Chevron Left
Вернуться к Basic Statistics

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Basic Statistics от партнера Амстердамский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 2,477
Рецензии: 633

О курсе

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

Лучшие рецензии

PG

Apr 21, 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.\n\nPlease allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

CD

Mar 06, 2016

This course is really awesome. Designed well. Looks like a lot of efforts have been taken by the team to build this course. Kudos to everyone. Keep up the good work and thank you very much.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 612 отзывов о курсе Basic Statistics

автор: Susan M

Jun 23, 2016

Uses R with no explanation. Why does it use a challenging programming language that is not the point. The point is to learn statistics.

Use Statcrunch - so students can focus on statistics not programming

автор: Keith C

Jul 05, 2018

I got to know about this course as it was a prerequisite for a MS in Business Analytics program I will be joining this Fall. I do have some background in this subject due to a previous masters degree, as well as work experience, but this course was an extremely helpful refresher of the basic concepts that one needs to know. What I liked most about this course was the crisp explanations provided in the instructional videos; without taking too much time in delivering the required message. I also liked the fact that the quizzes focused more on testing the understanding of the concept rather than expecting me to perform complicated multi-page calculations. Would recommend this as a very useful starting point for others like me. It would be helpful if some kind of a diagnostic exam was added at the start of the course so that students of different backgrounds could assess if they're ready for the course or not.

автор: Alejandro N J

Jun 23, 2016

Excellent MOOC. A great introduction to the basic elements of statistics. I had studied statistics years ago in my bachelor but almost forgot everything. This course greatly helped me revive all the elementary concepts. The teachers explain complex things in simple terms easy to follow, and the funny examples have brought a smile to my face more than once and twice during the MOOC. Finally, the collaboration with professional illustrators adds great value to the course. A big deal of effort has gone into its making, and it truly pays off. I just wished there'd be an intermediate and advanced statistics course to keep digging into it!

Thanks a lot!

Alejandro

автор: Stacy H

Jun 30, 2016

I hadn't touched math in any real way in years and this was a great re-introduction. The videos were fun and engaging, and while the material was challenging, I felt I got a lot out of it. I highly recommend it for people who need statistics for their work or for a degree program but who are feeling a little intimidated by it.

As far as feedback goes, I would have liked to get explanations for quiz questions I couldn't answer. I wish there was a way to say, "This is the quiz score I'd like to accept; now please explain to me the ones I missed." The lack of feedback on the quizzes was frustrating at times.

автор: gerald k

Apr 19, 2016

This is a great course. It was challenging but not discouraging. I think that there is a high probability that I learned something very useful. Now that I have said the most important words now I would like to give a thumbs down on the Data Camp R section. I found it to be frustrating and discouraging. You can find better information and tutorials on YouTube. Check out"MarinStatsLectures. A text book is also a great help. I bought Elementary Statistics at a used book store for $4.00 US. And it correlated very nicely with the course. If you are interested in statistics this course is a good first step.

автор: Jacob S

Jun 18, 2016

Really a great introductory course. I am a real beginner in statistics, since I need it to make it easier for my self at data mining and machine learning in the future, this course gives me a solid basic understanding of terminology, calculations and relationships between calculations. Week 3 and 4 are pretty hard in my opinion, but after doing the course learning how to learn I know how to handle it, so I will recommend everybody to do that one also if you think this looks too difficult for you.

автор: Aurangazeeb A K

Jan 06, 2019

One of the best courses on Coursera and I'm saying this with an experience of 10+ courses on Coursera. The teaching strategy is brand new, with some surprises from the awesome teachers ! Statistics now feels like child's-play. Thank you University of Amsterdam for making this amazing course. The animations gives a fresh feel towards the concepts. After starting this class, I'm more curious and passionate about statistics. One more thing, be ready for a surprise at the first video of week 6.

автор: Elena K

Sep 30, 2016

A really great course. Simple to follow and understand, but provides insights into the basics of statistics. Almost no math which is good news for non-experts and makes the course more accessible for a broader audience. The lecturers explain the intuition behind the fundamental things in statistics, which I find very important before studying the statistical tests (inferential statistics). Feels like it opened my eyes.

Thank you very much Matthijs Rooduijn and Emiel van Loon!

автор: Leitha M

Feb 27, 2016

I've always had a rough time with mathematics, but the way this course is structured makes it easy for me to go at my own pace, re-watch videos that were confusing the first time through and work through problems until I really felt like I understand how the formulas work. The consistent use of exercises in R were extremely useful as well. I'd highly recommend this course and learning system for people like me, who never thought they'd be able to grasp mathematics.

автор: Alexander M

Aug 08, 2017

Thank you for the instruction and clear overview for this course. Coming from a HR standpoint (where ocassionally Statistics are a must) it was easy to follow the chapters week by week. As in any course there were some challenging sections to redo or retry but great learning and application to the real world. Highly recommend for anyone in a math background or looking to improve a skill set in numbers.

