Chevron Left
Вернуться к Fundamentals of Graphic Design

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Fundamentals of Graphic Design от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
Оценки: 5,742
Рецензии: 1,413

О курсе

Graphic Design is all around us! Words and pictures—the building blocks of graphic design—are the elements that carry the majority of the content in both the digital world and the printed world. As graphic design becomes more visible and prevalent in our lives, graphic design as a practice becomes more important in our culture. Through visual examples, this course will teach you the fundamental principles of graphic design: imagemaking, typography, composition, working with color and shape... foundational skills that are common in all areas of graphic design practice. I don't just want you to watch a video of someone talking about design, I want you to MAKE design! If you want to be a designer you have to be a maker and a communicator, so this course will offer you lots of opportunities to get your hands dirty with exercises and with more practical projects. At the end of this course you will have learned how to explore and investigate visual representation through a range of image-making techniques; understand basic principles of working with shape, color and pattern; been exposed to the language and skills of typography; and understand and have applied the principles of composition and visual contrast. If you complete the course, along with its optional (but highly recommended) briefs, you will have a core set of graphic design skills that you can apply to your own projects, or to more deeply investigate a specialized area of graphic design. To succeed in this course you will need access to a computer. You can complete this course without one but it will be tougher. Access to, and a beginner's level knowledge of Adobe Creative Suite programs, such as Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign will help you, especially if you want to complete the optional briefs....

Лучшие рецензии

AR

Apr 18, 2016

very good introductory course. i enjoyed the assignments, they are not overwhelming, easy to start, and the optional ones offer great opportunity to dig little deeper into graphic design fundamentals.

CS

May 10, 2018

An ok course for beginners. A bit too basic for someone who has already had experience in design, but is great anyway cause it breaks things back down to the simplest parts to help you remember roots.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 1,371 отзывов о курсе Fundamentals of Graphic Design

автор: Ernesto J

May 09, 2019

This course is really helpful for understanding the objective of the graphic design.

автор: Antonio D O

May 04, 2019

Loved this class! Michael is a great teacher, it is very clear that he has a lot of knowledge and i feel that he truly cares about teaching as well as his students. The exercises were perfect and gave me the basic design skills that I needed.

автор: Nathaly W

Apr 17, 2019

I really enjoyed how this course was laid out. I took design in high school, but never really grasped the concepts of design until my final year. This course really added a structure to the basic things I already knew and gave me a way to understand them separately, how to use them separately and then smoosh them all together. I had great fun doing the assignments and the course work was explained in a clear and understandable way.

автор: Leah E

Apr 11, 2019

I have taken graphics coursework at a number of institutions of higher learning. I appreciate the straightforward, simplified and accessible way the information is presented in a logical and sequential format to create a foundational understanding of the essential elements of graphic design. Weeks 3 and 4 are where it really comes together. I found these lectures of such critical importance that I saved them all. For a short term course, without the more extensive commitment of a full 16-week term one might find elsewhere, if one commits the time and effort to undertake all of the assignments, I found as much value in this course as I have in more traditional programs. It's reminded me of why I love graphic design, and although it's a basic introductory course, I was excited to undertake these exercises and do it all over again. This class is worth your time, effort and attention. Thank you CalArts and Coursera!

автор: magda a h

Jan 31, 2019

one of the greatest courses i ever attendant

автор: rebecca

Apr 04, 2017

I would not recommend this one to any paying customer. This is the second intro to Graphic Design class I have take on Coursera, and I found the way the material was presented in the CalArts course to be quite slow and pretty boring. Our assignments were simple and I felt no excitement in doing them. It would have been beneficial to see how these fundamental building blocks could be used in real life design. The other class (by CU-Boulder) made me want to continue learning ,and I felt excited to complete the projects whereas with this class I was forcing myself to sit down to finish just the required ones.

автор: Ehab M

Aug 08, 2016

i hate to say it, but this course is really really bad ... not practical at all. i'm not sure where this is all going. maybe by the fourth course in the series, 100 hours later of lectures, you might have something practical but this approach feels wrong. i'm sorry, it's a reputable school and who the hell am I, but one man's opinion: rethink how you go about introducing the newbie to graphic design as it's applicable to the real world.

автор: AMIN R

Apr 18, 2016

very good introductory course. i enjoyed the assignments, they are not overwhelming, easy to start, and the optional ones offer great opportunity to dig little deeper into graphic design fundamentals.

автор: Sunny D

Oct 15, 2015

I was led to believe that I would be learning the fundamentals of graphic design, which to me means learning how to use Photoshop, InDesign, etc. This is more about learning how to create art in general, not exactly what I'm looking for.

автор: Amira H

Jun 25, 2019

very excellent

автор: Veronica L P

Jun 24, 2019

Great content and super clear assignments. It makes you try to find ways to express things differently

автор: Radhvi K

Jun 24, 2019

simply.. Wow.!

автор: Jose A G R

Jun 24, 2019

Great course, clearly explained...learned a lot.

автор: Cinthia K

Jun 24, 2019

I understand the gist of Graphic Design without the dependence of software. These lessons are the true building blocks of how to think and design.

автор: Mehrdad k

Jun 24, 2019

it is informative

автор: 艾美姝

Jun 24, 2019

Good introduction to graphic design

автор: 符满华

Jun 22, 2019

老师非常好

автор: Vandana c

Jun 21, 2019

The content of this course is really crisp and clear . Good examples are used to explain the concepts. This course has really made me believe that i have a hidden sense of art and creativity. I have learned to use various tools to learn and practice typography, sketching, water color art, logo and pattern making. I would highly recommend this course to people who wants to learn the basic of graphic design.

автор: Gerry D C

Jun 19, 2019

I REALLY LOVE THIS COURSE...

автор: Syed M A Z

Jun 18, 2019

Great course. Taught me the basics in an excellent way.

автор: Lois B

Jun 18, 2019

Go to the point, easy to understand and very productive.

автор: Khushi K

Jun 17, 2019

An amazingly designed course that can be readily applied in day to day graphic and visual content creation.

автор: wagdy i a i

Jun 16, 2019

good work and good leaders

автор: chelsea r

Jun 16, 2019

Very interesting and a great start for a beginner!

автор: Odett R

Jun 15, 2019

Una introducción perfecta y una enseñanza completa para embarcarse en el mundo del diseño gráfico.