Chevron Left
Вернуться к In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Отзывы учащихся о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.9
Оценки: 625
Рецензии: 256

О курсе

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Лучшие рецензии

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

AS

Oct 04, 2019

Well-designed course; interesting material, including optional readings. The studio demonstrations and accompanying exercises were very helpful to my own art work. Excellent overall; thank you.

Фильтр по:

151–175 из 249 отзывов о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

автор: Peter J W

Sep 06, 2017

Amazing class. Excellent instructor and selection of artists in the course. Opened an entirely new world of art to me.

автор: Petra C

Apr 22, 2018

This was a fantastic course, so interesting with superb resources. I particularly enjoyed the painting demonstrations and the film clips of discussions about the art works. A first rate course. Thank you!

автор: Aaron W

May 20, 2017

Really wonderfully run, and such interesting subject matter - really ignited an interest in me to paint!

автор: Caroline G

Jul 02, 2018

loved

автор: Guilherme D

Dec 28, 2017

Amazing.

автор: carter t

Feb 01, 2018

Excellent techniques, context, and history. Very interesting and nicely put together course.

автор: Lais D

Nov 06, 2017

Amazing!!!

автор: AJ G

Jun 19, 2017

Loved it. Thank you.

автор: Rosa P

Jul 22, 2017

I loved taking this course. I learnt a lot about the artists, mediums and techniques. Corey makes it really interesting and easy to follow. I would definitely take another class like this in the future. Thanks!

автор: Dee A

May 18, 2017

Excellent resources, challenging enough to be worthwhile, great balance between practical and factual learning. I loved it. Wish there was another course developing out of this one.

автор: Elisa P

May 28, 2018

Outstanding course. Very complete in every aspect. It was fascinating learning about the NYS painters and having guided hands-on practice of the techiniques. Thank you!

автор: Joan S P

Feb 19, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this class. Very informative. I loved in particular the videos demonstrating the techniques used by each artist.

автор: lorna z f

Jul 17, 2017

Excellent! Not boring at all. Plenty of well done reading materials and interesting links. My favorite part - "In the studio", I think I learned a lot and got motivation to do more.

Curators' and Corey's videos are informative, professional, involving. I would highly recommend this course.

автор: silvia r

Nov 22, 2017

I love this course. I was very excited to attend a course by Mo.Ma of New York and to have it on-line it's perfect for me cause I live in Italy. I learned a lot of interesting things that I've never known before. The teacher is really expert in painting. great to explain in the right way the painting techniques but also he's able to analysis in the details the artworks. I appreciated the resources, video and books given to better understand artists and abstract art. I'm waiting for the next one! Thanks Mo.Ma! Silvia

автор: Merissa W

Nov 15, 2017

This was my first Coursea course and I absolutely loved it. I wish I had a little more time to participate in the studio activities, but I really enjoyed just watching the tutorials and learning the different artist techniques. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone interested in modern art.

автор: Naelya T N

Jan 03, 2018

great course and lector!

автор: Uma H

Aug 04, 2017

This course is EXCELLENT. I have been following many tutorials but this one is the unique: show you in a dry ad efficace way different painting techniques combine with the history of the painters who invented it. More you have a critics presentation of the most interesting abstract paintings of the century. Thanks for sharing your studies and your experiences with us.

автор: Carla B

Jul 10, 2017

I learned so much in this art appreciation and experimentation course. Many thanks to Corey D'Augustine who's straight-forward, easy-going style of teaching helped us not be afraid of trying products never used before, in my case oil paints and all the mediums that go with them, and trying methods of famous Abstract Expressionist artists. Many thanks to MoMA for providing this course through Coursera.org and to sponsors like Volkswagen who help make such enlightenment possible. I looked forward to learning through video, reading, my own research and in the studio exercises. I am off to look for similar In the Studio offerings on MoMA's website and considering what I will sign up for next on Coursera. Thank you!

автор: Arijit D

Apr 29, 2018

This course was very well structured, and the instructor's personal and often humorous approach was informative and engaging, covering very complex subject matter in an accessible way.

автор: Pepa Q G

May 28, 2017

I enjoy it very much. I learn a lot about the Postwar Abstract Painters. I wish I can join another similar course.

автор: Kate G

Jun 18, 2017

This course can be pricey if you are following along on the studio exercises, and have no art supplies at home already. That said, the course is very, very good in terms of technique process, better than the any 40k plus art school I ever attended. There is almost no teacher/student interaction except for the Q&A, so the interaction can leave something to be desired, but I think in terms of pure information, this course is incredible, clear, concise, and excellent.

автор: CR

May 24, 2017

I liked that the technical aspects were discussed. This was great for me as a beginner!

автор: Josephine V

May 27, 2017

Corey D'Augustine and MoMA curators engaged participants, like myself, in a multi-sensory hands-on experience that transformed our nascent perceptions of abstract expressionism into a developed sense of artistic appreciation for the revolutionary approaches

автор: Dina S

Jun 18, 2017

This was an amazing course. Cory is a wonderful and knowledgeable lecturer, the videos and top notch, and the content is informative and fascinating.

автор: luca s

Jan 23, 2018

Please spend time on this course, it is not only about the artists' ideas, the practical side is how the different painters created their style very interesting. Even when it looks simple there is a lot of craft behind it!