Chevron Left
Вернуться к The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

Отзывы учащихся о курсе The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910 от партнера Виргинский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,396

О курсе

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part Two begins early in the twentieth century, as older ways of doing things and habits of thought give way. What follows is an era of cataclysmic struggles over what ideas and institutions will take their place. The course concludes in the present day, as communities everywhere are transitioning into a new era of world history. Again we work hard to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? Again we are drawn to pivotal choices made at key moments by individuals and communities....

Лучшие рецензии

BD

11 дек. 2021 г.

Excellent course. I learned a lot, enjoyed the experience. Prof. Zelnikov is a master teacher. Thanks for the opportunity to listen and learn even after eight years after production of these lectures.

DE

18 мая 2022 г.

Our professor, Philip Zelikow is amazing!!!! I truly appreciate the time he spent making these outstanding lectures because I very much enjoyed every minute of them. Thank you so much for this course.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 384 отзывов о курсе The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

автор: Stacy K M

9 сент. 2018 г.

This part of history got short shrift when I was in school. This course was truly enjoyable and enlightening.

i feel as though these 14 weeks made up for a large gap in my education. Professor Zelikow is enlightening and packs a lot if information into this class. If you enjoy history at all, you will enjoy "The Modern World, Part Two Iand one): Global History since 1910.

автор: Charles G

17 мар. 2017 г.

Just like Part One, this course was simply awesome! I really appreciated the professor's approach and I enjoyed the videos, always looking for the next one to know more about the "story". I've learned a lot and I regret that it's over! I wish the professor would offer other courses, going into more detailson some specific aspects or moments in history.

автор: Hilde K

12 авг. 2016 г.

This was an easy to understand presentation of modern history. There was more than enough information and no conclusions. We were left to make of the world what we would. I would recommend this course to history buffs and history hates alike. Thank you for making a former history hater appreciate the world around her and how it came to be.

автор: Keelia L

3 дек. 2019 г.

I learned SO MUCH in this course! My previous education was often focused on local details and not on global trends, and included almost no economics or modern history from the 1970's onward. Prof. Zelikow explained both local and global events to provide context and filled in the gaps in my knowledge admirably. I highly recommend this course.

автор: Mark B

25 окт. 2015 г.

This course and its continuation should be obligatory for everyone to take either as an advanced course in high school or during college.

It will be very difficult for anyone to improve on this course. It presents in a superb way how the events in world history are interconnected, and analyzes history from numerous angles.

Mark Bergman

автор: ANA C C D R L

22 янв. 2016 г.

Great chance to have an overall understanding of the most important events of out time and being able to have it all opened up in detail, explained. At the end, you get confidence enough to be able to make your own judgment. No course could be better than this one in turning tin something easy to understand but not too simple.

автор: Fan Z

7 окт. 2015 г.

Excellent course! Professor Zelikow explains global events in a detailed and unbiased way, providing points of views of the different sides in historical events. He explains not only why something happened, but why did the other alternatives not prevail and how things could've turned out quite different indeed. Thank you!

автор: Skylar F

27 июня 2017 г.

Such a good class. The information was presented in well-rounded manner, with the teacher sometimes focusing on just one country, or other times, focusing on a topic, within several countries. He brings in pictures, film clips, propaganda, and music to help make history more tangible. I really appreciated this class!

автор: Wayne S

24 нояб. 2021 г.

Absolutely fantastic presenter keeping my interest in the subject-matter from one video to the next, helping me to have, what feels to me like, a very considerable overview of world events in the last 250 years.

автор: Bayram F D

12 дек. 2021 г.

Excellent course. I learned a lot, enjoyed the experience. Prof. Zelnikov is a master teacher. Thanks for the opportunity to listen and learn even after eight years after production of these lectures.

автор: Manjeet S N

24 сент. 2017 г.

excellent course for those who have not studied history as part of their academic curriculum. Course is slightly from American(USA) perspective of world events but nevertheless is highly informative.

автор: Shravya K

21 нояб. 2020 г.

The Professor was really passionate and took you throug the miniscule details of modern history that made the world the way they are. this is truly a global history course and i enjoyed it very much

автор: Marouane L

11 янв. 2022 г.

