Chevron Left
Вернуться к The Blues: Understanding and Performing an American Art Form

Отзывы учащихся о курсе The Blues: Understanding and Performing an American Art Form от партнера Рочестерский университет

4.8
stars
Оценки: 370
Рецензии: 148

О курсе

The blues is an American art form and the most important musical form in jazz. Although there are other formal paradigms of the blues, such as 8-bar or 16-bar, this course focuses on different incarnations of the 12-bar blues. There are considerable differences between Early Jazz blues, Swing blues, Bebop blues, Modal blues, and Post Bop blues. Each type has its unique harmonic syntax, melodic vocabulary and, associated with them, improvisational techniques. While other aspects of jazz performance practice have been constantly changing from one stylistic convention to another, the blues has never lost its identity and expressive power, and continues to exert a powerful influence on the harmonic and melodic syntax of jazz. This seven-week course explores important aspects of the blues, blues improvisation, basic keyboard textures, jazz harmonic and melodic syntax. Topics include: (1) Blues Progressions; (2) Blues and Other Scales; (3) Improvisational Tools, and others. This course will also cover valuable theoretical concepts enabling the student to master the art of jazz improvisation. Each topic will be introduced from a practical perspective with the clearly stated goal: to improve one’s improvisational skills. Jazz improvisation is rooted in spontaneity, creativity, self-expression and, at the same time, self-control and order. A unique pedagogical approach based on a one-to-one musical interaction conducted with different instrumentalists will help to reinforce many of the concepts introduced in this course and realize its stated objectives....

Лучшие рецензии

DZ

Mar 04, 2017

This is very practical and useful course. I really learned something from it! I love this courser and I strongly recommend this course to everyone who is fascinated in Blues.

JJ

Sep 18, 2017

Thanks so much to all involved - I found the material to be clearly presented and rich in content. It really helped me to understand how to grow in my jazz exploration.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 145 отзывов о курсе The Blues: Understanding and Performing an American Art Form

автор: Pavel T

Dec 29, 2017

I expected to see the content different from what was in the course but nevertheless it was great. Quite challenging, more jazz then blues, in my opinion, but a lot of great ideas and techniques for improvisation.

автор: Anne E

Jun 03, 2017

Excellent teacher; a delight to take the lessons and absorb the concepts involved in improving my improvisation skills. Many thanks; I'm thrilled to have had the opportunity to take this very worthy course.

автор: Jack

Sep 18, 2017

Thanks so much to all involved - I found the material to be clearly presented and rich in content. It really helped me to understand how to grow in my jazz exploration.

автор: Sandro V O d M

Apr 02, 2017

Thanks a lot, Dariusz Terefenko! You are a terrific teaching and outstanding musician! This course changed the way I thought about music, it really made the difference!

автор: Marek J

Jun 27, 2016

Very good course for all musicians. Explains advanced blues and jazz theory in easy way. Very interesting material about the music history and harmony evaluation.

автор: Christos H

Jul 13, 2017

(my-spacebar-does-not-work)---anyway-excellent-course-tought-by-a-knowledgable-instructor.-A-tremendous-amount-of-information-and-insight.-Highly-recommended.

автор: Dmitry A

Dec 31, 2016

The most interesting and complete course about the blues I've have ever seen! Structured, clear and very kind form of teaching. Thank you, Dariusz!

автор: Jordi F

Jun 30, 2017

All you need to know about how blues works. You won't be a blues musician after seven weeks but you've got a big step in the way to got it.

автор: Massiel

May 15, 2019

Very nice and genial course. I learned some new aspects i didnot know or which i had dute. More course like this please. Thank very much

автор: Lekhan

May 08, 2016

Excellent content and faculty ! thoroughly enjoying it : )

Thanks a lot to all who have worked towadrds making this material available

автор: Herman J V

Jun 25, 2018

Very well explained, step by step, increasing difficulty and suitable for different levels of music theory knowledge. Great teacher.

автор: John P

Dec 04, 2016

Compact and informative lectures that de-mystify the art form. Thank you!

(Will need to practice a lot for it all to sink in though)

автор: Catherine C

Oct 27, 2017

Everything is clearly explained and demonstrated. It was great being able to downloads course videos and transcripts for reference.

автор: Acid P S C

Feb 26, 2017

A very comprehensive course with clear explanation on the various type of the progressions and scales used in Jazz and Blues music.

автор: Izzy R

Oct 05, 2017

Very well planned and presented course. The instructor was clear and paced the material just right (at least for me!). Thank you.

автор: Richard M

Jan 25, 2017

This is a GREAT course. There is absolutely a wealth of knowledge that you can build on for a lifetime of jazz and blues! 5 stars

автор: Hirokuni T

Mar 19, 2018

Good course.

It is analyzed from the perspective of Jazz.

If you want to learn traditional Blues, This course is Jazzy too much.

автор: Lee M

Nov 01, 2016

A fantastic introduction to how Jazz was formed and relates to the blues. What an inspiration Professor Dariusz Terefenko is.

автор: José D C

Jun 12, 2018

Excelente curso. Muy completo didactico. Felicitaciones al instructor y a los que trabajaron en la producción de este curso.

автор: Linda K

Jul 23, 2017

Fantastic introduction to the blues and to music theory. Very clear explanations, great demos, engaging professor.

автор: Luis C

Jan 22, 2019

Un curso fascinante, me hubiera encantado que tuviese subtitulos en español, asi lo hubiese aprovechado al máximo

автор: Harry K

Jun 09, 2016

Excellent instructor and course on fundamentals of the blues and jazz. Please continue more similar courses!

автор: Thomas M

Feb 22, 2017

Great course and great instructor!! I will be delving into this material for a long, long time!! Thank You!

автор: Huang ( H

Oct 17, 2016

5 star recommended! all courses offered by Rochester especially music course were in very high quality!

автор: Carlos F

Sep 26, 2016

EXCELLENT COURSE THE BEST BLUES COURSE. I RECOMMEND THIS COURSE FOR STUDENTS ADVANCED AND BEGINNERS.