Chevron Left
Вернуться к Basic Statistics

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Basic Statistics от партнера Амстердамский университет

4.7
Оценки: 2,359
Рецензии: 606

О курсе

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

Лучшие рецензии

PG

Apr 21, 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.\n\nPlease allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

CD

Mar 06, 2016

This course is really awesome. Designed well. Looks like a lot of efforts have been taken by the team to build this course. Kudos to everyone. Keep up the good work and thank you very much.

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 587 отзывов о курсе Basic Statistics

автор: Saurav V

Feb 08, 2016

Absolutely great start for statistics with R. Not too heavy in time, not too light. Amazingly curated course.

автор: Charudatta D

Mar 06, 2016

This course is really awesome. Designed well. Looks like a lot of efforts have been taken by the team to build this course. Kudos to everyone. Keep up the good work and thank you very much.

автор: Shuwen Y

Jul 09, 2016

great intro class to statistics. Love the animation, teaching style and R lab exercises. The first class in coursera that video content and quiz are relevant. Highly recommended!!!

автор: abdulelah a

Jan 15, 2016

Perfect material, Perfect instructors, and perfect course!

автор: Milad

Feb 07, 2017

it was truly helpful! thank you guys!

автор: Rahul M

Mar 12, 2016

Awesome Course for Beginners in Statistics as they clear examples for whatever they are teaching us. I love Coursera.

автор: chiara m

Jan 17, 2016

A difficult subject made easy and interesting.

I wish there more exercise to practise home in order to master the concepts.

автор: Salim T

Jan 15, 2017

Outstanding courses, may be the best one that I ever seen on Coursera.org!

Thank you!

автор: Artem R

Jan 07, 2016

Have recently passed the first week and I should say that was awesome!

автор: ANKIT S

Mar 15, 2016

Hey its really fun to learn statistics this way. Great Job!

автор: Serimbetov Z

Sep 12, 2017

The course covers the essentials of statistics with really interesting and engaging examples!

автор: Shehjar k

Mar 18, 2016

Great explanation with real world examples! My basics of probability and inferential statistics are rock solid now!

автор: Andrei

Apr 22, 2017

Very easy to comprehend course. Both presenters put extra effort in relaying the material and introducing comical relief along the way. I can say now that I understand more above z-scores and t-scores that I ever did at university! I would highly recommend the course for anyone feeling a bit scared than facing statistical information

автор: Amanda W

Dec 05, 2017

A truly fantastic course in statistics.

автор: Pierre B

Sep 25, 2016

Interesting course to refresh my basics in statistics. Professors are engaged and uses simple example to present the concepts.

автор: Yaroslav S

May 26, 2016

IT is simply the best course i have seen here !

Well done !! It would be great to see some other courses like this! A big + to Universty of Amsterdam!

автор: Güneycan S

Jul 11, 2016

Intuitive, clear, neither too fast nor too slow.. easy to follow

автор: Maryluz H

Oct 15, 2017

It is a great course. I don't have much experience or knowledge in statistics, but I found it useful. I still need to review concepts that are still not clear, but the professors are good in the explanations and examples. I wish I had had more time for everything, and didn't have to rush because of the payment.

Thanks for the great course!

автор: Pedro H d F

Dec 29, 2016

excellent!

автор: bellahuang

Mar 02, 2016

I like these two lecturers!

автор: Muhammad Z S

Jan 06, 2016

good course

автор: Maya S

Aug 12, 2016

I sucked at math in high school, but this course is making me love math again. Excellent job, Amsterdam Uni.

автор: Ariane A

Apr 22, 2016

Great and clear videos, they make it very easy to understand all the concepts even if you don't know anything about the topic. The R-lab assignments are a great tool for getting usedt to working with what you have learned.

автор: Keith C

Jul 05, 2018

I got to know about this course as it was a prerequisite for a MS in Business Analytics program I will be joining this Fall. I do have some background in this subject due to a previous masters degree, as well as work experience, but this course was an extremely helpful refresher of the basic concepts that one needs to know. What I liked most about this course was the crisp explanations provided in the instructional videos; without taking too much time in delivering the required message. I also liked the fact that the quizzes focused more on testing the understanding of the concept rather than expecting me to perform complicated multi-page calculations. Would recommend this as a very useful starting point for others like me. It would be helpful if some kind of a diagnostic exam was added at the start of the course so that students of different backgrounds could assess if they're ready for the course or not.

автор: Andres G

Dec 10, 2017

The best statistic course