Chevron Left
Вернуться к Музыка и общество

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Музыка и общество от партнера Йельский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 151
Рецензии: 55

О курсе

What is a musician’s response to the condition of the world? Do musicians have an obligation and an opportunity to serve the needs of the world with their musicianship? At a time of crisis for the classical music profession, with a changing commercial landscape, a shrinking audience base, and a contraction in the number of professional orchestras, how does a young musician construct a career today? Are we looking at a dying art form or a moment of reinvigoration? In this course we will develop a response to these questions, and we will explore the notion that the classical musician, the artist, is an important public figure with a critical role to play in society. The course will include inquiry into a set of ideas in philosophy of aesthetics; a discussion about freedom, civil society, and ways that art can play a role in readying people for democracy; discussion on philosophy of education as it relates to the question of positive social change; and an exploration of musical and artistic initiatives that have been particularly focused on a positive social impact. Guiding questions for this course inquiry will include: - How can classical music effect social change? - How has music made positive change in communities around the globe? - What can the field of classical music learn from other movements for social change? - How have educators and philosophers thought about the arts and their connection to daily contemporary life? Each class will explore one critical question through lectures, discussions, interviews, or documentaries....

Лучшие рецензии

DO
14 мар. 2018 г.

This is exactly what I needed. I have upgraded from just having a passion for music to having a passion for what music can do to the society. I am a better leader. Thank you YALE, thank you Coursera!

PP
29 июня 2020 г.

Very insightful course on music (not that much on specifically music, rather broadly all branches of art) can be used in practice of social action. Compelling professor.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 56 отзывов о курсе Музыка и общество

автор: Hana A

1 апр. 2018 г.

I really like this course. It´s more about critical thinking and using knowledge, then just learn some information. It was very inspiring for me.

автор: VALERIA B

5 июня 2020 г.

I thought the course was great!. I enjoyed all the lectures and videos, and hope to meet professor Sebastian personally some day.

автор: Estelle N

13 июня 2020 г.

A course that helped me refresh and affirm my intentions and motivations to continue pursuing music as a mode to social action.

автор: Sonja I

27 мая 2020 г.

This course has given me so much more than I had ever hoped for! A true eye-opener for anyone who is involved in the arts!

автор: Amber W

14 мая 2020 г.

Love this class very much interactive with students and Teacher, and I will take this learning experience with forever!!

автор: Jelena D

21 июля 2020 г.

I’ve had the opportunity to hear great things about how human creativity can move society toward progress.

автор: Gena V

2 мая 2016 г.

I am glad to have this course as it really makes me feel happy and teaches me more things I wanna know.

автор: Erick M

30 июля 2020 г.

Excellent and complete!

I learned so much and have new perspectives and new wide thinking.

Thanks.

автор: Maria G S B

17 авг. 2020 г.

The multimedia material explored in the course was excellent! I really enjoyed this course.

автор: Elena P

5 февр. 2017 г.

I would prefer except from the peer-view assignments, that a teacher could view them also.

автор: Arturo I R J

31 июля 2020 г.

Great course! I feel motivated and engaged with all the themes of the course

автор: Felipe V R

21 июля 2016 г.

Yale is the Best! really! my dream is study there! oh capitalism... =)

автор: Joaquín V M

17 февр. 2021 г.

A fantastic course and good coordination!

автор: Bart S

18 мар. 2016 г.

outstanding and thought provoking

автор: Nam N

4 окт. 2019 г.

This is very thought-provoking.

автор: Alberto E M R

9 июля 2021 г.

Great course on the subject

автор: Ayu

6 авг. 2019 г.

very good course

автор: Maria C L

22 июня 2020 г.

amazing course!

автор: Missagh D

28 апр. 2020 г.

Remarkable

автор: Adrian B C G

4 июня 2019 г.

The course was very interesting and had a lot of interesting insights. The problem was that a lot of the reading material was very difficult to get, if not impossible, so I felt that I missed a part of what I could've learned. Other than that I really enjoyed it.

автор: Katerina S

30 мая 2018 г.

Very interesting course. I would like to point out that some material is not accessible for international learners, like me. Appart from that it is a balanced course, with a lot of food for thought.

автор: Education J

3 мая 2016 г.

there wasn't' much classroom discussion lead by staff/or mentors. having more then two people peer-review would be ideal. readings were not easily accessible.

автор: Tan K L G

31 окт. 2020 г.

This course is a little confusing, as it is not just music but also art. As well as the relation of Social Action (political expects).

автор: Paul R

18 сент. 2021 г.

T​his was such a worthwhile course. An opportunity to discover how it might be possible to use one's practice for a greater good.

автор: AKHILA A

4 июля 2020 г.

I really enjoyed completing this course.