Chevron Left
Вернуться к Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
Оценки: 2,988
Рецензии: 581

О курсе

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Лучшие рецензии

FA

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM

Oct 16, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Фильтр по:

501–525 из 568 отзывов о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

автор: Chenzhe S

Oct 07, 2019

WEEK 2 was not very clearly Hope can have some improvements.

автор: shukla v a

Sep 21, 2019

this course is very helpful for computer science students. It helps us to improve our programming skills in java.

автор: Jerrold

Sep 25, 2019

Fantastic course. Great assignments and lectures

автор: shayue

Oct 01, 2019

Some questions can be described more clearly.

автор: Mikhail K

Dec 09, 2018

It started fine, but then turned out it's a somewhat weird course. First of all, who uses Oracle Java IDE in the middle of 2010th? Secondly, the course doesn't really follow the OOP and Functional programming guidelines. Overall it's worth it if you are a complete newbie

автор: Vin T

Feb 21, 2019

The course material is, all in all, good. However, I feel some of the latest updates for the JAVA language are not in line with the course material. In short, the content feels a bit outdated. Tutors take long to respond to questions so I would justify that for non-paying users. Finally, the course really challenges you as a beginner and that is good. However, as a paying user, I am expecting to finish each course within the suggested guidelines and not 3 weeks beyond that point. The practice parts for this course take up quite longer than expected. My suggestions will be to update the course material, make the practice parts shorter and get tutors more involved in daily questions.

автор: Krisztian T

Sep 21, 2018

I really liked their seven step approach which I found useful for finding solution to the problems. I also liked the problems in the excercises, because they are not so detailed so lot of own search is needed, BUT the use of their own libraries make this harder because those are also not widely used in the real world.

What I didn't like is their BlueJ environment, because its much harder to use than Eclipse or Netbeans and even not worth the get experience with because in the real world it just doesn't exists. Fortunately you can set your IDE to be used, there are some tutorials in the forums. The other con is the usage of their own libraries, which were designed to help, but make the tasks even harder to accomplish (there are no stackoverflow or any tutorial related) and makes your progress and the outputs far from reality.

автор: Shankaranarayanan K R

Sep 04, 2016

More technical aspects could have been touched upon. Details on how to implement code on any java platform using inbuilt java libraries and several others.

автор: Andrew E

Feb 26, 2018

The course is okay, but I was disappointed with a few aspects. First, the use of BlueJay as the coding environment. Outside of a university, I can't imagine anyone uses this. The rationale may be that it "protects the user from the complexities of IntelliJ or Eclipse", but that is flawed reasoning. Shielding someone from the inevitable is actually unproductive, and so I completed the course in IntelliJ by importing the libraries and it was no more difficult to learn. Second, some of the lessons were very peculiar because they literally taught the wrong idiom. One that leaps to mind had to do with the length of an array, and they produced code like "var < array.length() - 4). You would never write such a thing in the real world. You COULD, but you would not. So I felt that many lessons led future programmers down a path they will have to "unlearn" at some later point in their programming experience.

автор: Amio G C

Aug 27, 2016

This course has very interesting programming examples and the exercises are really challenging. The philosophy of this course is to teach through example problems by explaining and solving them.

The exercises are very well designed and reinforce the concepts very well. But, the later exercises might be a bit hard for an absolute beginner. Nevertheless, once you can successfully solve an exercise set, you can be sure that you have mastered the related concepts.

By the way, this course uses many custom libraries which actually help in writing interesting programs to solve real life problems. The course resource page with detailed documentations is really helpful.

Personally, I enjoyed the course. If you have some basic programming skills and want to solve interesting problems, you should give this course a try.

автор: Asif K

Jan 22, 2016

I feel like we're left behind by the teachers of this course. The teaching style does not help in getting the right code to work.

автор: Rasika V

Aug 29, 2017

It starts off well, but week 2 is ridiculously rough. After getting past that, I struggled with the Miniproject, because, again, it was structured poorly. I had a number of software problems with FileResource and BlueJ, and of course, the mentors were never available to help. While I eventually was able to finish the course, I would've appreciated more guidance. I really enjoyed Course 1, but this was a waste of time and money.

автор: Lungu C

Jan 19, 2017

A bit complicated for a beginner.

автор: vedansh s

Mar 16, 2017

Its a good course for beginners

автор: 路明鑫

Oct 31, 2016

There exist some sort of help for solving programming.However, those bad quiz as well as not so comprehensive courses design totally ruin it.

автор: Ruilong J

Sep 27, 2017

Some of the important details are missing when i try to do the quiz. For example, when i am trying to do the assignment i do not know how to iterate over all the data files because neither the videos nor the reading info gave me the answer i need so i have to google it. However, i still learn a lot from this course, too. Great classes to take and sometimes it gets a little bit tricky.

автор: Belinsky A

Jun 28, 2018

Slow pace and long dialogues.

автор: Tobias V D

Aug 08, 2017

I feel it goes to strongly to solving the excercises instead of explaining throughly how things work "below".

автор: Devul N

Jul 23, 2017

This course was overall a good course and taught me a lot of things, but the discussion page wasn't that helpful, as the questions were not being answered regularly. It is for this reason i am giving this course 3 out of 5 stars.

автор: Erdem O

Feb 06, 2018

The content is good but they use the 3rd party Java libraries, not the standard one so It makes it pretty much useless as you don't get to learn anything in Java programming.

автор: Deleted A

Dec 24, 2017

the way practice assignments are written is very confusing and misleading at times. please improve on the writing style. it takes time to understand what the written instructions mean. its very difficult to complete assignments otherwise!

автор: Alessandro

Jul 21, 2017

You should have some Java skills before to do this course

автор: Fabricio

Nov 07, 2015

The staff of this course is really nice, that's the best part of it. Unfortunately, in my opinion this course is not intended for real beginners. From class one I struggled trying to understand what was going on. This may be because instead of just using a typical ide like eclipse or netbeans, they use bluejay, which works different than the rest of ides. In addition, programs used in the course are pretty confusing (If you know 0 Java). I learned most of the basic concepts (classes, methods) for whole week 1 from a single 15 minute video-course from youtube without all the struggling. As I mentioned this only applies if you are a total newbie, if you already know some Java I think you'll be fine.

автор: Mathurshan V

Nov 16, 2015

Good for novice developers trying to learn Java. Not good for experienced developers trying to learn Java.

автор: vacous

Jan 06, 2017

It is overall an ok course. Samiliarly as a programming intro class, IMO, the quality, range from the project design and content originzation, is no where close to the IIPP offered by Rice. I do not enjoy this course as much as I did in IIPP.

If you are just interested in getting touch with programming, instead of learning Java like I, go to take IIPP.

I think the first week should appear later, probably should be swapped with week 2 or even 3. The first week class was just super confusing without knowing the basic concept like vairable type declearation and the connection between different methods.

Good Luck!!!