Chevron Left
Вернуться к Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Mastering Data Analysis in Excel от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.2
звезд
Оценки: 3,827
Рецензии: 931

О курсе

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

Лучшие рецензии

TB

16 нояб. 2021 г.

I like and appreciate courses provided through Coursera.This course is very interesting and valuable for those whose jobs do have relevance with data management .God bless Coursera and Duke University

JE

30 окт. 2015 г.

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

Фильтр по:

651–675 из 912 отзывов о курсе Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

автор: Ali H A

14 февр. 2016 г.

This course did not live up to its potential.

The course should be retitled as an "Intro to Statistics" not learning functions and visualizations on excel.

I still have three stars because I at least picked up some useful concepts from it.

автор: Cynthia N

7 февр. 2016 г.

Great class, however I felt it was very heavy on statistics and math concepts versus how to use Excel for data analysis. I would've liked to see some strategies on how to analyze large datasets, look for trends, and clean up bad data.

автор: Lieselot D

17 июля 2018 г.

The course was challenging and I learnt a lot. Some more practical exercises would have been helpful for me. Now everything came together in the peer graded assignment, where I missed some professional feedback to learn from.

автор: Bích L N

10 мар. 2016 г.

The attendants might already have a good foundation of econometric and probability statistics before taking this course. Some definitions might be difficult to understand especially how it would be applied in real life.

автор: Edward J

15 окт. 2020 г.

A very challenging course with a lot of very heavy maths at times. I found Daniel very engaging and he is obviously very passionate about his field. However, some of the instructions were ambiguous or unclear at times.

автор: Hazel H

29 дек. 2017 г.

so many materials need to read, feel loss patience. but in general, the course is useful. hope can reduce part of the material, no one can stand after 5 or 10 min's video, another 5 or 10 mins reading come along with.

автор: Yuting W

5 авг. 2018 г.

The tool and the video don't relate very tight.The tool costs me a lot of time.By the way ,for the Quiz 4, I totally can't get the results for the quiz.I found someone in the discussion met the same problem.

автор: Felipe B

1 февр. 2021 г.

Content in ok, but the format of the class it's screaming for a redo. This is not an easy topic, and the lectures are a little hard to follow. I learned more doing the final assignment and googling a lot.

автор: AASHISH P

5 дек. 2020 г.

This course very useful for people who are looking to make a career in Data analysis. It is quite difficult to understand the course for beginners as the teaching could have been in more easy language.

автор: Skyler M

4 авг. 2016 г.

This course is very challenging. I may not have had the proper background in mathematics to full absorb the material. Similarly I may have to busy of a lifestyle to have properly focused on this class.

автор: John E P

9 авг. 2018 г.

This course was very informative, but in my opinion it has a very steep learning curve. The course takes some very steep jumps from basic concepts to building binary models with out a lot or guidance.

автор: Pylo N

24 окт. 2020 г.

The course is not bad, however, the final assignment is not explained sufficiently. Instructors should provide a more clear approach and information given that this course is for beginners as well!

автор: Dove

7 дек. 2018 г.

Too much math makes it difficult to comprehend. I like week 1, basic excel also practical and easy to understand. But after week 1 everything becomes super confusing... The frustration is real.

автор: Qinwei W

9 июля 2017 г.

This requries you other mathmatic or stastical background. So when you choose this course, you need check if you have master these knowledge. Otherwise this course will be so hard to you.

автор: Andrés A S N

14 июля 2020 г.

The concepts that this course offers are extremely interesting and useful, however I think some of them are not fully explained, so you might have to do more research on your own.

автор: Bader A A

21 окт. 2019 г.

the data in this course is more as methodology than descriptive, he should have explained more about the real use of methods in data analysis because you will stuck a lot

автор: Ketaki N

26 июля 2020 г.

Lectures were good, but directions and guidance for quizzes and project had some knowledge gaps, had to utilize outside resources to understand complete certain concepts

автор: Zuoren P

28 июня 2016 г.

Quiz does not require hands-on experience of creating templates but rather simply plugging in numbers. Students may forget most of the content after finishing the quiz.

автор: Вера З

24 июня 2020 г.

The course is good, but in some aspects over-complicated. I requires deep understanding in statistics and give not many insight regarding the Excel functionality

автор: Mustafa F A

28 июля 2019 г.

not easy and enough documents. It does not teach excel. Excel is a bait for the ones who want to learn excel. The name should have been mastering data analysis

автор: Eduardo L G

31 дек. 2015 г.

The course gives you interesting analysis tools, but the title suggests you are going to learn new Excel tools, and you actually use it at a very low level.

автор: kuldeep s

20 авг. 2016 г.

Getting more theoretical and less practical application on Excel application. Advanced Data interpretation and solving methods information can be included.

автор: Dat L

25 мар. 2016 г.

It was hard to follow along with the lessons, because it was mainly present in formulas. More examples might help students relate the information better.

автор: Apostolos Z

29 июня 2020 г.

Nice working material, however lectures don't go into deep, so you have to do a lot of research on your own and figure out what's going on in many cases

автор: Runchen L

22 авг. 2016 г.

Not so good. The course explains mathematical models and Excel applications but both are not detailed. There are many mistakes in PPTs and assignments.