Chevron Left
Вернуться к Game Design and Development 1: 2D Shooter

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Game Design and Development 1: 2D Shooter от партнера Университет штата Мичиган

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 207
Рецензии: 64

О курсе

If you love games and want to learn how to make them, then this course will start you down that path. Making games is a creative and technical art form. In this course you will familiarize yourself with the tools and practices of game development and well as the process. You will get started developing video games using industry standard game development tools, including the Unity 2020 game engine. At the end of the course you will have completed two hands-on projects, including an Intro to Unity project and a 2D Shooter game, and will be able to leverage an array of game development techniques to create your own basic games....

Лучшие рецензии

AP
16 февр. 2021 г.

Excellent introduction to Game Design and Development! I already feel that I can do so much with Unity, even when I know there is still a lot lot more to learn, but this was a fantastic start!

IG
31 авг. 2021 г.

Great Course, loved the entire series and made a decent game with a lot to expend upon in the end. I will follow trough with the other courses.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 75 отзывов о курсе Game Design and Development 1: 2D Shooter

автор: Lawrence W

22 мар. 2021 г.

The course walks you through hooking together a number of pre-built components. You get a working game at the end, but there's not much explanation about what those pre-fab components do or how they work. I "dug in", figured it out (mostly), and learned a lot in the process, but some documentation on the pre-fabs would have really helped. The course project asks you to make "significant" modifications to the pre-fabs, but expect to spend some time reading documentation and watching youtube tutorials to actually do that. Also, the course uses a "Peer Review" grading system. Apparently, we had some "trolls" in our group who would "fail" people without giving any feedback whatsoever. You have no recourse for this other than re-submitting and getting new reviewers. I was furious when it happened to me, but others seemed to take it better than I did. Overall, I learned a lot and had fun doing it, but (again) you should be prepared to spend some time finding and using external sources of information. (The pre-fabs use "Colliders" and "Physics", for example, but the course provides no information on these at all.)

автор: Malik V

2 мар. 2021 г.

Nice course! Lots of practice. Communication with fellow students is maintained. All the basic tools are shown to beginners. But for the slightly advanced it can be boring, but they too can find something new and finish the course quickly. And I will go to the next courses. Good luck!

автор: Niño M M

30 апр. 2021 г.

The course was designed to be a perfect balance of tutorial approach and self-study. The peer assignments were a great avenue for showing the culmination of all your attained skills, and the peer reviews were helpful for knowing how to improve on other aspects.

автор: Maxmillion J S

20 мар. 2021 г.

This course has given me a comfortable understanding of how the unity engine works and how various systems within the engine work. The one gripe I have being the glazed over explanation of C# code. If you take this specialization and course, expect to either have a grasp on the concepts of C# or learn C# from other resources.

автор: William P N

2 мар. 2021 г.

The Course is great for beginners like me in game developer. I have gained knowledge in making games in both 3D and 2D, all of the basics in creating a game, also refreshed my knowledge in programming and also gained more skills for programming games.

автор: Frank P

17 июля 2021 г.

This is a good introduction to game design. The lectures delivered by the amiable instructor are motivating and easy to understand. However, instructions for building the actual game are delivered with much less clarify by the teaching assistant. He skims through important details while repeatedly mentions common knowledge as how to unzip a file or how to save a project. By the 3rd course (3D shooter), I still have no clue how to do vertex snapping consistently (the part where you hold V to line up edges between objects), and I just figured out myself how to scale an object uniformly (and no, it's not "hold alt" - it is "hold alt after starting to scale the object).

автор: Joe Z

8 авг. 2021 г.

My main complaint about this course is the way the peer reviewing can work with no recourse to ask a question or dispute.

The criteria for the peer reviews are objective, not subjective like (did this include two out of three build types) One reviewer clearly made a mistake and marked one as wrong and there was no way ask that reviewer to look again, or report an inaccurate review to an instructor.

The course was great, but the review process is annoying an can affect your grade.

автор: Andrés P

16 февр. 2021 г.

Excellent introduction to Game Design and Development! I already feel that I can do so much with Unity, even when I know there is still a lot lot more to learn, but this was a fantastic start!

автор: Hamza A

12 мар. 2021 г.

