Chevron Left
Вернуться к Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 13,467
Рецензии: 2,917

О курсе

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Лучшие рецензии

JS

12 янв. 2020 г.

A very helpful code which allows you to learn the simple of JavaScript HTML and CSS. Very helpful in building websites and an excellent course for beginners or even people who have never coded before.

AD

16 июля 2020 г.

Excellent course .\n\nJust felt that there should be examples that could help someone to understand in a more better way.The videos were good and were very simple and easy to understand then the text.

Фильтр по:

2676–2700 из 2,925 отзывов о курсе Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

автор: María J G G

10 нояб. 2015 г.

Well, I think I learnt some things about JavaScript, HTML and CSS. However, the course hasn't been focused on programming with JavaScript to solve real problems. All assignments are based on the creation of images from scratch, the modification of these images and hide messages in an original image. I really don't think these types of assignments can help students to learn Web technology. In fact, I know some professional Web programmers that they don't use javascript to manipulate images but in some cases when it is really necessary. I'd change the way of how the assignments are presented to prove the students' skills. For example, a possible assignment could be the implemention of a counter on a Web page using JavaScript or the creation of a web page with buttons, emerging messages, menus etc. On the web (Googling), there are a lot of codes that allow these funcionalities and could be used and modified by other students to create their own Web page.

автор: Marie C

23 сент. 2021 г.

This course will give you a lot of information, but the structure is really lacking. I had enough experience with basic Javascript and Python to fill in a lot of the logical gaps, but but I think I would have been pretty miserable coming into this as a complete beginner. They do start off explaining basic concepts and building blocks of JavaScript, but a lot of the course relies VERY heavily on using weird, never-quite-explained methods that exist only in Duke's programming library. Also, while I can see the value in using image manipulation as a grounding for programming exercises, it gets old very quickly! By the end, the projects are so laser-focused on pixel manipulation and Duke's own methods that it's hard to see how one might generalize this experience to JavaScript as a whole. This course would also really benefit from more quick graded exercises to build muscle/syntax memory, as opposed to just the quizzes and review projects.

автор: Tatyana S

22 июля 2019 г.

Course was ok, I expected more. The main downside is the use of non-standard methods like SimpleImage, which is not something in the standard library and that is not even explained until you are well into the course. I don't understand what the point is of learning to use it, when it can't be applied in the future. Also, not using a 'real life' IDE really diminishes the value of the course. I understand that using the environment provided makes it easier/faster to teach the material However, in my opinion, the benefit of learning to use the proper tools is essential, and leaves significant gap in knowledge that I, at least, find frustrating. I hope the next class on Java is better, but I already see a download of yet another course specific IDE, which leaves me skeptical. I will give it a shot, but I will cancel if it is like the first class. It's very disappointing, this course seemed very well rounded and had such great potential.

автор: Deleted A

15 сент. 2021 г.

The course has very interesting projects and exercises to work on however the main issue is that theres a lot of crucial information that gets missed out on like how to increment in a loop and this trend continues throughout the course. If I was entirely new to the subject I would not have been able to complete the exercises because they would be too difficult. I feel as though the course is rushed in the videos and explanations are not as clear or enthesised as well as they should be, as well and does not break down each subject down well enough in order to understand it. The move from HTML & CSS to JavaScript is quite quick too and needs to slow down and start off with smaller subjects of JavaScript.

It would also be great if the projects and exercises had a more practical use. HTML CSS and Javascript are used mainly in Web Development and so the course should focus on developing web sites.

автор: Scott A

12 мая 2016 г.

The course is well put together, however they say you do not need any programming background, but you definitely need a little. I had to use other sources to help such as Codeacademy and Udemy just to keep up. The do not go over loops, conditionals or basic C foundation that would help. The leap from HTML, CSS to JavaScript is massive. They need to relook some of the topics and either more videos or add in some easier teaching methods. I took a similar one on Udemy (that was free) just after I completed this one and it was 10x easier to understand and closed so many loops I had when learning JavaScript.

