Chevron Left
Вернуться к Number Theory and Cryptography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Number Theory and Cryptography от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

4.5
звезд
Оценки: 481
Рецензии: 101

О курсе

We all learn numbers from the childhood. Some of us like to count, others hate it, but any person uses numbers everyday to buy things, pay for services, estimated time and necessary resources. People have been wondering about numbers’ properties for thousands of years. And for thousands of years it was more or less just a game that was only interesting for pure mathematicians. Famous 20th century mathematician G.H. Hardy once said “The Theory of Numbers has always been regarded as one of the most obviously useless branches of Pure Mathematics”. Just 30 years after his death, an algorithm for encryption of secret messages was developed using achievements of number theory. It was called RSA after the names of its authors, and its implementation is probably the most frequently used computer program in the word nowadays. Without it, nobody would be able to make secure payments over the internet, or even log in securely to e-mail and other personal services. In this short course, we will make the whole journey from the foundation to RSA in 4 weeks. By the end, you will be able to apply the basics of the number theory to encrypt and decrypt messages, and to break the code if one applies RSA carelessly. You will even pass a cryptographic quest! As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Лучшие рецензии

SS
31 июля 2020 г.

I loved this course! It is unlike any I have taken before. All courses in this specialization have always included fun activities to make the taught content fun and understandable.

PW
21 нояб. 2018 г.

I was really impressed especially with the RSA portion of the course. It was really well explained, and the programming exercise was cleverly designed and implemented. Well done.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 100 отзывов о курсе Number Theory and Cryptography

автор: Kristen P

6 февр. 2020 г.

Challenging yet fun course!

автор: Kuldeep K

29 апр. 2020 г.

I learnt many new things.

автор: Jakub D

8 сент. 2019 г.

Good introduction

автор: NIKHIL P

16 сент. 2019 г.

very usefull

автор: danish m

26 апр. 2020 г.

nice course

автор: HaotianWang

19 июля 2018 г.

challenging

автор: Arijit S

15 мая 2020 г.

It was challenging and interesting. The only issue what I feel is that I am not from a coding background, so to understand the coding concepts were a bit tough. And I asked my queries through forums, but no reply came. But overall, it was an interesting course

автор: Juliano P

2 янв. 2021 г.

This is the worst module so far, not at all comparable to the first module of this specialization.

This is not a total beginner's content, but the videos are spoken too fast, like the professor was pressured to make it as short as possible. I had to watch some of the videos at 0.8x speed, instead of my usual 1.3x. Moreover, this was the first time I slow down a video.

Several lessons were just read from the slides followed by a long abstract mathematical digression without any companion material (ie, slides), so you have to listen and imagine all the variables and formulas in your head, since there is no illustration or guide of what is being said. I'm a visual learner, what makes it even worse.

Be prepared to look for resources elsewhere if you take this course and you are not familiar with module arithmetic. I'm not exaggerating when I say most of what I learned in this module were from YouTube videos... at least this module gave me a structured syllabus and topics to look for.

Also, compared to the previous modules, it lacks a lot on exercises and questions to fix the subject. The code exercises were most often cryptic for me and demanded lots of trial and error. The reason for this were the poor explanations and the requirement to use the algorithms introduced in class, which were not always what YouTube videos used.

I was expecting it to be more step by step, but I feel like it is a quick review for people who have taken the subject before.

автор: Christopher W

10 мая 2020 г.

Bravo! Oh man, the "RSA Quest" was the most amazing thing ever! I can't even believe it worked out. And ended with a nod to one of my favorite authors!

This course was one of the most challenging, and at the same time rewarding courses I've done on Coursera. I absolutely love learning from these instructors. Their explanations are so methodical and complete that you really get a good understanding of not only the facts they assert, but the "why" and "how" beneath it. Thank you!

автор: Guo F

11 апр. 2021 г.

Wow! I'd say this is the very best course in this specialization! Although other courses are good too, I'd say this course explains things very clearly and rigorously, which is definitely needed to be so because of the topic involved. Kudos to the assignments, very interesting! Something I found out to be frustrating is, if I paused this course for a week or so, the proofs become obscure to me. I definitely need to review more often!

автор: Nikita S

25 мар. 2021 г.

Professional instructors explain all the number theory necessary for the implementation of the RSA cryptosystem. The course ends with a nice labwork where you implement RSA and conduct several attacks on incorrect implementations. Michael Levin is one of my favorite instructors. I have a feeling that this course was somewhat short, but maybe it is caused by the fact that it is a part of the five-course specialization.

автор: ABHISHEK S

28 мая 2020 г.

Highly recommended. Initially, the course seems to be a bit slow-paced but later you will understand that it was all necessary to build the foundation. The material is very good especially the exercises. The last portion teaches you RSA encryption and its prospective attacks. Overall the course was very well structured and intuitive, it made me think and apply the concepts taught.

автор: aldhi

7 июля 2020 г.

Alhamdulillah. Finally, I can pass this course, although not perfectly 100%, but I really proud of my self. Thanks to all lecturers in this course. I've got a lot of knowledge so far, especially in Number Theory. For cryptography subject, that's so hard. Not every people can solved it perfectly since it need a lot of creativity and logic.

автор: Deleted A

25 июня 2020 г.

My only critique to this course are the final two quizzes of week 4. The very final quiz relies on you having successfully completed most of the penultimate quiz and is more of a "copy and paste" session. The RSA part (week 4) of this course had not been covered at my University and was very interesting.

автор: Iftakhar U

20 июля 2020 г.

Alhamdulillah. I have learnt many things from this course. Thanks the three course instructor for taking this course. Most interesting things of the course for me was The end RSA Quest quiz. Again, Thanks coursera.

автор: Tejasvi V

5 февр. 2021 г.

Thank you! enjoyed learning number theory, understood new concepts of modular programming, how public key -private key works and the basis of rsa algorithm.

автор: OSAMA Z

8 апр. 2021 г.

Excellent course to learn number theory and building blocks of cryptography. Excellent instructors make such topics easy to understand and not boring.

автор: Rajarshi D

18 сент. 2020 г.

Excellent material and teachers.

Specifically, the course contents of week 4 : the RSA quiz and the RSA quest quiz material is outstanding! Kudos!

автор: Aswani K C

30 нояб. 2020 г.

Excellent course to learn number theory principles and relate them to asymmetric cryptosystems. The course is highly rigorous and challenging.

автор: Deepjyoti H P

30 июля 2020 г.

This course was amazing! Got a good, but brief insight into the basics of cryptography. The examples at the end of the course were great!

автор: Perumali S

14 июня 2020 г.

Its a good course to the beginers of cryptography.If you want to join you should know basic number theory and computer language python.

автор: Hepta M K

27 авг. 2020 г.

This course introduces one into the world of cryptograghy and was very interesting especially the RSA Quest.

автор: Ayrton C A d A

16 нояб. 2020 г.

Very good course to learn the basic concepts of number theory and cryptography, and how to implement them.

автор: Yin L H

4 авг. 2020 г.

I really appreciate the teachers' effort for the quests.

The most fascinating assignment ever.

автор: Manikant R

12 июня 2020 г.

Very challenging and exciting to. It was not math it seemed to be like more of puzzle games