Chevron Left
Вернуться к Building Data Visualization Tools

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Building Data Visualization Tools от партнера Университет Джонса Хопкинса

4.0
Оценки: 121
Рецензии: 29

О курсе

The data science revolution has produced reams of new data from a wide variety of new sources. These new datasets are being used to answer new questions in way never before conceived. Visualization remains one of the most powerful ways draw conclusions from data, but the influx of new data types requires the development of new visualization techniques and building blocks. This course provides you with the skills for creating those new visualization building blocks. We focus on the ggplot2 framework and describe how to use and extend the system to suit the specific needs of your organization or team. Upon completing this course, learners will be able to build the tools needed to visualize a wide variety of data types and will have the fundamentals needed to address new data types as they come about....
Фильтр по:

1–25 из 28 отзывов о курсе Building Data Visualization Tools

автор: Ankai X

Mar 05, 2019

The peer-reviewed assign

автор: Shawn M

Mar 01, 2019

I have been progressing through all the courses in this specialization and, overall, the courses have been of tremendous value to me. However, it's really not the courses themselves but the book that goes along with the courses that deserves the four and five star ratings I have previously given (these courses are really nothing more than "read the book" and "take the assignments"). Nevertheless, the knowledge gained is not easily available elsewhere. 80% of this visualization course (i.e. the book) was excellent and I give it top marks. The other 20%, starting with the grid system section to the end of the book, was terrible. These sections need a complete rewrite as they are barely comprehensible and certainly not comprehensive. The final assignment does not test you on how much you learned in the course, rather it tests you on how much time you spend on your own finding other relevant sources of information on the internet to figure it out. Also, I don't understand why creating a custom geom would be a more important software development skill than R Shiny for example, given that having the ability to develop interactive apps is critical to visualization. I will give this course 3 1/2 stars, rounded down to 3 since coursera won't allow a half star. I hope the authors take what I have to say as an opportunity for improvement since I have benefited tremendously from this specialization so far and I would like to see it improved in certain areas.

автор: Shengdi W

Jan 23, 2019

Content on ggplot2 framework is solid. However, no video or explanation to complement the textbook, students are expected to learn by reading solely.

Final assignment requires prior R programming knowledge, which is not taught in this course. This can lead to frustration in the end. Probably those who are enrolled in the entire specialization will find this assignment more manageable. I personally had to spend more than 20 hours on this supposedly 4-hour assignment.

автор: Antonio M G

Nov 17, 2018

Great course! You'll learn a lot about the graphic capabilities of R. However, I think there are some things that need to be explained before one goes on to complete the final project.

автор: Steve E

Aug 02, 2018

I wish there were videos and not just reading a website but the content is really top notch. I will definitely be using what I've learned in the future.

автор: Ganapathi N K

Jun 06, 2018

Nice

автор: Sandjaja B

May 01, 2018

It is a very good course, but feels a bit more hands-off than the other 3 preceding courses in the Mastering Software Development in R certificate.

автор: JEEWESH K J

Nov 01, 2017

Great course

автор: Niklaas B v G

Oct 14, 2017

The way last exam is presented makes student lean towards unconcise programming

автор: Maurizio C

Oct 12, 2017

Great gap between teaching and what is required to pass the course. Unnecessarily difficult.

The didactic material is not compelling.

Not recommended.

автор: Conner M

Sep 21, 2017

I could plot in R before and many of the topics discussed in this course I already had a working grasp on. Still, the course helped me really gave me a whole new depth of knowledge on the packages that plotting is build around in R. Highly recommended!

автор: Ruoding W

Sep 18, 2017

the course content is just copy from the book

автор: Arthur G

Aug 29, 2017

Obtuse and doesn't give enough practice opportunities

автор: savvas s

Aug 28, 2017

just links to a webpage... no support from the mentors no support form coursera... you can use your money more wisely..

автор: Francesco D Z

Aug 01, 2017

very useful, especially the final practical exam.

not 5 score because I think more time should have been spent in more modern interactive charts

автор: Oswaldo N C

Jul 26, 2017

A nice course

автор: Rebecca G

Jul 23, 2017

This course was not good at all. Almost all of the information is a screen scrape from a book and peer-evaluated, so you may be better off just getting the book and going through it. Neither the mentors nor the authors ever participated. The assignments are poorly written and missing too much detail. Ending up bailing on the course and the final capstone as I'm simply not learning anything and the projects are too frustrating to work on.

автор: Kevin D

Jul 16, 2017

You'll learn how to make a custom geom, and apply what you learned to an interesting dataset.

This course has though an insane difficulty level, mostly because you don't have the information you'd need to succeed easily. I'd only recommand this course to people following the entire R specialization: if your goal is to learn how to make a custom ggplot, follow an external tutorial, you'll avoid being frustrated.

автор: KEVIN E A C

Jul 10, 2017

nice course

автор: José E L

Jun 19, 2017

Good material. Thanks a lot for this course.

автор: Ben S

Jun 05, 2017

The designers of this course designed a final assignment that is way beyond the curriculum leading up to it, and judging from the discussion forums it gives everyone severe headaches to deal with it. They know of the situation, but rather than alter the assignment they just added new "lessons" that boil down to "Why don't you go read some more material in this other person's book about creating graphical elements? You'll be fine!" I am paying to take this course so I'm more than a little ticked off about this. Until they fix the situation you should take some other series of courses to learn about R programming.

автор: Gopal S

May 28, 2017

Excellent course.

автор: Kunasekaran N

May 19, 2017

Last assignment is hard but enjoyed.

автор: Yaakov M

May 02, 2017

good challenges

автор: José A G R

Mar 05, 2017

the last task is very challenging