Chevron Left
Вернуться к In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Отзывы учащихся о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.9
Оценки: 625
Рецензии: 256

О курсе

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Лучшие рецензии

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

AS

Oct 04, 2019

Well-designed course; interesting material, including optional readings. The studio demonstrations and accompanying exercises were very helpful to my own art work. Excellent overall; thank you.

Фильтр по:

176–200 из 249 отзывов о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

автор: Leila B N

Jan 16, 2018

Amazing, I would love to continue to have the same Professor and course style about more contemporary artists. The best online course ever

автор: Robert M

Feb 23, 2018

thoroughly enjoyed the course

автор: carolina t

Feb 27, 2018

me gusta mucho este curso lastima que no posee traduccion al español

автор: Jing L

May 23, 2017

Thank

автор: Jouriy L

May 24, 2017

Thank you very much! Very good and useful course.

Thank you particularly for instructor Corey D’Augustine.

автор: Bárbara P

Jul 15, 2017

This is a really amazing course. I've learnt a lot about Abstract Expressionism, but also about visual analysis and work appreciation. I absolutely recommend it. Corey is a brilliant teacher.

автор: Leslie Z

Oct 10, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! The course is engaging, simple to follow, and expertly taught by Corey D'Augustine.

автор: Javier C

Jan 03, 2018

Interesting subject, carried out in a well and clearly structured way, which makes it easy to follow

автор: David C

Sep 11, 2017

I enjoyed taking this course. I didn't know a lot about abstract art before going into it, and it was full of great learning. Getting to try the techniques too was a lot of fun and gave me an appreciation for how hard it is to make something look so easy.

Corey D'Augustine is a great teacher. He has a great style, and makes everything feel approachable.

автор: Kim M

Feb 26, 2018

great class!

автор: Tatiana P P

Sep 22, 2017

I really liked it! I hope MoMa could offer more courses like this one in the future, with studio time. I would definitely enrol and highly recommend them.

автор: cian

Apr 19, 2017

Excellent all round course and the instruction videos are particularly good. Highly recommend.

автор: Joan C

Feb 11, 2018

Wish there were more than 5 stars! This was a fabulous program offered by MoMA. I would highly recommend it to any artist interested in Abstraction. It would be wonderful to add even more artists to learn about. Franz Kline, Joan Mitchell and Helen Frankenthaler would be my choices to add, yes please!

автор: Jennifer U

May 28, 2017

Amazing course...I hope this guy teaches more courses!! I would sign up immediately!

автор: Lisa M H

May 22, 2017

Enjoyable course. Postwar Abstraction is fascinating and this course does a great job presenting these artists in an exciting way.

автор: Claire E R

Jun 03, 2017

<3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3

автор: Phoebe L

Jun 03, 2017

Amazing! So interesting.

Good amount of work per week, doable!

автор: Pantelis A

Jan 31, 2018

Very satisfied with the course. The highlight of the course is Corey D'Augustine's video instructions.

автор: Ingrid W

May 10, 2017

This is an amazing course! I learnt a lot on the technical aspects of many artists I already knew about, discovered early artworks I had not seen before and also got to spend more time on artists like Ad Reinhardt I knew little about. I have always been interested in art history but I never dared touch a brush to try to put myself in the artists seat. This course gently encouraged me to do so thanks to Corey's wonderful videos and I am amazed at what I produced, the fun I had and the additional dimension it provided to my observant eye. Thank you MOMA for such an amazing set of materials and for fuelling the passion for art in more ways than can be imagined.

автор: Helene l

Jun 22, 2017

Great content, great material and excellent teacher.

автор: Ian I

Jun 21, 2017

Superb introduction to postwar abstract painting - a must for any person seeking to understand the historical context and techniques used to create the masterpieces from this period.

автор: Melinda B

May 23, 2017

The course was inspirational! I loved learning not only the history of Postwar Abstract Painting, and an appreciation of the art works, but also the techniques used by many of the artists. Great instruction!

автор: Margarita M R

Jul 17, 2017

Lo disfruté muchísimo, pasé feliz. :)

автор: Carolyn K

Jun 17, 2017

I took this course not knowing what to expect but I've been totally impressed! I've learned so much from the material & technique videos, I really appreciate how Corey teaches. Thank you for offering this as a free course I appreciate having the chance to learn how abstract expressionism originated.

автор: Mourad E

May 19, 2018

I enjoyed every class, as an artist from Egypt, It was great to have an experince to study about NY art school with MOMA's videos. I hope MOMA will issue more and more courses later.