Excellent course, thoroughly presented and explained. This course will not only gain you more knowledge but it also will change your perspective of the world.

автор: David K

4 дек. 2021 г.

T​his was an excellent history course. It was well presented and well organized and it challenged participants to think historically.

автор: Ujjwal K

28 мая 2020 г.

The course though aims to give comprehensive overlook of key and major events it appears slightly tilted towards USA. It was great learning, this will help me understand the world developments better. History is inspiring. Thank you!

автор: Micheal P

11 июня 2020 г.

It was interesting but the last week became more speculation on the future rather than history. Interesting but also distracting.

автор: Adam U

15 апр. 2020 г.

I find it hard if not impossible to learn in prof. Zelikow's courses for this reason: his explanations are too general.

автор: Stuart B

6 апр. 2017 г.

Course is not for free and misleading.

автор: Ibraheem R

20 февр. 2020 г.

Hard Quizzes

автор: Eric C

1 сент. 2021 г.

Professor Phillip Zelikow was sensational and if I lived in Charlottesville (where the University of Virginia is) I'd try to be his friend. The best analogy I can think of is Vin Scully. I always loved Vin. When Vin did the Dodger game he spoke to you like he was sitting next to you at the game and just making a few comments. "You know Eric, Garvey has hit safely in 13 of his last 14 games and he's had an RBI or a run scored in all 13." I can imagine Phillip Zelikow sitting next to me and saying "Hey Eric, Have a look at this photo of the 1931 British Indian Round Table conference. Everybody is mugging for the camera, but not Gandhi. He's too cool." When he tells the story of Gorbachev trying to decide how to handle East Germany in the late 80's he puts his hand on his head like he's Gorbi trying to figure it out. When he briefly mentioned the German death camps he was so disgusted I thought for a minute he was getting ready to spit. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

автор: Paca N

1 июня 2020 г.

i have enjoyed the course very much. I am very proud of being able to follow the course in English, since I am Spanish. I have listened all videos and afterwards I have read the transcription in English, too. The teacher, Philip Zelikow is a terrific one¡¡ He teaches wonderfully and I love the way he makes us to think and analyze the facts. And I think he is quite impartial, too. I have enjoyed so much, that I am going to do the first part of the course, too. At the begining I just wanted to do the last years of hte Modern History, but I have realized that I need to do the first part (from 1760 - 1910) to have a better idea of these last years. I think it would be really worthy another course from 2013 till nowadays¡¡ Thank you

автор: Peter L

28 мар. 2022 г.

Well done!!!  I recently retired from a career in environmental engineering and thought I’d explore some areas I didn’t have a chance to pursue in college.  This course hit the mark.  I learned new things, I got a better understanding of how events were connected and most importantly I got some insight into why things may have evolved as they did.  This history course was much more than a barrage of dates and events.  By exploring the choices available at the time, it provided insight into why things happened.  Using the fact that history is the result of circumstances and choices is a powerful way to examine the past and can be applied to events of today as well.  Thank you for an excellent presentation.

автор: Frederick J G

15 мар. 2020 г.

I very much enjoyed the course despite its rapid pace and breath and scope of subject matter. It was a very nice review. Given that the course took us to 2013, I wonder if Professor Zelikow and others feel the transition period he noted between the 2nd and 3rd phases is becoming better defined - or perhaps more blurred. I do feel we are at a pivot or transition and try to look at the cause of problems and solutions to them. Perhaps we will one day have a course or chapter devoted to the political and economic consequences of the global pandemic when reviewing decisions made by national leaders. Stay healthy and thank you. Fred Gorrell, Ottawa, Canada

автор: Dario B

28 авг. 2020 г.

Great Professor, very logical explanations of the sequences of the world's events.

Key concepts explained with calm and supported by well thought materials.

This course is not just full of data, it teachs you how to understand the world's history using:

1) The interaction between the global and the local events.

2) The history unfold based on choices of people which faces situations, they faced problems and responded with certain solutions which in turn created new situations.

3) It helps you to understand why poeple choose certain solutions over others in certain key points of world history.