Chevron Left
Вернуться к Understanding Obesity

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Understanding Obesity от партнера Эдинбургский университет

4.6
stars
Оценки: 225
Рецензии: 59

О курсе

In this course, we’ll look at the facts and misconceptions around obesity and discuss key physiological and psychological concepts around the brain’s control of appetite and body weight. We’ll consider the biological and environmental pressures that make it easy to gain weight (and hard to lose it!). Most importantly, we'll give you the opportunity to reflect on your own knowledge and assumptions around the subject. We deliver course materials as a mixture of videos, audio-only MOOCcasts, and a selection of short readings. There are short weekly quizzes, a peer-reviewed exercise, and discussion activities on the forum. These will help you prepare for the final project. In it, you are invited to demonstrate your evidence-informed understanding and express how you'll develop it beyond the course. The course features Citizen Science projects. We'll collect data from you (anonymously, of course) and use it to drive participant-led discussions of controversial ideas. In this way, we hope to explore ideas around diet and obesity. These projects also give a taste of how scientific evidence is collected and interpreted by scientists, and give some indication how much there still is to discover and understand....

Лучшие рецензии

AD

Aug 19, 2017

Very well addressed from different aspects. Helped forming a solid foundation to address the obesity problem as well as to make good food choices with portion control.

RR

Aug 15, 2017

this is very good course, helped me think about well being not just health. hope to see more courses from the Mr Menzies. thanks!

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 58 отзывов о курсе Understanding Obesity

автор: Deleted A

Aug 20, 2017

This course explained how the physiological, psychological, and the environment play apart of being overweight and obese and how the brain's reward system is the key on why people gained the weight. Obesity is more than just overeating. It's the science behind. Overeating can be caused the brain's reward system or stress or how portion sizes differ greatly from place to place or even from when a person was in their mother's utero. This is a course that goes into great detail to understand what obesity really is and why it is becoming an epidemic problem worldwide. This is a great class for anyone who wants to learn more about and even want to be able to help fix this global issue.

автор: Alicia C L

May 17, 2018

I really enjoyed it. This course it was very useful.

I learned how obesity it is more than a healthy problem it is also a economic problem and we need to create new policies and be more aware about this epidemic illness.

It helping me to modify my habits and be more careful with my food choices.

автор: David H

Jul 26, 2019

A wonderful course that allowed me to develop a deeper understanding of the causes and solutions to weight problems in general. The very accessible presentation of a lot of complex ideas and the writing assignments really made me see things differently!

автор: Ibrahim M f

Apr 13, 2018

Its was been a great journey in the healthy life style, healthy cooking, learner too much great information in the nutritional value and habit. hop the great for instructor and for universety in feature same topic courses ..

автор: Lillian L

Aug 14, 2017

This course really helped me to understand obesity. It showed me why obesity is such a problem in our modern world. It made me think about how I can help people to eat healthily.

Thanks, Coursera, for this great course!

автор: Amit D

Aug 19, 2017

Very well addressed from different aspects. Helped forming a solid foundation to address the obesity problem as well as to make good food choices with portion control.

автор: Eva L

Aug 25, 2017

Este curso ha sido una nueva experiencia para mi. Me ha cambiado la forma de entender a la obesidad y ha ampliado mucgisimo mi conocimiento. Muchisimas gracias.

автор: Rajendr R

Aug 15, 2017

this is very good course, helped me think about well being not just health. hope to see more courses from the Mr Menzies. thanks!

автор: Luisa S

May 07, 2018

This course was very helpful for me. I learn a lot and now Im implementing all the things that I learned here.

автор: Pucci A

Aug 16, 2017

Really interesting course. It explains the complexity of obesity and proposes some ways to treat the problem.

автор: A B

Aug 21, 2017

Really useful and interesting approach of the psychology and biology of obesity! Thanks a lot!

автор: Prateek D

Jan 11, 2020

Covers the neurological and psychological aspects which lead to obesity and often overlooked.

автор: MALEBOGO R

Dec 06, 2019

THIS WAS VERY INFORMATIVE AND IT WILL HELP ME DEAL WITH OBESITY WHICH IS A PROBLEM TO MANY.

автор: Farida A

Sep 23, 2018

I loved how they talk about obesity from global view and epidemic, not just as individuals.

автор: vaishali s

Dec 26, 2017

Helped me a lot in understanding not just physiological but psychological aspects too.

автор: Shahriar A

Jan 04, 2018

very much informative , engaging but not enough money to get paid for the certificate

автор: Maureen W

May 06, 2018

Excellent. The order of content, the stacking of logic, the professor. Thank you!

автор: Saadiya Y

Sep 22, 2017

Very interesting! Insightful understanding to the problem of obesity.

автор: Dr. S B

Aug 12, 2017

the course is rich, informative and the best thing is evidence based

автор: Jekaterina

Jul 29, 2017

Thank you for the curse. I started to understand more about obesity.

автор: zeynep

Aug 24, 2017

Im learning a good data hear , thank you for everything !

автор: Dra. F L M

Jan 26, 2017

Excellent! it is easy, practical an simple. Love it.

автор: Johanna R

Nov 01, 2018

Excellent, easy to follow and interesting course!

автор: Natalia S

Nov 28, 2019

Amazing course that reveals truth about obesity

автор: Siarhei D

May 13, 2018

Very informative and useful for wide audience.