Chevron Left
Вернуться к Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 13,455
Рецензии: 2,914

О курсе

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Лучшие рецензии

JS

12 янв. 2020 г.

A very helpful code which allows you to learn the simple of JavaScript HTML and CSS. Very helpful in building websites and an excellent course for beginners or even people who have never coded before.

IS

5 окт. 2015 г.

This is the first course I am taking in Coursera.org. The valuable instructors of Duke University designed and created a masterpiece for learners. Thank you so much guys. Greets from Istanbul, Turkey.

Фильтр по:

2801–2825 из 2,923 отзывов о курсе Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

автор: VISHAL S

3 сент. 2020 г.

Good courses

автор: Dmitry F

15 сент. 2016 г.

No so good

автор: Abhijat G

16 февр. 2016 г.

It's ok...

автор: VIJAY M R

29 июля 2020 г.

Excellent

автор: Niranjan B

24 апр. 2020 г.

it was ok

автор: William S

28 дек. 2016 г.

not bad

автор: Weerachai Y

27 июня 2020 г.

thanks

автор: Sanika A G

6 июня 2020 г.

Good

автор: Vennubaka J R R

29 апр. 2020 г.

Good

автор: VIGNESHKUMAR R

12 апр. 2020 г.

Good

автор: Doaa S M Y

30 янв. 2020 г.

Good

автор: Eric K

23 сент. 2020 г.

l did learn some basic programming with this course, however, there were several issues. Overall, I might have been better off learning the material on my own for free. The biggest downfall, in my mind, is that the course seems to have been abandoned. Mentors don't respond in the forums anymore, and you used to need 3 other students to grade the work on the projects, but now you just mark it as done. This means in theory you could get your cert without doing any of the projects, just by doing the quizzes, which you get multiple attempts on and feedback and clues for your wrong answers after each attempt. In my mind, that makes the certificate much less meaningful. Additionally, I spent large portions of the course feeling lost. It's supposed to be a beginner course but it feels like the already expect you to have a fair amount of background knowledge. They use jargon that a complete beginner might not understand, and I felt like they skipped over key concepts and expected you to figure them out. This led to difficulty doing the coding assignments. Assignments that were estimated to take an hour and a half took me anywhere from 4 - 10 hours each and I feel it's because there weren't enough resources. There are almost no actual readings, and the videos are helpful but don't tell you everything you need to know.

автор: Claudine J

4 дек. 2020 г.

First, the strong points: most of the quizzes have explanations when answers are submitted. This allows the user to easily find the material that they need to review.

Now onto the weak points: The course as a whole is extremely lengthy for "foundations" and there are many highly-technical ideas that are just too daunting to learn in a mere four weeks. Personally I had no problem with that, but here comes the actual issue that I had with this course: the tone is very erratic. Are you talking to a grade schooler while expecting them to understand loops and binary numbers? Or are you talking to young adults or budding professionals but somehow think that they would appreciate borderline baby talk? Even the presenters are varying: some talk to us as if we were children, others sound like bored students reading off a powerpoint presentation. This course just feels like... everyone had an idea to pitch in and they didn't want anybody to feel excluded, so they just threw everything into the pot and hoped for the best.

автор: Cameron B

24 мар. 2018 г.

This course could be very useful for extreme beginners trying to wrap their heads around programming in HTML/CSS/JS. It has some decent fundamentals, but it gets way too granular on image manipulation and really lacks in just about every other applicable application you'd like to use HTML/CSS/JS for.

The hosts were actually pretty entertaining and they definitely do a great job of presenting the material that is provided, but it just seems very much lacking in terms of content.

It would have been great to see more topics pertaining to things such as implementing CSS/JS into HTML, using a real IDE, creating navbars, display properties, mixins, using preprocessor tools, etc.

автор: Peter H

12 февр. 2016 г.

I was very disappointed in this course which held much promise. Too much of it has to do with the changing of colours. I got bogged down by hex colour requirements and other ancillary requirements. I did not want to learn such things. I wanted to learn the methodologies of programming and how the statements in HTML, CSS and Javascript interact. All of these areas were only touched on in very minor ways and with little learned. I got more out of the books I borrowed from the library in the same timeframe.

автор: Katherine K

18 февр. 2018 г.

I had to refer to a lot of other resources to make the jump from the very basic information that was given in the videos to the much more complicated assignments and practice work. I feel as if I am basically gathering knowledge from many other sources to complete the assignments here rather than learning the information here and being given enough explanation to move further with application. There is not enough advanced instruction in this course to do the problem solving that is asked of you.

автор: Deleted A

25 мар. 2021 г.

I don't want to learn only the basics and just stick to it, I wanted to move to advanced stuff too. More than possible in a month. This course wasted way too much of my time, until now I have only learned how to barely use JavaScript on their platform using their libraries. I don't understand the obsession with the Green Screen Algorithm. Trying to unenroll now or I'll waste two more weeks of my life.

This is probably good for an absolute beginner with lots of free time.

автор: William R

5 мар. 2021 г.

I thought the course did a good job in week 1 with HTML and CSS but thats where it stopped. The course was not very clear about Javascript and often said what parts did without explaining why. They also severely underestimated the amount of time each week would take on the description as it says 5 hours per week but each week was roughly 7 hours. The Duke LearnToCOde site was also not very good. I did enjoy working on Codepen.

автор: Gurinder V

18 окт. 2015 г.

Waaay too basic and simple for a comprehensive principles course. One or two concepts is not enough to gain an understanding. The power behind online learning is that if it takes you three views to understand it all, you have the luxury. Please beef up the videos and the assignments. The assignments had no feedback mechanism so I could easily plow through them without any knowledge of whether I did them right.

автор: Adrian W

16 мар. 2018 г.

The focus on image manipulation is confusing and makes code really hard to debug, especially when referencing external sources for functions. Simple text output and arithmetic would be more helpful. The graphics theme seems like a bit of a gimmick. My assignments are all buggy and I can't fix them because the source functions used to generate the images are beyond my skill level.

автор: Alina S

16 окт. 2015 г.

Actually it's rather hard to understand how JavaScript works if you'd never learnt it before this course. And all this comments like "write a programm before start the quiz" hold me up to ridicule, because as a beginner I don't understand logic of writing.

HTML & CSS are simple, so there's no problem here.

автор: gaurav s

6 янв. 2016 г.

Very very basic course. Learned about HTML ,CSS in initial classes. Then it was completely JavaScript. But there was no details about how to use JavaScript for web programming. Projects and Quizzes are kind of ok difficulty.

I will recommend this course for the people who are not aware of programming.

автор: Hamza S

16 мая 2020 г.

Instructors should write codes on professional code writing softwares such as brackets or visual studio and not on their own made softwares. We wont use your softwares to work professionally but rather use other softwares. The codes written on codepen does not work on other platforms.

автор: David T

13 сент. 2016 г.

I'm confused as to why there was so much emphasis on domain knowledge rather than a good, solid foundation of basic principles. I'm also failing to see how much of this is going to be applicable to future installments of this course. As a starter for a Java course I am worried.

автор: Chase E

17 апр. 2020 г.

Would have benefited from more fundamentals. Course goes into making things quickly, but fails to thoroughly explain the concepts behind what is happening. Fine for a quick crash course on web development, but not recommended as a foundational introduction to programming.