Chevron Left
Вернуться к Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Mastering Data Analysis in Excel от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.2
звезд
Оценки: 3,829
Рецензии: 931

О курсе

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

Лучшие рецензии

TB

16 нояб. 2021 г.

I like and appreciate courses provided through Coursera.This course is very interesting and valuable for those whose jobs do have relevance with data management .God bless Coursera and Duke University

JE

30 окт. 2015 г.

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

Фильтр по:

676–700 из 912 отзывов о курсе Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

автор: Isabel F

23 июля 2020 г.

I think that this course was a great overview, but it wasn't that clear on how it all tied together and i don't think there was enough practice given.

автор: Luis F

26 февр. 2018 г.

It is great for learning statistics, but not so much Excel. Also, it doesn't prepare you very well for the final project, so pay attention to class!

автор: Alejandro A

28 мая 2018 г.

Week 4 is chaotic, it leaves much to be desired. It's quality is far a way from what it could be expected for a course endorsed by Duke University.

автор: Oyeyinka I

27 сент. 2016 г.

Course only drilled down on specific aspects of excel that were inclined to regression analysis which is just one aspect used in business analysis

автор: Bharath P R

20 июня 2020 г.

I found it difficult to understand some concepts and felt like some of the concepts required for some assignments were not covered deeply enough.

автор: CHEO Y K

17 янв. 2016 г.

This course is good, but I feel it's too difficult. It would be good to suggest 'optional' prerequisite course if there is any. Thanks Dr. Egger.

автор: Steve A

26 мар. 2021 г.

The course is good. However, the name might be slightly misleading since the major emphasis is on statistics and probability, rather than Excel.

автор: Yiran Y

22 авг. 2019 г.

The scribble of the calculation is not helpful for learning. Would like to know more about how to build the models in excel through the videos.

автор: abderrahim a

24 дек. 2016 г.

Good material but short explanation and no detail exercises and solution practices before the final test makes the test a bite hard to resolve.

автор: Maryam A

12 июля 2020 г.

I am a student with a computer background. The course was good but for me, I needed more explanations on statistics and business metrics.

автор: Paul J L J

20 авг. 2017 г.

Needs a more cohesive approach. Topics seems to be unorganized and don't follow a good pattern. Concepts taught are very helpful though.

автор: 杨珺

17 апр. 2016 г.

This course has a lot to do with math and statistics and I find it really hard to follow especially when it comes to the final project.

автор: Viv

1 апр. 2020 г.

Quiz is very difficult without mentor explainations, lots of stuff wasn't covered in lecture videos. Honestly a very frustrating class

автор: José L

12 окт. 2017 г.

The title of this course does not suggest the topics that are covered in this course. Anyway, the topics covered are useful .

автор: Harish N

4 апр. 2020 г.

A little more emphasis should be given to the explanation of basic concepts so that beginners can also understand it easily.

автор: Weiliang P

29 дек. 2015 г.

The whole course has very little about excel, rather about aweful a lot of data models. The course title is very misleading.

автор: Despoina E

3 февр. 2016 г.

It's quite interesting, but definitely not a beginners one. I'm put off quite a bit by the exclusively financial examples

автор: Milan M

21 янв. 2016 г.

after the second week I droped this course...I thought it will include excel and economics knowledge but was very wrong..

автор: Avulapati N

21 авг. 2020 г.

The course content is great and the instructor also explained concepts well!

The course assignments are outdated tough.

автор: subramanian a

9 янв. 2016 г.

The later part of the sessions lacks practical applicability and it is more abstract, that I find difficult to relate

автор: Rotimi

7 мая 2016 г.

It's too advanced for people with no experience in statistics and sometimes too abstract to relate with

автор: B. A N

2 июля 2020 г.

The course was informative but needed more examples to understand the concepts like the final example.

автор: Camilo E S C

19 янв. 2020 г.

Really bored... now, I want to change and they charge me more for that. what a bad service, just money

автор: Izayas R J

22 февр. 2016 г.

The importance of this course is huge. However, I did miss better explanation from some topics...

автор: Santiago Y A

1 авг. 2016 г.

It's more statistics than Excel itself, wich is good but I think the name doesn't fit to it