Chevron Left
Вернуться к Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
Оценки: 2,854
Рецензии: 555

О курсе

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Лучшие рецензии

FA

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

CC

Mar 29, 2018

Great course, it does help to have some background knowledge in another language but it is doable without any. goes through some fun projects but also some work usable items such as CSV parsing.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 543 отзывов о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

автор: Mazhar A

Apr 03, 2019

One of the best courses to start with for beginners.

автор: Lukasz s

Apr 12, 2019

Brilliant

автор: Ahrar H

Mar 04, 2019

Great way to learn new programming concepts!

автор: Jayawardhanage S M J

Mar 05, 2019

A very appropriate and organized course for Java learning. Highly recommended.

автор: Elias Y

Mar 08, 2019

Great!!

автор: pratik k

Jan 05, 2019

best course i have learned online

автор: Chung E ( C

Jan 06, 2019

I think the professor should consider getting a hair cut.

автор: TianJie S

Dec 07, 2018

Great course. Let the students dedicated to coding

автор: Suhash B

Dec 24, 2018

Very Intuitive..

автор: Ying B

Dec 08, 2018

I love this subject because it is all about practice!! It led me in steady steps to build programs, algorithms and small projects from scratch. By making mistakes in these real problems, I learned faster than before when I relied on simply reading books about Java by myself.

автор: Siyuan P

Mar 11, 2019

Very good course.

автор: stefano d c d

Jul 16, 2018

excellent learning

автор: Reda R

Jul 14, 2018

The videos was very informative, also the exercises was very related to the content and useful.I loved the course material.Thanks to staff for their great work.

автор: Nancy W

Sep 11, 2018

I had been out of programming for many years, and decided to try this Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software course by Duke University on Coursera.org. I really liked the course! It is a great review for me of Java programming basics, without the technical jargon that goes along with object oriented programming. The really nice part is that I can see object oriented principles in action! I enjoyed the way Duke University uses the 7 step process for solving problems consistently through the course. They break problems down into small, manageable pieces, that build up to solving a larger problem. Some concepts include: Basic Java syntax, definitions of class, instance variables and methods (functions); variables, For each loops, While loops, Strings, Java types and Java mathematical operators. The assignments were interesting, and include calculating the perimeter of a shape, finding genes in a strand of DNA, working with CSV formatted files to analyze weather data and to find exports from different countries, and finishing with a MiniProject to find interesting trends in American Baby Names from a CSV formatted data files. The Honors assignment was also fun: processing multiple images to convert them to gray scale, or invert the images, and save them with a new filename. Another really nice aspect of this course is that you use a Duke University (on Coursera) version of BlueJ, an interactive design environment for creating Java programs - where everything is a class! The instructors at Duke have created their own java library, with classes to help new learners easily open and close files in the BlueJ environment, and work with Pixels in an image. Duke also has good documentation for each class, which to me, is better than the documentation on the java oracle website. While the Java documentation on the oracle website is still very difficult to read, I have gotten used to looking some documented class, like Strings, and clicking on the "methods" tab to look at what you can do with them. However, you really do not need to refer to the Java Oracle documentation to complete the assignments - all you need is the documentation from Duke University! I really liked this class!

автор: Rajasekar D

Sep 24, 2018

The final quiz could be made more challenging.

автор: Sheldon T

Sep 26, 2018

Focuses on algorithm development using the 7-step process while teaching beginning Java.

автор: Maidel F

Sep 12, 2018

It was a great course for me, you can prepare to grow in your career and resume the concepts I had forgotten. You have exercises to practice everything you are learning.

автор: Snigdha U

Sep 12, 2018

Loved the complete course.

Finished it within a week.

Coming from an automotive background having not done coding in the past 2 years, I had taken this course as a challenge.

I had very little knowledge of C++ and fair enough knowledge of MATLAB, and i found this course very engaging that i turned on my zombie studying mode and just did this until I finally finished it. Looking to take the next course in the specialization.

The instructors have done a splendid job and the efficacy of the course can be seen in the completion of the course by a student like me.

автор: Karim M E

Sep 13, 2018

amazing course takes great efforts

автор: Aurangazeeb A K

Sep 15, 2018

Java lessons are presented in a simple and fun way. The lesson are very easy to understand for any beginner.

автор: Alexander I

Aug 28, 2018

Great course. At first it was a bit tough but slowly but surely you immerse into it and learn the ropes. Many thanks!

автор: Jan O

Aug 30, 2018

Have learned a lot and it is a great course. Would recommend it any time.

автор: ZUsas

Oct 07, 2018

Beutifully done! Well organized. The assignments were challenging, but were well documented, so it was easy to follow along and complete them.

The two projects at the end of the course were terrific as well. I really enjoyed working on them and then showing them to friends and family.

The videos were clear, coherent and concise. I could watch them on the go and sometimes all at once. I loved that flexibility. The topics were also well chosen. Basic programming. But still quite challenging.

Excellent course! I highly recommend it. I look forward to completing the rest of the specialization as well.

автор: Khaidem S S

Oct 17, 2018

Great course for a low price but the contents of the course can be improved by giving more examples as the software we used here is a bit duke university software. I am surprised that I had to use duke university libraries which gave me a bit of discomfort since I was used to the open source libraries.

автор: Purvansh P

Oct 16, 2018

very nice course it is.