Chevron Left
Вернуться к Summary Statistics in Public Health

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Summary Statistics in Public Health от партнера Университет Джонса Хопкинса

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 987
Рецензии: 251

О курсе

Biostatistics is the application of statistical reasoning to the life sciences, and it is the key to unlocking the data gathered by researchers and the evidence presented in the scientific literature. In this course, we'll focus on the use of statistical measurement methods within the world of public health research. Along the way, you'll be introduced to a variety of methods and measures, and you'll practice interpreting data and performing calculations on real data from published studies. Topics include summary measures, visual displays, continuous data, sample size, the normal distribution, binary data, the element of time, and the Kaplan-Meir curve....

Лучшие рецензии

AB
23 апр. 2020 г.

I am glad to learn a lot of terms in statistics and how to use and interpret them in the context of Public Health researches. The Instructor provided enough examples to understand the lessons better.

EC
22 сент. 2020 г.

I found this course really useful. It actually made you do work and it wasn't necessarily easy to pass the end of module content, which I feel made the course so much more valuable. Highly recommend.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 252 отзывов о курсе Summary Statistics in Public Health

автор: Daniel Y T Y

28 апр. 2019 г.

Easy to understand, explains normally difficult concepts very well, engaging project quizzes

автор: Anthony C

5 мая 2019 г.

Instructor is dry, audio recordings are poor. The instructor reads off the power point way too much, doesn't simplify in a way that encourages creativity or out of the box thinking. For JHU I am very surprised - it didn't feel any different from stats work I have done in class at Purdue.

автор: Elizabeth L

24 февр. 2019 г.

I appreciated the content of this course. It is presently appropriately, at a good pace, with useful explanations. I like being able to pause the video to take notes about the slides and then restart the video listen to the professor explain them. Everything is not flawless (there are a few typos in the quizzes and occasional errors in the slides), but it is on par to what would be experienced in a classroom setting. Being able to understand differences regarding numbers of standard deviations, odds ratios, relative risks, incidence rates, and incidence rate ratios is very useful in my work --- and this course fit the bill for presenting the information straightforwardly and clearly without the professor making assumptions about my previous knowledge. The use of the Additional Examples videos helps to solidify the application of the concepts. Highly recommended!

автор: June K

3 июля 2020 г.

This course was amazing in many ways. Prof John explains each concept in a simple manner and his explanation was very intuitive. This is a great intro for anyone who wants to learn how stats is being used in public health (and how purposeful it is). He uses many examples conducted in real clinical research. This is not an ordinal stats course; but rather, stats for public health (literally)! Thank you so much for the great course, I will keep learning.

автор: Daniel C

10 мая 2019 г.

This is a wonderful course on summary statistics! I have encountered some of these statistical methods during my degree, but the mechanism behind how they work was always skipped. John McGready, our amazing instructor, delivers well and uses interesting studies as examples. I would highly recommend this course if you want to further your statistics and understand scientific and public health literature rather than just take the numbers for granted.

автор: Marion S

27 июля 2019 г.

The lectures were easy to understand and very practical. The use of various types of examples was very useful in being able to apply very complex mathematical calculations in understanding outcomes and conclusions. I have always struggled with statistics and anything remotely related with numbers and figures. I am happy to have found this course!

автор: Michael B

16 апр. 2020 г.

Excellent course with step by step explanations and examples how summary statistics may be used in public health. If you are new to statistics this will be a great course to follow but even for those already acquainted with mean, standard deviation and such, but not with specific applications to public health, it is still valuable.

автор: Francisco G C N

11 апр. 2019 г.

Este primer curso del programa especializado me parece simplemente fundamental en la formación de todo profesional de salud, teniendo en cuenta que el 90% o más del material que se utiliza en la práctica diaria está relacionado con el proceso de Medicina Basada en Evidencias. Realmente recomiendo este curso.

автор: Balaji A

28 апр. 2020 г.

Amazing explanations with examples in lectures

The Lecture series by Dr. John was really awesome

The assessment methods and the difficulty levels of the MCQs and the assignments with an end course project was very nice.

Really interested in joining next level prog in statistics.

автор: Bethel F

19 мая 2020 г.

I really loved the course because it was one of the most clearly presented and well reviewed lecture. It did consolidate my knowledge and i am really grateful. The questions are also fairly discussed in the forum. It gives you more motivation to dig further into the course.

автор: Nancy Z

26 мар. 2019 г.

Excellent course, very succinct and easy to understand, the professor is fantastic! I was going to just take this class and now I am enrolled in the specialization, some professors are so good that make you wanna learn more, thank you.

автор: Ariane M S

2 дек. 2019 г.

The best biostatistics course I have ever done. Prof. John is incredible and he gives lots of examples with real world data (and real world problems) this makes everything much easier to grasp! Thank you for the amazing course!

автор: Scott F

14 мая 2020 г.

This was a very challenging course. It was excellent because it made every example how it would be applied to the workplace. It definitely makes you think and seek practice scenarios to improve your understanding and skills.

автор: Mark S

24 февр. 2019 г.

Absolutely fantastic explanation of some basic concepts in statistics that I thought previously that I had a solid understanding of. I will definitely look for additional classes taught by Dr. McGready.

автор: Priya S

26 апр. 2020 г.

I enjoyed and learnt a lot from the course. Dr. McGready is an excellent teacher. His style of going over the material in great detail helped me understand the concepts well. Thank you Dr. McGready!

автор: Anyanwu R

28 апр. 2019 г.

This is a well structured content. The course is presented in the most simplest form to accommodate complete novices. I found it very educative, practical and lucidly intense.

автор: Aïcha D D

20 авг. 2019 г.

The instructor is very well-spoken and the course material is explained very clearly. The additional example videos are also great if you need to further your understanding.

автор: huaqin p

13 февр. 2019 г.

Dr. McGready did an excellent job putting abstract statistical terms and methods in plain languages (with good examples). I find this course very helpful!

автор: Ayush B

23 мар. 2019 г.

Excellent teaching and good examples which help in manipulating and visualizing huge data samples . Good course which i recommend for everyone.

автор: Konstantin G

26 февр. 2019 г.

Great course for an introduction into the literally limitless possibilities of interpretation of population data.

автор: Mike M

16 окт. 2019 г.

I thought this was a great introduction to the subject matter. The videos themselves had a few post-production edits and the handwriting by the professor was sometimes difficult to read which is why I didn't give 5 stars. I would recommend this course to anyone looking to start learning about public health statistics.

автор: Sara K

4 апр. 2020 г.

This course was easy to understand. It facilitated the understanding of many concepts.. I just wish that there would be an explanation of the questions in the quizez, specially those that we dont answer right! Thank you

автор: Alexander

25 окт. 2019 г.

basics, but great for refreshing; also some new insights I have not learned before.

автор: Sampoorna R

23 мар. 2020 г.

Some basic and important concepts in medical statistics explained with interesting real-world published data. This is a good refresher course for biostatistics, but if you are new to this field, working with a textbook as you go through the lectures will give you a better grounding.

автор: cbuizza

20 апр. 2020 г.

interesting but you should add explication related with interval confidence also for K-M analysis