Chevron Left
Вернуться к Fundamentals of Graphic Design

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Fundamentals of Graphic Design от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 11,132
Рецензии: 2,842

О курсе

Graphic Design is all around us! Words and pictures—the building blocks of graphic design—are the elements that carry the majority of the content in both the digital world and the printed world. As graphic design becomes more visible and prevalent in our lives, graphic design as a practice becomes more important in our culture. Through visual examples, this course will teach you the fundamental principles of graphic design: imagemaking, typography, composition, working with color and shape... foundational skills that are common in all areas of graphic design practice. I don't just want you to watch a video of someone talking about design, I want you to MAKE design! If you want to be a designer you have to be a maker and a communicator, so this course will offer you lots of opportunities to get your hands dirty with exercises and with more practical projects. At the end of this course you will have learned how to explore and investigate visual representation through a range of image-making techniques; understand basic principles of working with shape, color and pattern; been exposed to the language and skills of typography; and understand and have applied the principles of composition and visual contrast. If you complete the course, along with its optional (but highly recommended) briefs, you will have a core set of graphic design skills that you can apply to your own projects, or to more deeply investigate a specialized area of graphic design. To succeed in this course you will need access to a computer. You can complete this course without one but it will be tougher. Access to, and a beginner's level knowledge of Adobe Creative Suite programs, such as Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign will help you, especially if you want to complete the optional briefs....

Лучшие рецензии

AR

Apr 18, 2016

very good introductory course. i enjoyed the assignments, they are not overwhelming, easy to start, and the optional ones offer great opportunity to dig little deeper into graphic design fundamentals.

GA

Aug 21, 2018

Very interesting, I liked the format. Easy to follow, nice excercises. It's actually good to cover the basics of design, even if you are not an absolute beginner, and especially if you are self taught

Фильтр по:

151–175 из 2,800 отзывов о курсе Fundamentals of Graphic Design

автор: Smriti K

Feb 24, 2017

Thank you Michael Worthington for this fun course! I loved the classes and all of the assignments we had to do, especially helps that they were peer graded. Getting these sort of insights help you make critical choices of you are as a designer and what is your personal style.

Looking forward to taking up more of such courses :)

автор: aritra g

Jun 21, 2020

It was indeed a very pleasant experience learning the fundamentals of graphic design. I was really excited to be a part of this course and in the meantime I learned a lot of new things. And the exercises were designed so well, that no one can ever feel bored. What I liked the most about this course is, the system of reviewing.

автор: Magdalena G

Jul 18, 2019

Excellent course as others offered in this specialization. It provided me with very strong basics of graphic design. The content of the course is very practical. I highly recommend all the courses in this specialization as moving on to the next ones will provide you with very good introduction to graphic design and its rules.

автор: Simone H E

Sep 10, 2020

I have never before had this much fun while learning something new. It actually made me look at the world around me in a different way; suddenly noticing lines, compositions, typography, colours, and more. The fact that you get to put what you have learned into practice make this course extra engaging. Great teacher as well!

автор: Anastasia R

Aug 21, 2016

Briiliant course! It gives you very solid fundamentals for all other courses of the Graphic design specialization. The teacher is very passionate, loves his subject and can make all ideas very understandable. The course helps to believe in inner strenght and creativity. I loved it so much! Thanks for this amazing 4 weeks!

автор: Samantha M

Mar 22, 2016

This course was very easy to follow along with, making learning the fundamentals of graphic design easy and fun. The assignments required and optional challenged both your understanding of the material and your creativity. I loved every second of this course and I would recommend it to anyone interested in graphic design.

автор: Jennifer B

Feb 09, 2016

This was my first attempt at a MOOC, and I think I'm spoiled. This is the just right format and just right medium for learning these skills. The class demonstration videos are simple enough to really demonstrate the concepts. The exercises are also well formulated to help get the concepts across effectively in this medium.

автор: Fred R

Jan 21, 2017

I found the lessons very interesting. I've read lots of design books and used Photoshop and Illustrator for a while in my job (web writer / marketer / developer) and this courses bridges the gap between all the information in my head and the hard question : how to use all that in a creative way ? I really appreciate it !

автор: Sherelle K L

Mar 09, 2016

I had an absolutely wonderful doing this course. I always wanted to do a graphic design course and this one sure did help me with learning all about the fundamentals of graphic design. I do hope to complete the entire specialisation later on. Great job, Coursera and CAL Arts! I look forward to your other art courses.

