Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Data Science in Python

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Data Science in Python от партнера Мичиганский университет

4.5
звезд
Оценки: 23,722
Рецензии: 5,325

О курсе

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Лучшие рецензии

PK
9 мая 2020 г.

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

AU
9 дек. 2017 г.

Wow, this was amazing. Learned a lot (mostly thanks to stack overflow) but the course also opened my eyes to all the possibilities available out there and I feel like i'm only scratching the surface!

Фильтр по:

5001–5025 из 5,249 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Data Science in Python

автор: Henning L

12 янв. 2017 г.

I felt like the test-candidate for a new course. While the course-work and the presentations itsself were excellent, the "homework" was a real pain as very often the Auto-grader didn't work and it took me hours to get a project which was correct, to be accepted as the right solution. Cannot recommend it to be honest unless they improve their systems. Also it was said that the other course specialization start soon but it seems they don't and I paid for the full package....

автор: Abid-Ul K

7 мая 2020 г.

The course assignment was very hard—maximum time I didn't have any clue what I was supposed to do. The course instructor was not up to my expectation. I didn't understand what he was trying to teach me. The pandas version in this course was ancient, which Showed exception most of the time with the functions. I wouldn't suggest anyone take this course if really wants to learn anything. For a newbie like me in Python, I had to go back and forth to Stackoverflow now and then.

автор: Omar M

29 мар. 2020 г.

I couldn't get through the class. The problem sets bore no relation to the lectures. I understand that the point of that is so that you teach yourself, which is more "real world" but in this type of work there are multiple ways to solve a problem, and if we never see the right (optimal) answer, then it's very possible that what we came up with on our own is a super inefficient way to do it. I think the course needs to get the lectures a little closer to the problem sets.

автор: Curtis G

2 авг. 2019 г.

The videos were fast, but informative. The exercises were nothing like the videos, I had to accomplish several hours of self taught learning. If the certification did not look good on a resume or linkedin profile, I could've accomplished the same outcome with just hours of reading stack overflow, watching youtube videos, and skyping with other students in my masters cohort. Would like to see the exercises in the same realm of difficulty as the tutorials.

автор: D R

9 дек. 2016 г.

The lectures and explanations need more clarity and better instruction quality. The assignment questions were often nebulous. This resulted in lots of time wasted with the grader. The discussion forums were the best part of this class. I'd encourage the course instructors to take a look at the University of Washington's Machine Learning class. Stylistically, pedagogically and content-wise - that's a much, much better Data Science class.

автор: woody

6 мая 2020 г.

The pace is far too fast. I can't see anyone managing with this unless they are already somewhat familiar with the content. Assignments and quizzes are extremely difficult. When learning it is nice to have at least some easier questions that allow you to practice implementing what has just been covered. In this course it felt like all questions required you to link together all aspects of what had been covered so far in complex ways.

автор: Michael S

27 апр. 2020 г.

The auto-grader in this class SUCKS. It runs an outdated version of Pandas from 2016. Some of the lecture content also includes deprecated functions. The course content and auto-grader both need to be updated to comply with Pandas v1.0.x. It is EXTREMELY frustrating to spend hours getting code to run properly on my machine, only to upload it to the course site and have the auto-grader tell me it's incorrect or unexecutable.

автор: Khalid U

20 июля 2018 г.

It does not matter if you have intermediate python level of experience. You should not go through the material so fast and not explain properly what the specific code does. I understand that we should seek outside resources if we don't understand something but thats not an excuse for providing fast answers to what a code does and not provide explanations to specific code. All I saw in this introduction was fast typing lol.

автор: Neelkanth S M

26 мая 2020 г.

The course content, which includes tutorials and assignments, is exception for beginners to hone their skills in python data science stack (numpy, pandas and matplotlib).

However, the automated grading process, I find, is ambiguous. Here's why:

First, we are not provided with a snapshot of expected output.

Second, the feedback doesn't support debugging; as a result, test taker will make clueless trial & error attempts

автор: Kertész J

10 сент. 2017 г.

I have previous programming experience, sill I find the course is very challenging for the following reasons:

- course videos are very short (40mins per week), partly related to the required assignments, not covering all topics

- you need to spend most of your time (for me 10-15 hours per week) googling and reading Stackoverflow, and you might pick up a solution which is not appropiate for your current issue

автор: Ted H

8 янв. 2017 г.

The assignments were tough and they really tested your knowledge of python. That being said, the lectures were absolutely useless. I spent 90% of my time trying to figure out python through stack overflow. The jupyter platform is also very frustrating. For whatever reason, error messages kept coming up as I was trying to complete the assignments. At one point, I lost all my work because of this error.

