Chevron Left
Вернуться к Конституционная борьба в мусульманском мире

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Конституционная борьба в мусульманском мире от партнера Копенгагенский университет

4.8
Оценки: 538
Рецензии: 155

О курсе

Learn what motivates the restive Muslim youth from Tunis to Tehran, what political positions Islamists from Mali to Chechnya are fighting for, where the seeming obsession with Islamic law comes from, where the secularists have vanished to, and whether it makes sense to speak of an Islamic state. Since 2009 there has been a renewed wave of popular unrest sweeping throughout much of the Muslim world. Secular, but generally repressive and inefficient autocracies have come under pressure or been swept aside entirely. At the same, the various Islamic Republics have not fared much better, but been convulsed by internal unrest, economic and social decline. Throughout the Muslim lands, existing constitutional arrangements are being challenged, often very violently. This course is a survey of the constitutional ideas and institutions that have developed since the mid 19th century throughout predominantly Muslim countries, but its focus will lie on the actors that have dominated this discourse and shaped its outcomes. We will look at the large body of classical writings on the Islamic state only in so far as it is necessary to understand the contemporary debate, but concentrate on the legal and political developments of the 20th and 21st centuries. Three common themes will characterise the course:  We privilege the study of the legal and social reality and seek to highlight where it is at odds with dogmatic stipulations, be they religious or constitutional.  We seek to illustrate the practical tensions posed by limited administrative capabilities and political legitimacy that resulted from the incomplete reception of modern bureaucratic statehood.  We seek to examine how popular dissatisfaction with the practical performance of Muslim governments has fuelled demands for greater accountability under the guise of cultural authenticity.  Ultimately, the course aims to equip participants to better understand Muslim contemporary discourse about the res publica, better contextualise the demands for religious law in public life, and to better ascertain the theoretical and practical feasibility of postulated religious alternatives to the still-dominant secular model of governance....

Лучшие рецензии

AC

Oct 04, 2017

As an International Relations student I must say this was an extremely useful course. I am very satisfied with the result and with the way that the Prof. Afsah approached each lesson. Congratulations!

LP

Nov 22, 2015

This course is really interesting and informative. It gave me a much better understanding for the history and politics behind some of the issues we are all facing today, and really broadened my mind.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 152 отзывов о курсе Конституционная борьба в мусульманском мире

автор: Sarah M

Feb 02, 2019

This course is the best online course I have taken. I loved how it was structured, the Professor spoke well and clearly and was extremely knowledgeable, and the readings were well chosen. I highly recommend this course to anyone who is interested in learning more about the Middle East, whether you are new, or intermediate. There are a lot of insights you can learn from.

автор: Mahmoud E

Jan 05, 2019

very good

автор: Arlind

Dec 19, 2015

I must say that this is one of the most inspiring, eye-opening and lucid courses I've ever taken at Coursera. While the emphasis is placed on the social and economic factors that shaped the Muslim societies, thus rendering the religious factor secondary, this course provides an alternative lense in understanding the region. I particularly like the way the instructor challenges the well-established narratives about the region and gives us the empirical/historical facts behind the real causes that shaped the Muslim world as we know it! I have already recommended it to all of my politically-minded friends and would do so the same for everyone else interested in the region or who wants to better understand the news at least :D

автор: Juan L P

Aug 21, 2016

Excelente, el mejor de los seis que he hecho en coursera

Excellent, the best of the six that I have done in Coursera

автор: Daithi M W

Apr 13, 2016

A fantastic course: immensely interesting, well-presented, relevant to the modern world, and very thought-provoking.

автор: Zhou H

Jan 26, 2016

Lots of knowledge, very worth learning!

这是一门介绍穆斯林世界各国古代、近代和当代情况的课程,也是详细分析其宗教、民族、经济、政治、军事等各方面因素交织冲突的课程。通过学习这门课程,我们能够对纷繁复杂的穆斯林世界有一个初步的了解,并可以找到进一步对其进行研究的途径。课程的内容丰富,观点鲜明且保持客观,同时还引述了大量对伊斯兰进行研究的学者及政治人物的著作、主张和事迹,堪称cousera文史类课程中的精品。

автор: Leanne P

Nov 22, 2015

This course is really interesting and informative. It gave me a much better understanding for the history and politics behind some of the issues we are all facing today, and really broadened my mind.