автор: AUDU E O

Mar 02, 2020

This is a great course for someone new to graphics designing and doesn't have a good background knowledge of design. It goes a long to explain a lot of things you see in professional design work without knowing the designer is using them. I will recommend it to anyone that wants to have good basics in graphic design

автор: Mary A V

Jul 11, 2019

Really solid foundation - The course is definitely what you make of it though, I often times felt like a lot of my peers didn't want to give any kind of feedback that could be perceived as negative, so the peer review wasn't as helpful as I had hoped. The actual course material and the professor were extremely good.

автор: Diana L F M

Jul 09, 2020

Todo muy bien, me gustó bastante, las tareas me parecieron sencillas pero perfectas para entender lo que se estaba viendo en el curso. Los videos son muy claros, en ocasiones un poco pesados pero buenos y con buen contenido. Es recomendable pata aquellas personas que les interesa y están por comenzar en este mundo.

автор: Amr S

Apr 13, 2020

I really, enjoyed this course. I recommend it for any new learner as well as experienced graphic designers whom need to polish the foundation of their talent. Instructor is highly skilled, sincer and, organised. Course is built around a real life project, yet, lays the scientific background in a super easy method.

автор: Clare L B

Jun 23, 2020

I had a really great time with this course. I graduated with an Associates Degree in Graphic Design a few years ago and took this course as a refresher, but I felt like I learned almost as much in four weeks as I did in 2 years at an Art School. I wish Coursera had been around then, I might have saved some money.

автор: Claudia U R

Oct 17, 2019

A wonderful introduction to Graphic Design. If you're interested in Graphic design, this is a great course to start with. The videos have so much valuable content and the assignments are well though-out. I would recommend everyone do the optional assignments because it's where you will apply the concepts learned.

автор: Phoebe C

May 16, 2020

Comprehensive and informative; a good balance of breadth and depth. Instructor uses a "show, not tell" approach in his videos, which greatly aided my understanding of design principles & how to apply them. The tasks were challenging yet manageable, and effective in consolidating my skills learnt during the week.

автор: Dan E

Jan 08, 2020

I have been working in designing and mostly learning on my own, I always wanted to study graphic design but never really have the opportunity, I really liked the course and everything that it coveredt, it helped me to understand the basic theory behind the design and Im looking forward to take the second course.

автор: Pratik R K

Jun 21, 2020

Great way to start learning about Graphic Designing if you are a beginner or even have any level of experience in this field. This course covers all the basics which will serve as a great foundation for your future endeavour in this field. I highly recommend you all to join and take the most out of this course.

автор: Tripti S

Oct 09, 2018

Amazing Course, such great insight and yet so simple. When I took this course I knew only the words Graphic Design and that I have to know a few creative suite softwares to learn graphic design. But this course has cleared my thoughs on the subject.

A must taka course for any one wanting to learn graphic design

автор: Morgan G

Jul 22, 2020

This course was amazing! I love the ability to work at my own pace, it allowed me to learn so fast! I went from never having used a single digital design application to being very confident in three weeks!

The instructor was extremely clear and knowledgeable, the course assignments were clear cut and focused.

автор: Akshaya

Jul 07, 2020

I had a lot of fun learning basic Design Thinking, how to approach Design, Typography, Basics of Image Making and how to ideate and visualise different shapes and forms. I would recommend this course to anyone who is looking to unlearn what they know about design or art and learn a brand new way of thinking.

автор: Laura A J

Jul 25, 2018

i highly recommend this course for those who want to start their journey in Graphic Design and they don't know how to start. i love how the tutor tries to encourage us to experiment and try something new and not to be afraid of that. the assignments were fun and useful i am very glad for taking this course.

автор: Olga P

Dec 14, 2019

An excellent class that teaches you the basics of graphic design!!! Very thorough videos and exercises that get your creative mind evolving! The exercises are very fun to complete as the videos give you all the instructions needed to complete them. You will learn form, typography composition and much more!

автор: Luisa M

Jul 27, 2020

The course is very interesting. It really teaches you the basics of Graphic Design, stimulates you to explore your creativity. I just wished our exercises were evaluated for at least one professional or more knowledgeable person instead of only our course colleagues. Overall I would highly recommend it!

автор: Lorna W

May 30, 2017

Really enjoyable course that was really easy to follow. The videos are great for visual learners, with transcripts that help with note taking, and the practical assignments help you learn by doing. Would definitely recommend as a starting point for anyone wanting to get into the graphic design industry!