A really great introduction to unity and great videos that will guide through the course

автор: Akarsh M

31 мая 2021 г.

This is a great introductory course. The lecture content and lessons are not very detailed or comprehensive. The course will not help in building foundational knowledge in any aspect of game design. It does however provide a great pre-made packages and assets, which is what game design and development would be like in the real world, where you start a new game project by reusing assets and code from older projects.

Courses like this are great for building up skills, and building up a library of sample projects. However the course does gloss over a lot of important topics and I am hoping that they are going to be covered in other courses of this specialization.

автор: Noah M

27 сент. 2021 г.

Straightforward learning. This course introduces a very comprehendible way to understand the Unity Game Engine. Before this course, I had experience in writing in JavaScript, Java, and C. I applied JavaScript to small based applications, so I really never saw a clear way to apply code to something else until this course. Through C# I saw programming concepts that were implemented to Game Design as a particular component. I learned that programming is just one small part of this process and there is a lot of creativity that goes into game design which made this course fun, and not just hard work. Or how the instructor says, it's hard fun.

автор: Matt E

29 мар. 2021 г.

Very good course taught by a great instructor and TA. It's a combination of following along with guided lectures and then open exercises with a single major project at the end that builds upon each lecture and gives you the freedom to expand your project in whatever directions you'd prefer based on your own strengths and interests. While I'd like the course to talk more about game design, that's covered in the subsequent courses in the specialization.

автор: William T

7 июня 2021 г.

This was great. A lot of work and preparation has obviously gone into the content, and the level, pacing, and amount of work required is just right. I tend to start, get frustrated with, and drop out of quite a few courses on this site, but this one was a joy to finish. Hopefully that will continue through the whole specialization!

автор: Layth O

13 сент. 2021 г.

T​eaches you how to make a 2D shooter with the ready assets, information is presented well and easy to follow. Got a decent idea on how to twist what was provided into something else. Gonna check out the other courses to see what else can be done and hopefully cover stuff like level design and how to create assets.

автор: Muhammad F

29 июня 2021 г.

I have learn Unity before and this course really teaches you the basic of creating your first game really well. It's more structured and technical course and that's a good thing. I spent some times to do the assignment because they ask you to modify and put your own touch on the game.

автор: SuperKrusher

12 июня 2021 г.

Great course. It is a very good and welcome introduction into using unity. The one thing I would say needs adding is a bit more on the Coding front. If you are new to coding like me, the videos on it aren't really enough, but are still very useful for a start.

автор: Sudhanshu P

29 нояб. 2021 г.

Liked this course a lot. I was totally beginner for the game development and unity engine but how beautifully this course have taught to build my first ever game. The instructors explain very well throughout the course. overall great experience.

автор: James O

6 авг. 2021 г.

Excellent course! Very clear and helped me learn a lot about Unity. Sadly, I don't think I will continue the course as Unity/video game design maybe isn't for me, but this is a perfect course for any beginner into the industry!

автор: Carlos D P V

25 апр. 2021 г.

A nice course to see what a game is made of! Everything is explained step by step so you are able to follow the course, and they provide you with the material so you can focus on learn how to use the software

автор: DIDIEK T

17 апр. 2021 г.

Thank you for the knowledge that has been given. My hope of learning to be a game developer can be realized by taking this course and I plan to take specializations in this game course.

автор: JULIAN A R F

10 нояб. 2021 г.

Muy buen curso, con un desarrollo muy coherente para un nivel de principiante y mucho mas fácil de asimilar si tienes conceptos de programación, lo recomiendo mucho.

автор: Ilie L G

1 сент. 2021 г.

Great Course, loved the entire series and made a decent game with a lot to expend upon in the end. I will follow trough with the other courses.

автор: Giovani B

4 апр. 2021 г.

I loved the course! Brian Winn is such a great professor! Thank you Michigan State University and Coursera for this opportunity!

автор: juan j á s

18 мар. 2021 г.

Very Hands-on. You learn technical and conceptual skills for video game designing. Very grateful for what I've learnt here.

автор: Matteo G

4 нояб. 2021 г.

I realy loved that course. It gave me the opportunity to create my first game in Unity. The lessons are complete and clear