Chevron Left
Вернуться к Econometrics: Methods and Applications

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Econometrics: Methods and Applications от партнера Роттердамский университет им. Эразма

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 1,054
Рецензии: 232

О курсе

Welcome! Do you wish to know how to analyze and solve business and economic questions with data analysis tools? Then Econometrics by Erasmus University Rotterdam is the right course for you, as you learn how to translate data into models to make forecasts and to support decision making. * What do I learn? When you know econometrics, you are able to translate data into models to make forecasts and to support decision making in a wide variety of fields, ranging from macroeconomics to finance and marketing. Our course starts with introductory lectures on simple and multiple regression, followed by topics of special interest to deal with model specification, endogenous variables, binary choice data, and time series data. You learn these key topics in econometrics by watching the videos with in-video quizzes and by making post-video training exercises. * Do I need prior knowledge? The course is suitable for (advanced undergraduate) students in economics, finance, business, engineering, and data analysis, as well as for those who work in these fields. The course requires some basics of matrices, probability, and statistics, which are reviewed in the Building Blocks module. If you are searching for a MOOC on econometrics of a more introductory nature that needs less background in mathematics, you may be interested in the Coursera course “Enjoyable Econometrics” that is also from Erasmus University Rotterdam. * What literature can I consult to support my studies? You can follow the MOOC without studying additional sources. Further reading of the discussed topics (including the Building Blocks) is provided in the textbook that we wrote and on which the MOOC is based: Econometric Methods with Applications in Business and Economics, Oxford University Press. The connection between the MOOC modules and the book chapters is shown in the Course Guide – Further Information – How can I continue my studies. * Will there be teaching assistants active to guide me through the course? Staff and PhD students of our Econometric Institute will provide guidance in January and February of each year. In other periods, we provide only elementary guidance. We always advise you to connect with fellow learners of this course to discuss topics and exercises. * How will I get a certificate? To gain the certificate of this course, you are asked to make six Test Exercises (one per module) and a Case Project. Further, you perform peer-reviewing activities of the work of three of your fellow learners of this MOOC. You gain the certificate if you pass all seven assignments. Have a nice journey into the world of Econometrics! The Econometrics team...

Лучшие рецензии

JJ
15 нояб. 2015 г.

The design of the course is very Helpful and efficient. The course is well explained. The instructors are very clear and master the subject. They very detailed and well organized.

TM
8 июня 2016 г.

Very practical, I would urge people who intend to take this course to come to this course with at least some knowledge of econometrics and statistics. It would come in handy.

Фильтр по:

201–225 из 225 отзывов о курсе Econometrics: Methods and Applications

автор: James Z

10 февр. 2017 г.

Lecture materials are very rich and well organized.

автор: Christian H

19 нояб. 2016 г.

It is a good course, but a bit short in my opinion

автор: Upmanyu B

22 февр. 2016 г.

Awesome, helped me alot! Thanks MOOC cordinatiors.

автор: gao f

23 нояб. 2016 г.

many mistakes in the exercise solutions

автор: Alfonso B M

20 мая 2019 г.

Great. Applied knowledge focus.

автор: Nikhil K

5 апр. 2020 г.

Less practicals involved

автор: Anh N

20 мая 2016 г.

Excellent Course!

автор: ayushman g

8 дек. 2015 г.

nicely explained.

автор: Mooraha U

20 февр. 2020 г.

With this course, I have definitely expanded my horizon of knowledge. Having completed it, I feel accomplished. At the same time, looking back, there was not clue that more than probability and statistics knowledge is needed - one has to be already familiar with econometrics and modeling. The learning curve is very steep and lectures are describing on the high-level scope of the further reading to be done to be able to solve assignments. Having technical background, I felt very much behind - just until the time when I found some relevant information in the lecture notes on Advanced Econometrics for PhD students. There should be a warning about such prerequisites!

автор: Murray S

5 окт. 2020 г.

I was somewhat disappointed with the quality of the solutions to the test exercises and the case project, which were handwritten and provided little in the way of further guidance about the solutions. I would have expected a more polished product. I think the course might also benefit from providing suggestions for further reading on certain subject or links to online resources that the student could refer to.

автор: Xuetao H

24 янв. 2016 г.

This course will be a good revision if you have known the models before taking it. But if you are new to the models, you may not really understand them. This course tells you which models to use and how to implement, but does not tell you the rationale behind (maybe the theories are too difficult).

The teaching staff are really helpful and answer every question you raise in the discussion forum.

автор: Ambarish A

12 авг. 2020 г.

The content is above average but the instructors are below average. Content is delivered in boring monologues. Also, as the presentations of the course contain little information, advice the instructors to create course lecture notes (documents) to help learners review the contents.

автор: Tommy L

16 дек. 2019 г.

The proofs aren't as clear as I wish they were. Lacks a lot of explanation and a lot of practice questions in between are from those proofs which gets hard

автор: Wadia A

5 окт. 2017 г.

Generally speaking , I have to say that it is good course , I learned many things. More explanation should be provided for some concepts.

автор: Sarah R

5 янв. 2016 г.

Some of the terminology doesn't seem congruent with what we use in North America

автор: David E R A

27 сент. 2019 г.

Realmente se necesita la traducción de los cursos

автор: Adam M

21 дек. 2019 г.

Grading of assignments takes WAY too long.

автор: Stan M

15 февр. 2021 г.

dropped

автор: Paolo M

12 дек. 2017 г.

The members of faculty participating in this MOOC seem to be knowledgeable of the material, but the presentation lack content. The whole course seems as an outline , rather than a actual course by itself. Needs more core material, not suitable for someone looking to complement or starting fresh in the topic.

автор: nishant

9 июля 2017 г.

I noticed that during video , professor ask test questions and that test question is asked before the professor explains that part. This is irrelevant. How a student can answer that question without any prior knowledge.

автор: Filipe F

17 мая 2021 г.

Wasn't great. the content was loosely and poorly explained. The suggested textbook isn't spectacular either. The assignment solutions have awful handwritten slides.

автор: gregio d

4 февр. 2021 г.

the explanations are not clear.

The solution of assignments almost absent.

It is fine only if you already know the matter and need to obtain a certification

автор: Abdulaziz A

25 февр. 2021 г.

excel has a lot of equations already implemented , the course doens't show how we use it. i don't need to memorize the formulas.

автор: Dean V

12 февр. 2021 г.

Very disappointing because really a class in mathematical proofs.

автор: Haneen A

1 июня 2021 г.

I've never been this bored in my life. ever. at least they can put some effort into making this interesting. for non economists, the material is complex and hard to grasp already without some boring dude making life harder for us. I'm disappointed.