Chevron Left
Вернуться к Summary Statistics in Public Health

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Summary Statistics in Public Health от партнера Университет Джонса Хопкинса

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 997
Рецензии: 257

О курсе

Biostatistics is the application of statistical reasoning to the life sciences, and it is the key to unlocking the data gathered by researchers and the evidence presented in the scientific literature. In this course, we'll focus on the use of statistical measurement methods within the world of public health research. Along the way, you'll be introduced to a variety of methods and measures, and you'll practice interpreting data and performing calculations on real data from published studies. Topics include summary measures, visual displays, continuous data, sample size, the normal distribution, binary data, the element of time, and the Kaplan-Meir curve....

Лучшие рецензии

EC
22 сент. 2020 г.

I found this course really useful. It actually made you do work and it wasn't necessarily easy to pass the end of module content, which I feel made the course so much more valuable. Highly recommend.

AB
23 апр. 2020 г.

I am glad to learn a lot of terms in statistics and how to use and interpret them in the context of Public Health researches. The Instructor provided enough examples to understand the lessons better.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 258 отзывов о курсе Summary Statistics in Public Health

автор: Jawharah A

6 мар. 2020 г.

it's great for people with no prior knowledge of public health and biostatistics, which isn't my case. I think the course needs more examples for practice and trials. Moreover, I couldn't find the boxplot lecture (it was mentioned in combination with other subject although it deserves its own lecture) and I had to watch youtube videos for the final project.

автор: Truc T N

2 февр. 2020 г.

The course covers the very basic understanding of summary statistics. Don't expect this to be rigorous. If you take this as a refresher, double the playback speed, don't skip the additional videos and read the quiz questions carefully. Should earn you a 90 or higher.

автор: Jenny M

4 июля 2020 г.

To my surprise I really enjoyed this course. I am not a "math person" and I hated taking a statistics course in college, but I signed up for this course because I am planning to enter an MPH program in the fall and I wanted to get a head start on what I knew would be challenging material for me.

Dr. McCready's lectures were easy to follow and he gave so many examples that it helped me absorb the information. The format of being able to stop the videos, rewind, and listen again was a great help as well. I found the quizzes challenging, but not tricky or underhanded and felt that Dr. McCready is really interested in helping students learn and understand the material.

Thank you!

автор: Sruthi S

17 дек. 2019 г.

The course was very interesting and enlightening. The foundation of the statistics was made so easy and clear by the instructor. I was handling the basic statistical analysis of few projects in public health eye-care. Now that i have a good knowledge about the risk ratios, time to event analysis, the odds of publishing a good scientific paper is 3 or 4 times more! Thanks to Coursera!

автор: João E P

26 мая 2020 г.

I'd like to thank to JHU for the chance to made this course, costless. The course is great, I did the Part I of Summary Statistics and I loved. Brief e rightly and with a great professor I have learned more in this weeks than 5 periods of epidemiology at my University. I did this course aind I recommended. I hope continue and will do more courses from JHU . Thanks

автор: Adele V

8 июля 2020 г.

Dr. McGready is an excellent teacher. The lectures are easy to follow and contain relevant real-world examples. The MCQs also require you to think critically. I have learned some of the concepts from my university courses, but after taking this Coursera course, I discovered some points that I missed and I'm glad that my understanding has been enhanced.

автор: Vamini R

15 нояб. 2020 г.

This is an excellent course. I was looking for a review of materials I learned almost a decade ago and I found it helpful and very well taught. The average time spent on assignments and studying is about 2 hours per week. I took notes, stopped to do calculations, etc. and thoroughly understood what was taught. Thank you!

автор: Shane Y

6 июня 2020 г.

I really enjoyed this course. I thought the instructor did a great job in explaining the more abstract terms in a clear and concise manner. I thought he was very thorough and systematic in his methodology. I would definitely take this course again and also recommend this to anyone wanting to learn biostatistics.

автор: Joy K

8 сент. 2019 г.

Instructor did an excellent job of summarizing and communicating complex concepts! Thank you!

It would have been great to have a recommended source for practice exercises with solutions to give students and opportunity to practice and solidify the learning and understand some of the nuances of interpretation.

автор: Ammanie A

22 мая 2020 г.

Really great introductory course for those with some biostatistical knowledge! Lectures were well organized and provided many different examples to solidify learning process. My one suggestion would be to provide exercise worksheet problem sets for further practice of material.

автор: Kamran I

30 мая 2020 г.

Overall a great experience. He is the best instructor. Also, I suggest there's a need for Q&A after each video session (and not just at the end of the week). This would help students with better understanding, active participation, and improved memorization of subject.

автор: Tammy P

10 июня 2019 г.

This was an AMAZING course, largely due to Dr. McGready! You made a sometimes difficult subject make perfect sense. I actually loved learning how to interpret different statistical measures. Thank you for the awesome instructional lectures and examples.

автор: Raul R C L

24 авг. 2020 г.

One of the best teachings I've ever received. The teacher masters all the knowledge he shares and the examples are well chosen in order to comprehend each of the topics.

I really hope to receive more classes from John McGready in future lessons.

автор: Kifner R M Q

25 окт. 2020 г.

Good course to refresh basic statistics. There were plenty of examples to support the topics which were so helpful to understand the concepts. The quizzes really gauge your biostatistics learning and critical thinking skills.

автор: Andrea M M B

26 окт. 2020 г.

Congratulations, his is a great oportunity to learn how estadistic used is being used in public health. The instructor explaing each concept in a simple manner. I like he uses examples conducted in real clinical research.

автор: Muhammed A E

22 авг. 2019 г.

One of the best statistics courses I've ever had. What I loved most about it is that it started from the very basics and continued step by step together with the examples. Thank you Coursera so much for this course.

автор: victor g g

17 окт. 2020 г.

Very interesting course that allows you to work on some of the contents of biostatistics. It is very well explained and the training platform is agile and comfortable.

I enjoyed it a lot. I will make another one.

автор: M.C. D D

29 мая 2020 г.

This course helped solidify statistical strategies (the basis of them) in epidemiology. I enjoyed the length of the video lectures and felt assessments were appropriate and fair. I highly recommend this course.

автор: samantha m

29 июня 2020 г.

Will be starting my MPH in a few weeks and wanted to get some review as well as practice with online courses in the case that courses are moved online at some point during the semester. Really helpful review!

автор: Sarah A

9 июля 2020 г.

it was a wonderful course. I was able to learn a lot and apply my understanding on real-life studies. I can now not only read scientific papers but also interpret the results and understand what they mean!

автор: Denis R

26 мая 2020 г.

Very clear and concise explanations of the basic statistical concepts. I would highly recommend this course to anyone wishing to brush up on their statistics knowledge or as an introduction into the field.

автор: Hosam M G A

4 авг. 2020 г.

This course in Summary Statistics is strongly rich in its material and the instructor elaborates and explains many examples to make the points easily understood. I recommend it to all learners interested.

автор: nuzhat h

7 авг. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed doing the mathematical problems. It was helpful in doing graphical and mathematical interpretations practice. I also got experience in handling various public health data.

Thank youuu..

автор: Natasha N

2 июня 2020 г.

This course is a well designed one for summary statistics. The instructor, Dr. John McGready is exceptional at simplifying the concepts. The clarity provided is good. Glad to have this for my revision.