автор: Muhammad H

3 июня 2018 г.

Lectures aren't helpful. Assignments are challenging which is great but there is a difference between challenging students to make them learn more or to challenge them to such extent without providing enough resources that they go weary of the material. It is important to understand that students take courses generally to learn new material, not to revise what they have already learned or forgotten.

автор: Stephen F

24 июля 2017 г.

The content is really good, but their explanation of the topics is insanely terse; by both the professor and his graduate student. I had such high hopes for this class. I am personally able to follow the content because I have experience using pandas and only using this class as a easy way to fill gaps in my knowledge, but to the uninitiated their coverage would confuse a otherwise simple tool.

автор: K G P

12 апр. 2020 г.

The course is quite tough and is not really beginner friendly to someone who is seeking to start learning about python or data science. It's just that it is on another level. Hard to grasp onto the concepts. The assignments also are very difficult for a beginner. All in all I don't mean to be negative but this really isn't an introduction to data science course, it is on a very advanced level.

автор: Olatunde T

28 авг. 2020 г.

This course was highly challenging and took quite a lot of time and efforts to complete! The concepts were hurriedly and not properly taught and I think this need be addressed. The assignments were also too complex for an introductory course and require a lot of personal reading and searching to complete. Would recommend at least a basics in Python programming to register for this course!

автор: Anil P

7 нояб. 2019 г.

I really strugled with the course; especially assignment.

There is a lot of talking and little time is spend on how the code is working. I feel anyone who is already a programmer in another language might be finding it easy follow the chapters.

I was very difficult to complete the assignments - Most of the time it felt totally outside of what has been discussed till then. (Out of syllabus)

автор: 李玉鹏

29 апр. 2018 г.

This course is too easy for me. But if you are a beginner you will find it difficult.

I download all the materials and try my best to complete all the assignment without watching the final part and submit them at almost the same time cause I find it joyful.

To be honest, read the book entitled Python For Data Analysis 2nd may be a better choice instead of watching these tuition videos.

автор: cheting c

2 мар. 2018 г.

Very unresponsible professor. No passion at all!!!!! Did not explain the fundamental concept well. As a result, I do not think I have a deep understangin at all. I spend most my time google in order to finish my assignments.

I give him the second star only because I the way he designed those challenging assignments. He should include some skill needed to finish the assignments.

автор: Apurva k p

7 мая 2020 г.

According to me this course will be not good for beginners , i m not telling for who is absolute beginners in programming world but it is also difficult for who just completed the python from scratch and enter into in this course.The instructor was too fast (i know that we can reduced the video speed, so don't suggest that).here i m not able to point out whole thing.

автор: Rolando C

28 авг. 2020 г.

The depth and amount of knowledge delivered in class versus the level of complexity of the assignments, leaves the student with a very high degree of research, which is always good, however, it must have a balance.

I do not agree with leaving most of the learning on the research side, you should keep in mind that students may have little knowledge about the subject.

автор: Marcin W

29 окт. 2016 г.

Very good lectures and examples. Horrible autograder - very stiff and all results must be in a very strict order and format. Extremenly vague questions prone to misinterpretation.

Most of the time is not spent on analysing data or coding but trying to understand the autograder and questions. The stress should be somewhere else. As a whole poorly prepared course.

автор: Alexander P

16 апр. 2020 г.

1. Jupiter notebook constantly loses touch and you have to reload the page, and you have not saved the last changes ...

2. Outdated versions of Panda are used and who knows what else, so if you are not completing the task in their notebook, this can be a problem, as for me.

3. The background with people at video lectures distracts from the lecturer's words

автор: Fabio K

5 апр. 2018 г.

I learned a lot taking this course but it requires a lot of work from the student. The video lectures have little contents and are somewhat superficial and the assignments are somewhat confusing. One must read a lot about the assignments in the forum otherwise it's impossible to complete them. It took me tens of hours of hard work before I learned that.

автор: Anna N

16 авг. 2020 г.

I think the assignments really help you learn a lot! But there isn't much help or aide at all from the classes. You basically have to learn everything on your own with no help, and the forum is rarely ever useful. So I would not recommend taking this class unless you are already used to using Pandas and are very advanced or intermediate with python.

автор: Andrea K

22 мар. 2021 г.

Most of the topics are not really explained but just read out. Actual learning has to be done by reading and searching the web. The assignments are unclear and the whole course takes much longer than the given time. The best thing about this course is the teaching staff that gives fast and individual help when you run into problems (which is often)