Chevron Left
Вернуться к Software Development Processes and Methodologies

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Software Development Processes and Methodologies от партнера Миннесотский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 376
Рецензии: 81

О курсе

Software is quickly becoming integral part of human life as we see more and more automation and technical advancements. Just like we expect car to work all the time and can't afford to break or reboot unexpectedly, software industry needs to continue to learn better way to build software if it were to become integral part of human life. In this course, you will get an overview of how software teams work? What processes they use? What are some of the industry standard methodologies? What are pros and cons of each? You will learn enough to have meaningful conversation around software development processes. After completing this course, a learner will be able to 1) Apply core software engineering practices at conceptual level for a given problem. 2) Compare and contrast traditional, agile, and lean development methodologies at high level. These include Waterfall, Rational Unified Process, V model, Incremental, Spiral models and overview of agile mindset 3) Propose a methodology best suited for a given situation...

Лучшие рецензии

MW

May 25, 2018

Week 4 assignment. I kept going back to my submission to see if it’s been graded since I never got any email verifications. Now it says I’ve resubmitted the asisngment. Which I haven’t done.

OT

Jun 23, 2019

In this course you can develop the ability to select the right software development methodology in different scenarios.\n\nGreat instructors!\n\nVery well structured!

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 78 отзывов о курсе Software Development Processes and Methodologies

автор: Sushaen M

Jul 30, 2019

The course material is not detailed at all. The Lecturers have bad grammar and make many mistakes. Some of the material asked on quizzes is not in the lecture in the first part of the course.

However, the worst part of this course is the Peer Reviewed Assignment system. This relies on the intelligence and capability of random strangers who can sometimes lack basic understanding of the course material themselves as well as English comprehension skills. This in turn can affect your course grade which is just absolutely absurd.

A very lazily designed course by the University of Minnesota. They should be ashamed for putting out something like this.

автор: Matteo G

Aug 30, 2018

The course is well structured and the quiz level is proportionate to the level of detail provided in the lecture.

However the peer-graded assignments are "dangerous" and can make you waste weeks, precluding the possibility of proceeding with the course. It's happened to me to receive unjustified poor grade from the same peer more than once, giving a low score to points that were fully covered in my submission. Moreover the peer didn't provide any explanation to support the poor score. Without any control from the course moderator some peers can prevent you from passing an assignment wasting entire weeks. Think about it before paying for this course.

I'm sorry to give a low rating to the course that is not bad at all, but the lack of supervision from the moderator is a huge handicap.

автор: Maria W

Jun 06, 2018

I completed the first three courses seven months ago and the fourth course has yet to be offered. I selected these courses because they were offered as part of a specialization. Selling the course as a specialization but never offering the last course is not only very frustrating but false advertising. I would not have paid and taken these courses if I had known that the last course was not going to be offered, and therefore, I could not complete the specialization that was advertised.

автор: Francesco R

May 31, 2019

By what I could understand, the fourth course of the specialization will "never" be published (people have been complaining about it not being available since 2018). Moreover, one of the teachers has a really strong accent, which is honestly distracting. Some material is alright, but most isn't, and having to deal with the aforementioned issues makes this course pointless at best, useless at worst.

автор: Chris H

Mar 19, 2018

I am very disappointed by this course. The slides are not available and it seems that no one cares about it. A couple of month ago someone asked for the slides in the forums, but the answer was dismissive and hasn't been updated yet.

The quizzes and projects seem to have not been quality checked, the question phrasing is bad and the answers sometimes don't seem to correspond well with the material taught in the video lectures.

автор: kurt s

Jun 27, 2018

Poorly produced and difficult to follow.

автор: Tamer M

Jun 13, 2018

Information is not sufficient

автор: Niyati J

Jul 05, 2018

worst course....

автор: Mariami K

Mar 19, 2019

It was very productive, and good experience, support is very helpful, no need to worry about any problem which you might face during process, connected to assignments mostly, cause it might be an issue when it comes to fair grading. So in overall I would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in this field, and I continue to complete all the courses I find interesting. Good job, Coursera!

автор: Peddi K

Mar 17, 2018

The week 4 content was very interesting and the whole course was executed excellently and the content was good enough to justify the course title.

автор: Parag M

Jul 20, 2018

Excellent way to dig deeper into Agile frameworks. Instructors were knowledgeable and gave good assignments. Thank you.

автор: Afnan A

Mar 21, 2019

This course is well designed.

автор: Deleted A

Feb 06, 2019

I liked the videos and quizzes however i did not like the peer review projects. One of the speakers was a little hard to follow and understand. I will be looking for courses elsewhere.

автор: Olga G

Jan 11, 2020

Updated review.

Initially I have provided a 4-stars score for the course and the initial review is below.

At the same time I want to make sure this review can be viewed by the people who aim to get the certificate for THE WHOLE SPECIALIZATION, therefore I give a bad score to attract attention of those learners.

If you plan to finish the whole specialization, please be informed that the 4th course from the specialization is missing FOR M.ORE THAN 2 YEARS ALREADY! so most probably you will not be able to complete it in order to have the certificate.

Please take into consideration this information if it might influence your decision whether you want to subscribe to the whole specialization or not.

Kind regards.

Initial review:

Overall a good course for beginners.

Some of the things I didn't like were:

1) The peer review doesn't come on time and you have to wait until someone will review your project, otherwise the course is not considered as complete and you cannot move on to get your certificate.

2) In the first 3 weeks of the course there are some questions in Quizzes that are related to Agile methodology, which is explained actually in the 4th week, which creates confusions.

автор: Madina K

Feb 11, 2020

There were a lot of issues like typos in the presentations, more than once there were some moments in the videos that were supposed to be cut out (for instance the lecturer misspoke, went silent and started over or the phone went off very loudly while he was still talking), the lecturer has a very strong accent, which is okay, but the subtitles weren't always of great helps since sometimes they just had the word {inaudible}. This was a huge disappointment to be honest.

Oh, and if you are taking this course as a part of specialization, good luck getting a certificate, since the final course never becomes available.

автор: Kendall W

Dec 09, 2018

As an R&D manager that is becoming more involved in software development, this course by Praveen Mittal and Kevin Wendt was a great introduction to SW development processes and methodologies. The content was immediately useful in my current role. The structure of the course with videos, quizzes, mini-projects, and peer-review grading was well designed and effective for learning the material.

автор: Viviana D

Oct 07, 2019

I like the professionalism of the course, It is like if you were taking a real university course. I could notice the difference because I have tried other platforms and I didn't like their methodology. The content of the course gave me the big picture of Software Development.

автор: Deborah ( L

Jan 24, 2018

Really learnt a lot from the instructors. Videos are easy to follow with clear examples. Peer review was challenging at first (never done before) but I eventually got the hang of it. Can't wait for the next course.

автор: Oscar S T

Jun 23, 2019

In this course you can develop the ability to select the right software development methodology in different scenarios.

Great instructors!

Very well structured!

автор: rahel l

Jul 09, 2018

The instructors are so knowledgeable and experienced on software development. I have learned a lot. thank You!

автор: Iakovos N

Jan 06, 2019

Really great course give you an ideal overview of software development methodologies.

автор: Nikhil G

Jan 09, 2020

Exceptionally well learning & tremendous learning experience. Thanks a lot, Cousera.

автор: Esraa M A

Aug 28, 2019

Very simple and elegant way of teaching, using sketches and examples from real life.

автор: Faiz C A

Jul 25, 2019

Great course! Easy to understand and give me a solid understanding about SDLC.

автор: Abdelrahman E

Jul 20, 2019

Wonderful course, I've learned so much and I can't wait to apply my knowledge!