Chevron Left
Вернуться к In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Отзывы учащихся о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 649
Рецензии: 269

О курсе

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Лучшие рецензии

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

AS

Oct 04, 2019

Well-designed course; interesting material, including optional readings. The studio demonstrations and accompanying exercises were very helpful to my own art work. Excellent overall; thank you.

Фильтр по:

251–262 из 262 отзывов о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

автор: David D

Jun 03, 2017

So much fun. I only wish I was ready at the time to stretch my own canvas, squeeze the tubes and start painting.

What really made this course was the difference it makes when a painting is described for you. It makes abstract art so much more enjoyable than it would otherwise be - at least for myself. Plus you have to say the 'teacher' was quite skilled in all the various techniques and exceptionally clear in his presentations. Bravo!

автор: Rose N

Oct 25, 2019

Interesting and engaging course content with evidently knowledgeable instructor. Thoroughly enjoyable optional practical exercises. A pity that the peer review of the final 'assessed' submission took a long time and did not provide much useful feedback; as there is obviously not a huge cohort, perhaps the instructor or an assistant would be a more appropriate/useful assessor.

автор: Robert W C

May 24, 2017

The course was very enjoyable. The teacher, Mr. Corey D'Augustine, was wonderful; however the intellectual level of the assignments was quite low, and their was basically no feedback. This is true especially with the "Visual analysis essay" - I received 100/100 with virtually no idea what I did right about the essay.

автор: Jill B

Jan 23, 2018

Really enjoyed this course, particularly the "In The Studio" content. It has completely changed by view of abstract paintings from 'a child could have done this' to a deep appreciation of the skilled approach and the artist's very deep knowledge and understanding of their chosen medium.

автор: Kelsie

Jan 19, 2018

A very informative introduction to the methods, techniques, beginnings, and psychology to influential artists within the movement. The readings were succinct and engaging, but never too long. Lots of audiovisual supplementation.

автор: Thomas P

May 26, 2017

Fantastic course, very well planned and great mix of source material through the Career in Eight Artworks sections to the videos explaining painting technique in the studio.

автор: Joy S

Sep 11, 2017

This is actually pretty cool. You could, by watching the painting demonstrations, actually reproduce the techniques of the artists studied in the class.

автор: Fabiola D

Oct 06, 2017

I have very much enjoyed this course, and I have learned a lot about abstract expressionists.

автор: Gerard M

Nov 06, 2017

Excellent course for anyone who wants to learn more about Modern Art!

автор: Francisco L

Jul 29, 2019

Excessively technical. It seems a course of learning to paint. It doesn't bring me much.

автор: Luis G

Mar 27, 2018

Everything is available on line or YouTube, there is no interaction or feedback from instructors, you learn some of the materials and techniques but almost no information about how the painters express their ideas or the feelings they intent to create in the painting.

I have been painting abstract for several years without following any group or style and I have better feeling painting just one canvas that the emptiness that I fell after finishing the whole course

The idea is good but could be greatly improved.

автор: ailona r

Mar 02, 2018

names mentions but are not printed on the lscreen