Chevron Left
Вернуться к Number Theory and Cryptography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Number Theory and Cryptography от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

4.5
звезд
Оценки: 481
Рецензии: 101

О курсе

We all learn numbers from the childhood. Some of us like to count, others hate it, but any person uses numbers everyday to buy things, pay for services, estimated time and necessary resources. People have been wondering about numbers’ properties for thousands of years. And for thousands of years it was more or less just a game that was only interesting for pure mathematicians. Famous 20th century mathematician G.H. Hardy once said “The Theory of Numbers has always been regarded as one of the most obviously useless branches of Pure Mathematics”. Just 30 years after his death, an algorithm for encryption of secret messages was developed using achievements of number theory. It was called RSA after the names of its authors, and its implementation is probably the most frequently used computer program in the word nowadays. Without it, nobody would be able to make secure payments over the internet, or even log in securely to e-mail and other personal services. In this short course, we will make the whole journey from the foundation to RSA in 4 weeks. By the end, you will be able to apply the basics of the number theory to encrypt and decrypt messages, and to break the code if one applies RSA carelessly. You will even pass a cryptographic quest! As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Лучшие рецензии

SS
31 июля 2020 г.

I loved this course! It is unlike any I have taken before. All courses in this specialization have always included fun activities to make the taught content fun and understandable.

PW
21 нояб. 2018 г.

I was really impressed especially with the RSA portion of the course. It was really well explained, and the programming exercise was cleverly designed and implemented. Well done.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 100 отзывов о курсе Number Theory and Cryptography

автор: Ivan L F

8 апр. 2018 г.

Good material and presentation from the professors. Programming exercises were a bit confusing at times. Overall, short but mathematically solid course.

автор: ASHISH S

6 июля 2020 г.

It was a great course which helped me learn number theory and introduced me to Cryptography.

The teaching assistants could have been more active.

автор: Mariam M

8 нояб. 2020 г.

It was good, one needs an advanced level of python coding to get through howecer the final assignment I enjoyed quite a lot.

автор: Alex Y

17 янв. 2019 г.

Sometimes material is very dense. Watching in 1x speed multiple times advisable for some modules later in the course.

автор: SUBHADEEP S

4 авг. 2020 г.

The last week of the course makes everything else in the course so worth it! Had a great time doing this course!

автор: James V

6 мар. 2021 г.

Extensive coding skills and a thorough understanding of the key concepts are needed to pass this course.

автор: Rick B

14 авг. 2020 г.

Slide and instruction could use more concrete examples, but final project was excellent.

автор: Tomáš N

29 апр. 2020 г.

It was really slow in the beginning, but I loved the RSA Quest!

автор: Ajit C B

21 нояб. 2017 г.

Great course, just felt that the last quiz was a bit redundant.

автор: Abhinav B

16 мая 2020 г.

Some of the questions related to week6 did not behave properly

автор: Nikhil Y

12 мая 2020 г.

a really starter for cryptography!!

автор: Ethan H

31 янв. 2021 г.

In all honesty, this was my least favorite course in this specialization so far. Alex and Michael did a great job with making interactive lectures in Graph Theory, but for some reason, the Number Theory lectures were much more textbook-like recitations. There were certainly times in the lecture when I felt like I would want to see them on the whiteboard. There were also times when critical steps of a proof were not really emphasized (or on the slides at times) and it was very confusing. I spent a lot of this course supplementing with MIT OCW lectures. All this being said, the final RSA quest assignment was awesome; it's clear that the profs had a really fun time putting it together and it showed. Thanks!

автор: Baruch L

4 дек. 2020 г.

The lectures are not always clear enough. Somtimes the explanations in the speech of the formulas are not accurate enough and it will be better to add more formal explanations with letters.

i don't understand why during the course the staff did not answered to some of my questions from the theoretical material although I paid twice for the course.

I left 6 unanswered questions in the fourth week in the forum. I hope that the staff will answered them.

My email is b77aruch@gmail.com

автор: Lionel L R Q

10 июля 2020 г.

The concepts taught are honestly pretty interesting and i enjoyed learning the content. However, there were some parts of the lesson that you wish an example would be given for clarity, e.g. explanation on RSA. Also, don't expect much help from the discussion forums by teaching staff as reply rate is slow. Lastly, debugging for the RSA codes are pretty limited, so do expect more time spent! Overall, still an insightful course for an introduction on Cryptography.

автор: M. A

11 авг. 2020 г.

The course was fun, the final assignment was really interesting. Python programming is mandatory for anyone who wants to succeed in this class. Nevertheless, I was hoping there is more mathematical discussion regarding cryptography. Some key elements, such as Diffie-Hellman key exchange and discrete logarithm problem are missing from this course. Anyway, it is still interesting though.

автор: Pratyush A

15 июля 2020 г.

The course is good, the topics covered are nice. The problem is that they don't teach examples very well. The last few quizzes will be tough and it will be hard to complete the course if you don't have good coding skills. The topics are interesting, that's what made me stick to the course. Also the professor's accent is a little difficult to understand.

автор: Matthew W

2 дек. 2017 г.

The quiz from the RSA segment is a drag. The reason is that I don't see the implementation of the "given" functions and debugging via the text box provided is annoying. The first 3 segments are well prepared and have enough information for someone like me to pursuit this topic further.

автор: Ingrid Z

28 июля 2020 г.

Last chapter was way too challenging compared to the previous ones. I had a really tough time with the assignments. Otherwise, a very nice course !

автор: Shubham U

29 апр. 2020 г.

The instructor sometimes rushed through the content.

автор: Ho W J

7 июля 2020 г.

Tough course for non-math

автор: Ishrar C

17 мая 2020 г.

needs more examples for the theorems. they emphasize on the proofs more than making us understand the theorems. otherwise, okay.

автор: 김한아

10 янв. 2021 г.

This module was the worst module in the whole specialization course. Lack of example, non-clear explanation, variables that are difficult to understand, weird way of abstracting the explanation. it feels like instructor abstract in a way that only to take student already have pre-knowledge to understand the course.

During the Euclid, It took me 4h on keep watching the videos and I found a single page that explained to me in 2 min.

Even I don't get the certificate for specialization I am not going to finish this module. From my experience, this Is a very good module that makes a person to hate to learn about number theory and cryptography

During the course, I thought only I was the one who doesn't understand what the instructors says but looking at the review I noted that it is not the case

автор: Charlene T

16 окт. 2020 г.

This was a pretty rough course, Michael Levin knows his stuff but his style of charging straight through everything with variables didn't work for me so I would catch the title of the lesson and head straight over to YouTube. Examples of the concepts in action where the instructor interacts with the screen instead of just talking over powerpoint slides would be great because the content is legit but the instruction could stand a boost or two

автор: Shubham C

30 июля 2020 г.

After few lecture this course is just slides reading and no proper explanation.

автор: Samuel R S

18 июня 2018 г.

very confusing explanations. had to look up everything elsewhere.