автор: Katerina S

6 июня 2019 г.

50/50. It was my first try to program something and to learn something about HTML, CSS, and javascript. I was motivated only in the first week. Next weeks I felt lost because I could not understand most of the things, I just copied the code from the lectures. Fortunately, my husband is a computer programmer, so he helped and explained to me a lot. I finished this course just because I always finish what I've started.

However, I would like to thank the professors for their work. I would suggest making this course more interactive with peers and instructors and make the tasks more enjoyable.

автор: Kate R

6 нояб. 2015 г.

Introduced me to some cool ideas, web services and ideas for basic web design but isn't really a beginner course. I've switched over to a similar course from University of London.

The lecturers in this course were very stiff and scripted and not overly simplistic in their explanations- something essential to avoid frustrating those of us just starting out. If you want a course that teaches you the basics from the true beginning but doesn't make you feel like you're an idiot for not understanding try Responsive Website Basics from the U of London & Goldsmiths.

автор: Wes L

28 окт. 2021 г.

M​eh

I​ am new to all of the languages listed, but I know Java and Python. First, there was a bit of a problem with the Week 3, where Week 1 was fine, Week 2 is similar to stuff I had done before, but Week 3 was confusing, and CodePen did not work. Week 4 was a little better, only needed one filter template(green) to move things along, but the advanced filters did not work, and kept showing more of that filter. Overall, just take an HTML Basics course before taking this. Maybe just start fresh with the second course in the specialization.

автор: chad n

2 февр. 2020 г.

This was an excellent course, even though i gave it a score of (3)

I am new to programming. The course start at an excellent pace but then shifted where I felt lost most of the time. Maybe, thats just a learning curve for programming but I felt the concepts could have been explained a little better or have better walkthroughs. But that is just because i felt lost and was deeply trying to understand. Most of the time, I understood the concept, but just couldn't write the code.

But still, excellent course. I am moving on to Course 2.

автор: Milena E

6 февр. 2016 г.

The first two weeks the course present a reasonable pace for beginners. The second two weeks, when the Java Script is introduced, the projects suddenly become very hard. It is assumed you understand binary numbers. Coding is introduced without a lot of explanation of Java Script syntax or methods or what actually happens when you write a line of code. The idea of hiding an image within an image is interesting but I do not see that as important for beginners web developers- how is this relevant to building a web site?

автор: Asbiel D R F

30 янв. 2021 г.

Un curso útil para quienes quieren aprender a diseñar pg web y quieran un desafío para programar en javascript con conceptos generales. Sin embargo, en el mundo laboral es INNESESARIO aprender a modificar imágenes como tal, ya que ya existen herramientas que facilitan realizar el trabajo que se hizo en este curso.

este curso se centró demasiado en aplicar modificación de imágenes (filtro verde, aplicar colores, etc.) y dio las bases para programar en javascript de una forma muy complicada para gente novata.

автор: Safiyya N

4 нояб. 2015 г.

This course is divided into 4 weeks. The first two weeks are about CSS and HTML. I started this course as a beginner and was able to keep up with it for the first two weeks. Week three material isn't explained at all and for a beginner, it is very difficult. I wouldn't recommend this course to a beginner at all. What i did like about the course was that the material is organized but that doesnt help if you dont understand what is being taught. I dropped out of this course at week 3. Good Luck.

автор: Carsten H

12 сент. 2017 г.

Underlying concepts are not explained very well and if at all they are mostly not linked to the methods these concepts are realized with. Sometimes there are logical breaks and it looks like different parts of the course have experienced different turns of revision so the course does not like 'made of one piece'. If there are different ways to solve a problem or get around with an assignment explanatory videos with a synopsis of these ways and their upsides and downsides would be nice.

автор: Ahmed Y

27 сент. 2021 г.

