Chevron Left
Вернуться к The Blues: Understanding and Performing an American Art Form

Отзывы учащихся о курсе The Blues: Understanding and Performing an American Art Form от партнера Рочестерский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 550

О курсе

The blues is an American art form and the most important musical form in jazz. Although there are other formal paradigms of the blues, such as 8-bar or 16-bar, this course focuses on different incarnations of the 12-bar blues. There are considerable differences between Early Jazz blues, Swing blues, Bebop blues, Modal blues, and Post Bop blues. Each type has its unique harmonic syntax, melodic vocabulary and, associated with them, improvisational techniques. While other aspects of jazz performance practice have been constantly changing from one stylistic convention to another, the blues has never lost its identity and expressive power, and continues to exert a powerful influence on the harmonic and melodic syntax of jazz. This seven-week course explores important aspects of the blues, blues improvisation, basic keyboard textures, jazz harmonic and melodic syntax. Topics include: (1) Blues Progressions; (2) Blues and Other Scales; (3) Improvisational Tools, and others. This course will also cover valuable theoretical concepts enabling the student to master the art of jazz improvisation. Each topic will be introduced from a practical perspective with the clearly stated goal: to improve one’s improvisational skills. Jazz improvisation is rooted in spontaneity, creativity, self-expression and, at the same time, self-control and order. A unique pedagogical approach based on a one-to-one musical interaction conducted with different instrumentalists will help to reinforce many of the concepts introduced in this course and realize its stated objectives....

Лучшие рецензии

JB

27 июля 2020 г.

Very good and enjoyable mix of practice and theory - from basics to more advanced with good explanations throughout. I just wish I was a better piano player to be able to take full advantage of it!

DB

7 окт. 2016 г.

Such a great course! Even though I am a bass player this course has made me understand patterns and ways in which the Blues can be taken to. Thank you very much for such an amazing experience.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 225 отзывов о курсе The Blues: Understanding and Performing an American Art Form

автор: cathy l

24 авг. 2021 г.

Fantastic course; thank you so much. I am a recently retired trumpet professor and have so much enjoyed your explanations of blue and especially the practice techniques. Wonderful course---I'll be practicing!

автор: Anne E

2 июня 2017 г.

Excellent teacher; a delight to take the lessons and absorb the concepts involved in improving my improvisation skills. Many thanks; I'm thrilled to have had the opportunity to take this very worthy course.

автор: John B

28 июля 2020 г.

Very good and enjoyable mix of practice and theory - from basics to more advanced with good explanations throughout. I just wish I was a better piano player to be able to take full advantage of it!

автор: Azajul I N

10 мая 2020 г.

This course is really interesting. I would like to recommend this course to those who genuinely loves music. Thanks to the University of Rochester for launching this wonderful masterpiece.

автор: Maurizio C

16 февр. 2021 г.

Really great course! Being a bassist, I was interested in delving into the harmonic bases of the blues and its evolution, and understanding what the pianist does. Really very useful.

автор: Bruce W

27 дек. 2020 г.

This was one of the best courses I have taken in my 61 years of piano...I'm 67 now...it was certainly comprehensive and extremely educational and most enjoyable. Thank you so much.

автор: Jack

18 сент. 2017 г.

Thanks so much to all involved - I found the material to be clearly presented and rich in content. It really helped me to understand how to grow in my jazz exploration.

автор: Sandro V O d M

2 апр. 2017 г.

Thanks a lot, Dariusz Terefenko! You are a terrific teaching and outstanding musician! This course changed the way I thought about music, it really made the difference!

автор: Marek J

27 июня 2016 г.

Very good course for all musicians. Explains advanced blues and jazz theory in easy way. Very interesting material about the music history and harmony evaluation.

автор: Christos H

12 июля 2017 г.

(my-spacebar-does-not-work)---anyway-excellent-course-tought-by-a-knowledgable-instructor.-A-tremendous-amount-of-information-and-insight.-Highly-recommended.

автор: Martin B

4 мая 2020 г.

Great teaching needed to go through each lesson a few times to maximise information transfer and now need to practice the theory! Thanks for this course.

автор: Frederikke H S

22 мар. 2021 г.

Great and detailed course! The instructor's enthusiasm can be felt through the screen! Really worthwhile to spend time on if you're into blues or jazz.

автор: Dmitry A

30 дек. 2016 г.

The most interesting and complete course about the blues I've have ever seen! Structured, clear and very kind form of teaching. Thank you, Dariusz!

автор: Jordi F

30 июня 2017 г.

All you need to know about how blues works. You won't be a blues musician after seven weeks but you've got a big step in the way to got it.

автор: Massiel

15 мая 2019 г.

Very nice and genial course. I learned some new aspects i didnot know or which i had dute. More course like this please. Thank very much

автор: Lekhan

8 мая 2016 г.

Excellent content and faculty ! thoroughly enjoying it : )

Thanks a lot to all who have worked towadrds making this material available

автор: Ekaterina S

24 окт. 2020 г.

I understood the theory better and combined it with practice. The course is very interesting and rich, very grateful to the creators!

автор: Herman J V

25 июня 2018 г.

Very well explained, step by step, increasing difficulty and suitable for different levels of music theory knowledge. Great teacher.

автор: John P

4 дек. 2016 г.

Compact and informative lectures that de-mystify the art form. Thank you!

(Will need to practice a lot for it all to sink in though)

автор: Catherine C

27 окт. 2017 г.

Everything is clearly explained and demonstrated. It was great being able to downloads course videos and transcripts for reference.

автор: Acid P S C

26 февр. 2017 г.

A very comprehensive course with clear explanation on the various type of the progressions and scales used in Jazz and Blues music.

автор: Izzy R

5 окт. 2017 г.

Very well planned and presented course. The instructor was clear and paced the material just right (at least for me!). Thank you.

автор: Richard M

24 янв. 2017 г.

This is a GREAT course. There is absolutely a wealth of knowledge that you can build on for a lifetime of jazz and blues! 5 stars

автор: Vito L

28 мая 2020 г.

Muito bom! Tudo muito didático e explicativo. Várias novas idéias para estudar improvisação e o blues especificamente! Obrigado.