Chevron Left
Вернуться к Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Computational Thinking for Problem Solving от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.7
Оценки: 346
Рецензии: 115

О курсе

Computational thinking is the process of approaching a problem in a systematic manner and creating and expressing a solution such that it can be carried out by a computer. But you don't need to be a computer scientist to think like a computer scientist! In fact, we encourage students from any field of study to take this course. Many quantitative and data-centric problems can be solved using computational thinking and an understanding of computational thinking will give you a foundation for solving problems that have real-world, social impact. In this course, you will learn about the pillars of computational thinking, how computer scientists develop and analyze algorithms, and how solutions can be realized on a computer using the Python programming language. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an algorithm and express it to the computer by writing a simple Python program. This course will introduce you to people from diverse professions who use computational thinking to solve problems. You will engage with a unique community of analytical thinkers and be encouraged to consider how you can make a positive social impact through computational thinking....

Лучшие рецензии

J

Dec 19, 2018

Excellent course for beginners with enough depth, programming and computational theory to increase their computer science knowledge to a higher level. It builds a good foundation of how computers work

AW

Feb 04, 2019

The course is very well-designed and it helped me develop understand how to apply computational thinking in solving various types of problems as well as acquire basic skills of programming in Python.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 115 отзывов о курсе Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

автор: Maximiliano V

Jul 29, 2019

Great course!

автор: Chaojun L

Aug 03, 2019

Great start and introduction of computational thinking and computer science world!

автор: Masafumi S

Aug 05, 2019

This was my first time to think deeply about programming. I think this is a great course! I would defiantly like to recommend to people.

автор: Alexander P

Aug 03, 2019

Excellent introduction and overview to computer science.

автор: Gaurav K

Aug 11, 2019

A well-structured course to explain computational thinking which can be applied to any complex problem in life (not just IT related). A good lesson on computer architecture to get an understanding on how computers work (was fascinating to know what binary number system means that is used to develop all these complex systems/apps we are surrounded by). It also covers basics of python programming language (Quizzes on them were challenging but exciting part of the course). Look forward to further computer science learning

автор: Darran W

Aug 15, 2019

Great introduction and application of computational thinking and dabbling in Python, the pacing was gradual to build upon the complexity required, and the instructors were both engaging and intellectually honest for this introductory course.

автор: Jennifer M

Aug 19, 2019

The first three weeks of the course were excellent, especially the way in which algorithms are explained. Students then have the opportunity to gain experience via various assignments. The issue for me came in week 4. While the assignments at face value were not overly complex, completing them took more time than they should have. That is due partially to having to conduct research outside of the course materials in order to accomplish the objective. If this was made clear in the instructions it would have been less of an issue. Otherwise, I thoroughly enjoyed the instructors, and the TA was very responsive to questions/problems.

автор: Brandon K

Apr 24, 2019

I really enjoyed the content! It was challenging and encouraged me to think outside the box.

автор: Samuel H

Aug 21, 2019

Surprisingly well organized for the amount of information provided.

автор: VIJAY K R P

Aug 25, 2019

Great course for introduction to computer science.

автор: Bartek

Aug 25, 2019

I highly recommend taking this course, whether you are aspiring to be a developer, looking for a better way to solve problems at your job or school, or are interested in computational thinking. I apply concepts from this course - drawing flow charts and writing pseudocode - at my job as a Salesforce Admin and noticed that I can solve harder problems quicker. The only thing that did not work out for me a couple of times was that assignments are peer-graded. As a result, I failed two assignments on a first try when I was positive that my solutions were correct. If that happens to you, just make sure that you resubmit the assignment and eventually one of the peers who understand your solution will be able to grade it correctly.

Many thanks to the instructors and the team who put this class together!

автор: Kevin T

Aug 23, 2019

This course was very well-planned and is a great refresher to ease back into coding.

автор: Faiyaz K H

Aug 28, 2019

Truly excellent. Perfectly explained and tested.

автор: MH

Sep 02, 2019

This is an excellent course for beginners. As a beginner, I appreciated the focus on fundamentals before tackling programming projects. The Python exercises were particularly helpful to me as a beginner: they illustrated the fundamentals and gave me great practice with computational thinking and debugging. I also appreciate the course's emphasis on real-life applications of computing.

автор: Ed V

Sep 07, 2019

Well designed and engaging - great course!

автор: Tanner S

Sep 08, 2019

Great introduction to computer science.

автор: Takahisa H

Sep 09, 2019

well organized program and it is also life changing online educational too!

автор: Xinyi C

Sep 11, 2019

In the course, I learned how to solve real world problems with computational thinking principles. I feel that I have accomplished a lot since I was able to write a python program solving a complex problem after this course.

автор: Siddharth B

Sep 17, 2019

Amazing and challenging course.

автор: Patrick T R

Sep 18, 2019

Great course for beginning a journey into computer science!

автор: Lluc R S

Jan 18, 2019

Useful course taught at an adequate rate. I recommend it for people who are interested in learning the basics of computational thinking, i.e. a systematic approach to problem-solving.

автор: Renée F

Mar 08, 2019

could benefit from more active assistance with assignments, especially section 4

автор: Robert K

Mar 25, 2019

Great course. Good mixture of video lectures, quizzes, and peer graded assignments. Four stars because in some of the assignments it was unclear as to what was being asked or required until you saw the rubric for the first time. I think some items that were asked for in the rubrics were not obvious/inferable from the prompts.

автор: jenn

Jun 25, 2019

Overall, great. However, I think the programming assignments were too hard to just do right off of the lectures. Needed extra research.

автор: Joseph R

Jun 28, 2019

The course is great. I learned a lot. The support for the course is SUPER slow. It's hard to get any direct help for any questions or issues that you are having. Beware of assignment 4.7!