The course is not beginner level at all; it requires the student to have prior knowledge starting from week 2. The course takes much time, and it covers a lot of topics which is a good thing. However, in my opinon, most of the topics covered are pretty advanced. Starting week 2, it is not all about pure JavaScript coding because you are required to use the Duke Learning Program Library of the Simple Image which should not be one of the core subjects of the course.

автор: Judith S

14 июля 2020 г.

This course was a very mixed bag, the videos were boring sometimes and don't seem to convey programming concepts very well. The assignments were sometimes fun but took way longer than expected as it was hard to understand the basics from the lectures. Debugging in Duke's own environment was often a nightmare.

I've done one previous course teaching Python a long time ago but that one seemed to me to explain programming concepts in a much more understandable manner.

автор: Shahid Z

30 дек. 2017 г.

This is not a course for beginner. They teaching you how to use their custom libraries instead of fundamentals of java script. I learned javascript in my university 15 years ago and it wasn't that hard to learn that time. :). The instructors seems to be reading script except " Robert Duvall"

Robert Duvall teaching from experience and i like his explanation. I hope next course will be better than the first one.

автор: Lizbeth Y

9 окт. 2020 г.

I liked the course, but I think the videos were missing a little more information. Many of the projects included information not even covered in the videos and we had to figure it out on our own somehow. The course was difficult for me because I had ZERO knowledge of programming, so most of the time (like 80% of the time) I had to get help from the discussion forums. I give 5 stars to the forums tho!

автор: Hui L

21 янв. 2020 г.

I like the fact that course provides the foundation information but the support received is far from sufficient. Most of the time students are on their own. Don't expect to get your questions answered in forums timely. Your best friend is Google. Also the JS file that you would use for your assignment is not reachable and there is no way you could let Duke know about it and fix it. So a big bummer.

автор: Danijela Š

14 апр. 2016 г.

I will give it a 3* review as I really enjoyed and learned a lot in the HTML and CSS part (first 2 weeks), but the java script is really poorly covered. It is too hard and with no "translations" on what the hell is going on. The Duke University team is good and they obviously know what they are doing, but they need to review this course and make it more simpler... :)

автор: Matt J

7 июля 2017 г.

The mini-projects in the course were fairly interesting as you get the opportunity to work with images which even as an experienced programmer is something you may rarely do. However, this course has no reason to be in a specialization on Java programming. Completing this course felt like somewhat of a waste of my time just to check it off for the specialization.

автор: Ryan R

19 янв. 2020 г.

A good course for introduction to concepts, the concepts are not very well flushed out in the lessons and leave the student having to search for other materials to learn the concept well enough to apply it. On the plus side that does help reinforce the material but the amount of time stated in the commitment brief is not correct for this course.

автор: Aanchal

8 окт. 2020 г.

This course is quite useful for the beginners. It gives a quick review about web programming. Teaching of HTML and CSS is very informative but I faced some difficulty in learning Javascript. I suggest you to teach it using codepen as HTML and CSS instead of using Duke Learning Environment initially. For me it was not easy to switch to codepen.

автор: Kaveh V

15 февр. 2016 г.

This course was okay at best. The last two weeks focused too much on image functions and making. While I get that this can be a 'fun and practical' example, it became stale and annoying. It was more stressful than anything else. I really hope the future classes in the Specialization aren't designed in the same way. Variety is not a bad thing.

автор: Yuanlin

1 авг. 2017 г.

It is a good introduction into programming. The lessons are based on projects and is more practical than theoretical. This is also a problem and challenge for those who are complete beginners. I spent way more time in the course than the stipulated time. For those with zero knowledge, you had to rely on other resources to get you through it.

автор: bee

3 нояб. 2020 г.

Several typos in the course threw me off, and there were some concepts and code I had to use that hadn't been directly covered and as someone who needs a strict curriculum I struggled understanding how certain parts of code worked. However I think that the video lesson were really good with explaining concepts without being convoluted.