puts on your hand the tools of a diplomat and the skills of negotiations.

автор: Venkatesh M

11 февр. 2018 г.

Helpful and effective videos and lessons (reading) , simple assignments which yet test your comprehension and allow you to express yourself based on learning and what that means to you, clearly defines important useful concepts of the subject.

The reading material could also be summarized for the benefit of learners who have pressure of time to read fully. Some of the articles are rather long and also written in not the simplest of the ways requiring more time to read.

автор: SANTIAGO G T

14 авг. 2020 г.

Un curso sumamente importante y con muchos elementos que ayudan a conocer la diplomacia, buenas entrevistas y definiciones de los conceptos. Creo que es importante añadir más elementos, como ejemplos de diplomáticos históricos y modernos, como funciona la diplomacia en organismos como la ONU y algunas explicaciones referente a la diplomacia de algunos países. De igual forma, considero que este curso sirve para sentar bases importantes de lo que es la diplomacia.

автор: Cynthia P P C

23 апр. 2017 г.

It was very enlightening; it made me realize the complexities and evolution of diplomacy while understanding what it takes to become a good diplomat in general. Specifically, I got new insights on how I can impact positively within the realm of nature conservation from a global perspective and how to tackle the threats we are facing in the near future. I would have liked though a bit more interaction with the experts and opinions from them on my/our submissions.

автор: Sonny W J H

11 нояб. 2019 г.

The course was great, it offers a lot of differing perspectives from experts on the field. Another good point is the understandability of course material offered, as well as many non-technical knowledge it taught me, for example, is how to review other people's paragraphs. I also love the fact that this course offers many useful resources and insights that we can use outside the course. Overall, I'm very thankful for the opportunity to learn. Great work team!

автор: Lyla B

3 февр. 2018 г.

I enjoyed the course, however, it said I was done before I ever finished the last E-Activity, I think. Also, much of the last week's lectures were all repetition of previous videos previously presented. I think of the courses I have thus far enrolled in, the glitch factor is higher than I would have suspected it would be. That being said, I still will plan to enroll in Global Diplomacy - The United Nations course and am looking forward to a good experience.

автор: Liane S L

4 дек. 2017 г.

Really helpful and self-driven course. Good introduction to modern diplomacy, if you have had some background in IR to help you along. Otherwise it isn't that difficult to follow. Wish it had some quizzes that weren't just peer-reviewed very short essays, which, while some may be insightful, are not always so. The fact that it is completely free, however, makes up for it. It is impossible not to learn anything after having committed to this course.

автор: Uladzimir V

6 июля 2020 г.

In general, course is well composed from the most essential topics to make a strong view among participants. Meanwhile actuality of the course material leave much to be desired, since it is grounded on the events of 00's. However, the World has changed since that time. So I would recommend to the course master to develop the material with up to date information.

автор: Sam B

4 дек. 2017 г.

Overall a good course and well structured, but could seek to be more explicit about the questions it raises and more practical in terms of what it teaches. For example, we now know what diplomacy is (sort of!) and what skills diplomats need (sort of!) but we don't have much in the way of concrete examples of those skills. Just a thought. But still enjoyable!