Chevron Left
Вернуться к Econometrics: Methods and Applications

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Econometrics: Methods and Applications от партнера Роттердамский университет им. Эразма

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 1,046
Рецензии: 230

О курсе

Welcome! Do you wish to know how to analyze and solve business and economic questions with data analysis tools? Then Econometrics by Erasmus University Rotterdam is the right course for you, as you learn how to translate data into models to make forecasts and to support decision making. * What do I learn? When you know econometrics, you are able to translate data into models to make forecasts and to support decision making in a wide variety of fields, ranging from macroeconomics to finance and marketing. Our course starts with introductory lectures on simple and multiple regression, followed by topics of special interest to deal with model specification, endogenous variables, binary choice data, and time series data. You learn these key topics in econometrics by watching the videos with in-video quizzes and by making post-video training exercises. * Do I need prior knowledge? The course is suitable for (advanced undergraduate) students in economics, finance, business, engineering, and data analysis, as well as for those who work in these fields. The course requires some basics of matrices, probability, and statistics, which are reviewed in the Building Blocks module. If you are searching for a MOOC on econometrics of a more introductory nature that needs less background in mathematics, you may be interested in the Coursera course “Enjoyable Econometrics” that is also from Erasmus University Rotterdam. * What literature can I consult to support my studies? You can follow the MOOC without studying additional sources. Further reading of the discussed topics (including the Building Blocks) is provided in the textbook that we wrote and on which the MOOC is based: Econometric Methods with Applications in Business and Economics, Oxford University Press. The connection between the MOOC modules and the book chapters is shown in the Course Guide – Further Information – How can I continue my studies. * Will there be teaching assistants active to guide me through the course? Staff and PhD students of our Econometric Institute will provide guidance in January and February of each year. In other periods, we provide only elementary guidance. We always advise you to connect with fellow learners of this course to discuss topics and exercises. * How will I get a certificate? To gain the certificate of this course, you are asked to make six Test Exercises (one per module) and a Case Project. Further, you perform peer-reviewing activities of the work of three of your fellow learners of this MOOC. You gain the certificate if you pass all seven assignments. Have a nice journey into the world of Econometrics! The Econometrics team...

Лучшие рецензии

DT
13 февр. 2020 г.

Course was very well structured, pacing was very pleasant (albeit a little fast for the chapter about time series). Teachers were top notch! I had lots of fun while learning . Thank you!

JJ
15 нояб. 2015 г.

The design of the course is very Helpful and efficient. The course is well explained. The instructors are very clear and master the subject. They very detailed and well organized.

Фильтр по:

176–200 из 223 отзывов о курсе Econometrics: Methods and Applications

автор: Pablo M C

19 мар. 2021 г.

In my opinion, this is a very well-structured introductory course. If you have no background in Econometrics, it might be useful to introduce you to the concepts. If you've already taken an Econometrics course, it will be useful to refresh different concepts and estimation techniques. Just to take into consideration, if you want to get deep into the training exercises and follow all the formalization aspects that are presented, it takes way more than 4-8 hours a week. You should consider at least 12 hours a week.

автор: Sovit S

18 мая 2020 г.

It is a fairly expansive course in terms of the topics covered. However, it is not as discursive as I'd have liked. The tests are good but would have been better had they not provided too many hints. It is definitely an eight-week course if you diligently work on the exercises. Maybe there is room to recommend additional readings for those who'd like to learn more.

автор: Max G

29 сент. 2016 г.

Un curso muy interesante, con mucho contenido que requiere un esfuerzo por parte de los alumnos y una base matemática/estadística sólida. Las prácticas están muy bien organizadas. Hay explicaciones que podrían mejorar. Sin embargo, cumple sobremanera mis expectativas. Lo recomiendo.

автор: ANTHONY E J

19 окт. 2020 г.

Having more explanation with the answer videos will lead to a better understanding from MOOC participants. Also, additional review and participation from class instructors on grading tests would ensure a more effective and accurate calculation of participant performance.

автор: Arthur M

10 апр. 2016 г.

Good content and exercise, very pedagogic.

The only problem are the use of the program: If you don't know how to use a statistical program such as R, you will spend more time struggling with the program than understanding the topic.

автор: Pradeep M

11 нояб. 2020 г.

This course provides inputs for advance level students. Theoretical aspects are well-covered. I gained a lot from this course. If some idea of any one econometric software is provided, it can further add value to the students.

автор: Tatsunari W

13 сент. 2017 г.

This course introduces basic and important statistical methods both in conceptual and practical ways. I wish this course were more longer and covered the topics deeper because I really enjoyed learning the topics.

автор: Cristian T T

4 мая 2020 г.

This is course is very smooth yet challenging. It provides good grounds for econometric analysis at an intermediate level. I totally recommend it. Thanks for the good job to all the professors and assistants.

автор: Софья

22 февр. 2017 г.

Some topics that were covered in this course were not explained in details and, in addition, there was no explanation of the theoretical aspects of the course (for instance, formulas transcript ).

автор: Danish U

5 нояб. 2015 г.

Very good course. But too much emphasis on statistical derivations. Also estimating models by using any statistical software (SPSS, STATA, R, Eviews) will for sure be an interesting ad on.

автор: Adrien

13 мая 2019 г.

Very good insights and step by step methods.

It is more theoretical (manual calculations of different methods) than applied and should be completed by another course for this matter.

автор: Sriharsha G

26 февр. 2016 г.

It is a very good course I guess, but being 15 years old, it didn't make any sense.

However, I got to learn a lot of new things about a field which I wish to pursue.

автор: Yiming C

5 июня 2018 г.

Good course, I would recommend people who have basic knowledge about statistics and linear algebra take this course if the topic of econometrics interest you.

автор: Chun S L

12 окт. 2017 г.

the video seems fast-forwarded, which makes it quite difficult to follow. not sure if it's only my personal feel of it. otherwise the content were great.

автор: Souvik G

26 авг. 2020 г.

Great beginners course. Should be backed by readings. Exercises are awesome especially the building blocks. Looking forward to a more advanced course.

автор: Anand Y

17 янв. 2016 г.

More focus should be given on application part in initial modules vs. derivation. Also, the presentation can be made a bit more simple to understand.

автор: Naim

15 авг. 2017 г.

This course is really good for recapping what you have learned before. It would be a difficult course if you start it without previous background.

автор: Francesco

23 июля 2017 г.

Some stuff are treated briefly but overall is a good MOOC, well organized and gives good hints to deal with econometrics problems.

автор: Andrey P

15 янв. 2018 г.

I'd be happy to have more practical excersises during the course instead/together with formula transformation tasks.

автор: Fernando F d F M

23 нояб. 2017 г.

Very nice MOOC. Found it a little too theorical, but it was very usefull to put in practice my econometrics skills.

автор: Maithili M

13 нояб. 2017 г.

Very informative and technically coherent.

My only suggestion would be to provide software codes with solution.

автор: Utkarsh A

18 мар. 2017 г.

The level of this course is high. It's better to take a basic course on Econometrics and then take up this.

автор: quangngu

21 янв. 2019 г.

There was a drastic increase in difficulty in week 6 and 7 from the rest of the course.

автор: James Z

10 февр. 2017 г.

Lecture materials are very rich and well organized.

автор: Christian H

19 нояб. 2016 г.

It is a good course, but a bit short in my opinion