автор: Eric M E

Mar 22, 2016

Simple explanations that make the topic rather easy to learn and having a visual aid (the drawings) I find it to be so much more friendly that I've really come to enjoy what I'm learning (I'm mostly a visual learner so to me this is very good). So far it has been a great course with R labs that can help reinforce the ideas and give a bit more practice in the subject, I do recommend the course.

автор: SRI R R

Mar 02, 2016

This is a very informative and good course for beginners who wants to explore basic statistics along with R lab. Ofcourse, I felt little tought when i tried to do R lab but finally got it!! Overall course was very informative and would definitely recoment for those who wants to learn statistics

thanks for professors and the team of University of Amsterdam for conducting this course.

автор: Dorien H

Mar 09, 2016

Very good course, the explanations are made very accessible through understandable and sometimes funny examples.

Learned many of new things, despite having finished a course on statistics in my university. Especially the R component helped me greatly; despite already having some experience, the datacamp modules were very helpful.

Oh, and great Dutch accents :)

автор: Chitvan K P

Jul 01, 2018

Excellent starter for learning statistics. Looking forward to learn Inferential Statistics next. This course covers a wide variety of material ranging from basic Probability Distributions to Formulating and Testing hypothesis, confidence intervals and regression methods. Great starter to stats and looking forward to learn Inferential stats too.

автор: Maryluz H

Oct 15, 2017

It is a great course. I don't have much experience or knowledge in statistics, but I found it useful. I still need to review concepts that are still not clear, but the professors are good in the explanations and examples. I wish I had had more time for everything, and didn't have to rush because of the payment.

Thanks for the great course!

автор: Jimmy

Nov 29, 2017

One of the best lecture I've ever attended online! Although sometime the pace was a bit off, yet overall this course has offered enough coverage and clear examples for basic stuff. Great sense of humour for the lecturer (Matthijs Rooduijn) also helped in making this course to be not such a boring subject. Well done, keep up the good work!

автор: Jorge A A B

Apr 26, 2016

Excelente curso, muy bien explicado a traves de una manera clara e intuitiva, dando razon a cada uno de los conceptos utilizados en la estadistica. Conocer los conceptos estadisticos, asi como su significado, calculo y uso, no solamente mejora el analisis cientifico sino ademas la capacidad de comunicacion dentro del comunidad cientifica.

автор: Andrei

Apr 22, 2017

Very easy to comprehend course. Both presenters put extra effort in relaying the material and introducing comical relief along the way. I can say now that I understand more above z-scores and t-scores that I ever did at university! I would highly recommend the course for anyone feeling a bit scared than facing statistical information

автор: Kate W

Mar 04, 2016

I never thought I would learn so much so quickly in a math course. The course moves fast, but being able to rewind the videos and repeat anything I don't understand is really helpful! I love the applicability of what I'm learning, and my ability to take notes and practice everything on the quizzes makes the information stick.

автор: pkavpro

Jul 01, 2019

I would like to thank you all professors and those who participates in creating this amazing course. It helped me a lot in building basic knowledge about statistics. The course is very well structured with clear & easy-to-understand content. I highly recommend this course for those who starts learning statistics.

автор: xavier C

Jan 07, 2017

This course is very well prepared, thanks to the video and the commitments of the 2 teachers,

There is also a good balance between Theory and Practice (usage of R).

I do already use the learning of this course in my daily job (data & analytics)

Good job and thank you to the entire team who has prepared this course.

автор: Lai K C

Feb 11, 2016

Both of the lecturers as well as the staff are excellent in making the learning simple, exciting and interesting. I have learned so much about statistics in so short a time with effectiveness and efficiency. Thanks for the excellent work. And all of you have made University of Amsterdam proud and stand tall.

автор: Gregorio A A P

Jul 07, 2017

Un super curso , excelente y felicitaciones por vuestro gran trabajo, pero es muy triste no poder disfrutar al 100% un curso de esta calidad traducido en el idioma español, les pido por favor si fueran tan gentiles de acceder a esta humilde petición, gracias por anticipado y nuevamente felicitaciones.

автор: Alireza N

Jan 05, 2016

I found this course very helpful and understandable ...The slides are very beautiful designed ..I had never learnt Statistics in this way! The examples are related to our daily life! It makes everything easier to learn... Thank you very much all who works on this course from University of Amsterdam

автор: Daniela A B M

Jan 08, 2018

I hadn't studied Statistics for over 22 years, and I am very grateful that I did it through this course. While I had to spend more time than I had anticipated going over the materials (due to my lack of practice), I did found the lectures and materials were well prepared and didactic. Thank you!!