Chevron Left
Вернуться к Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Mastering Data Analysis in Excel от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.2
звезд
Оценки: 3,827
Рецензии: 931

О курсе

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

Лучшие рецензии

TB

16 нояб. 2021 г.

I like and appreciate courses provided through Coursera.This course is very interesting and valuable for those whose jobs do have relevance with data management .God bless Coursera and Duke University

JE

30 окт. 2015 г.

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

Фильтр по:

801–825 из 912 отзывов о курсе Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

автор: Abdullah A M A

8 июля 2016 г.

The title is misleading .

This course has a little to do with excel , you could get some mathematical information but I do not think you will master anything

автор: Kim C

30 окт. 2015 г.

The transition is from easy to advanced. It gets really confusing, not sure if it's just me. I am not following the lessons anymore so I left the course.

автор: Steph L

2 мая 2016 г.

I found Week 2: Binary Classification really confusing. It was just not clear. Specifics were not given. Definitions were not given. Poorly instructed.

автор: Nagraj N

16 апр. 2018 г.

Course material is too heavy for a beginner. I would not be able to continue. For a new comer it is an heavy stuff taught like a brushing up course.

автор: Patricio L M

27 мая 2018 г.

Significant difference between the material covered during the class period and the examinations. It could be improved considerably. Thank you.

автор: Daniel R C

23 нояб. 2015 г.

Great idea. Unfortunately, the course is young and there were too many bugs to get past Week 2. Hopefully these will be finished my next session

автор: Kentaro H

9 авг. 2017 г.

Very confusing. I passed this course but I felt like I didn't learn too much. I think they should include prerequisite for this course.

автор: Jeffrey J

18 окт. 2020 г.

Was quite advanced and the topics weren't explained as well as I expected them to be .Overall, the course was below average.

автор: Michelle V

28 мар. 2016 г.

I found much of this material wasn't as applicable to excel analysis as hoped and didn't cover many of the analysis tools

автор: Gabriela M

15 февр. 2020 г.

Este curso tiene mal el titulo, no trata sobre excel en absoluto, sino mas bien es un curso sobre matemáticas.

автор: Brianna B

4 авг. 2020 г.

The instruction was lackluster and left a lot of details out, filled with mistakes that were fixed in post.

автор: Jairo S

11 мар. 2019 г.

The course is poorly structured, taking a lot of effort to decipher what is required in the assignments.

автор: Alfonso F

7 мая 2017 г.

Some hard statistical/mathematical concepts with little explanation. Bad pacing and confusing structure.

автор: Hassaan K

12 янв. 2016 г.

Content not discussed in proper detail. Instructor skims over the concepts. Its difficult to follow.

автор: Wings S Q

25 сент. 2016 г.

I'm here learning Excel skills, but this course, especially week 2, does not teach Excel skills.

автор: Eric M

26 апр. 2021 г.

This course is more advanced than a college stats class with not much explanation. Be prepared.

автор: Lidiya N

12 нояб. 2017 г.

Not enough examples on how to actually do the complicated assignment at the end of the course.

автор: Jaya S

26 февр. 2016 г.

To course got tougher every week while the lecture video is not cover everything.

автор: 何泽林

12 апр. 2019 г.

There are some problems with the spreadsheet, which cost me truly a lot of time.

автор: Jeffrey K

5 февр. 2021 г.

Not enough instructor examples to look at and work through prior to the quiz.

автор: Kong L

21 янв. 2016 г.

This course is mostly theory based and certainly not what i am expected!

автор: Bria M

16 авг. 2020 г.

Video lessons did not prepare students for the homework assignments.

автор: Nazish K

3 мар. 2016 г.

This is definitely not a course for beginners .

автор: Achilleas B

19 окт. 2020 г.

Hoping that next courses will be more useful.

автор: Edward J B

28 нояб. 2019 г.

Not what i expected for my analysis via excel