автор: Hiba J J J

Jul 14, 2016

The course is exceptionally informative, objective, but most of all, educational. It includes social, cultural, political and historial explanations of the Muslim World and above it all, it is very clear and straightforward.

автор: Ketevan K

Apr 22, 2017

I think it was best Course I ever took in online platforms.

автор: Carolina B

Jul 28, 2016

It's a great chance so we get to know important topics that we know very little about! Proffesor Ebrahim is a professional at the topic. Thanks a lot!

автор: GLENDA Y T M

Feb 23, 2016

Excelente presentación e información, especialmente para los que vivimos en CA y casi no tenemos acceso a estos temas cotidianamente

автор: Hafsa D

Jul 13, 2017

This was a very informative and well organized course. It holistically covered all the regions.

автор: Kit A

Jan 16, 2016

This is an amazing course. I learnt so much. Professor Afsah was very engaging and professional. It was a great learning experience to get a better understanding of this complex topic, to help understand the news better.

автор: Richard D

Aug 02, 2017

Really excellent course that has opened my eyes to the Muslim world in a way I couldn't have imagined. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who has any interest at all in understanding this very important area. I am extremely grateful for the opportunity to learn provided by the Professor and his team plus of course Coursera.

автор: Regina Z

Aug 11, 2016

Excellent Course. It can help you to better understand a region with a complicated past and a troubled presence.

автор: elizabeth e

Sep 20, 2016

I felt this course was fantastic - and it is my opinion that the course should be a requirement for all members of the US Senate and House of Representatives - as they might make less dumb decisions when pedalling democracy in Muslim countries. And I took the course because I felt I could learn a lot. And I did. Thanks to the University, Dr Afsah and Dr Afsah's team for a very pertinent and well done course.

автор: Si-Maan W

Dec 27, 2016

This is an outstanding piece of intellectual works that has opened my mind to understand Muslim's world systematically, removed my misconception and enabled me to connect with Muslim in greater openness and love. This is enlightening not only to Muslim worldview, but is relevant to every worldview that in process to harmonize the rationality and reality for better living.

автор: Barbara S L

Sep 12, 2016

One of the best courses I have taken recently. The professor provided informative and thought-provoking information and opened my mind to better understand how the history of the MENA helped to shape current struggles. I will take many more courses from this professor.

автор: arunoday g

Jun 08, 2016

Outstanding course and unique way of teaching such a complex subject!

автор: Miraz C

Jan 04, 2016

It was one of the greatest three months i have eve experienced. Thank you.

автор: Afaque R A

Mar 06, 2018

An absolute masterpiece. Excellent and a very thorough analysis. Very high quality, informative course which might have changed my personal preference in terms of pursuing a doctorate in Law / Islamic Law. Simply, respect and more respect for the Instructor for his oustanding scholarship, especially, for such a controversial and a sensitive subject. But sometimes, what needs to said, just needs to be said without sugar coating!

автор: Temur D

Jan 23, 2016

One of the best self-paced courses I've taken in a while. I would highly recommend to everyone interested in the history of Muslim countries. The course looks not only at the constitutional aspects of development of the Muslim countries, but to their development on the whole! Sign up and prepare yourself for a long, but a very interesting journey!!!

автор: Andreas U

Dec 13, 2015

I recommend this course to anyone interested in the historic background of the current situation in the Middle East. The course gave me an enlightening insight into the origins of many problems in this troubled region. Instead of merely describing historic facts Dr Afsah systematically analyses the historic and political structure of the Middle East.

автор: Ganapati K

Feb 27, 2016

Excellent comprehensive course, whether one happens to be a Muslim or otherwise, or living in a Muslim majority country or otherwise. Admittedly, every intricacy of the vastness of the subject cannot be covered, yet all aspects regionally have been covered by the Professor.

автор: Katsikaros E

Nov 05, 2015

Excellent mixture of historical, social, law and financial aspects of the areas examined.