Chevron Left
Вернуться к Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
Оценки: 2,998
Рецензии: 581

О курсе

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Лучшие рецензии

FA

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM

Oct 16, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Фильтр по:

526–550 из 568 отзывов о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

автор: Jose U

Jan 12, 2017

The content was useful and I do feel a foundation is being set.

The area where I think the course fell short is on the support we got from mentors or instructors in the forum, basically null - pun intended. There are some points where it's easy to fall into a rabbit hole, like I did. Without support, a simple challenge supposed to take a few minutes can turn into hours, days.

автор: Chintan

Oct 28, 2015

Need to show more stuff on Java instead of focusing on using BlueJ and stuff.

автор: Charles B

May 19, 2017

Week 2 needs to be fixed.

автор: Felipe M

Jan 26, 2018

It is a nice course for people who are just starting to program to feel the power of writing software for solving real world problems. The assignments posted are challenging enough and shed light on some of the reasoning necessary to write working software. But it does not encourage to create custom methods to help keep the code clean, sometimes solving some of the assignments following the instructions led to many 'for' and 'if' nests which made the code difficult to read and boring to write.

автор: Peter L

Mar 24, 2019

Why must we be forced to use BlueJ? Also, from explanation to problems the learning curve is slightly steep. Would be better with more practical walkthrough coding examples first.

автор: Shavonn D

Aug 03, 2019

A good course overall, however, there is little training given on how to debug and identify coding errors. Every mistake needs to be closely looked at, with a lot of trial and error approaches, which were greatly tedious. The time estimations on the last two weeks of assignments, were fairly off from the actual time taken (Given as 10 mins, took 2 hours easily!!).

The course is good, but is not supplemented with the best Java platform to debug and understand, and the quizzes can be very irritating since a small roadblock in coding, can lead to stalling for hours. Without being able to pass the quiz, there is no way to proceed or even fix the code.

автор: Noran H

Sep 16, 2019

Not for a beginner level at all , The estimated times for the exercises is so much less than the required the exercises require hours ,, week 2 is difficult and require alot of time:|

автор: Manigandan S

Sep 22, 2019

This course is definitely not for beginners. But people with little knowledge on JAVA or coding of any other language will find this useful. Assignments are really helpful

автор: Olga V

Nov 09, 2018

Do not recommend this course and this specialization for beginners. The first part of the specialization was even good, bit this one went considerably worse. Maybe worthy to make only if you have an experienced developer on your side to help you. Most likely, you're going to be really frustrated. Had high expectations on this courses, sadly was disappointed. Poor and unclear explanations, too complicated and multiple assignments, everything moves too fast for a beginner. Plus using a BlueJ environment which nobody in a real world uses.

автор: YiWei C

Mar 10, 2019

I do not think it is helpful enough.

It just tells lots of basic things.

автор: Subhrangshu A

Nov 05, 2018

Course taught up to like beginner level, assignments are like PhD level. Need to read from other sources, in depth, to solve these assignments.

автор: Суслина Э В

Apr 09, 2016

It is really not for beginners. The first week was ok , but we didn't spend much time coding. Then it was really difficult to follow.

автор: Shachi P

Aug 23, 2016

This course is really hard, and I am having ALOT trouble understanding it. Overall, it is not one of the best courses I have taken.

автор: Kirk S

Jun 27, 2017

The instructors were not around for help or commentary and the videos and lessons were sub-par.

автор: Andreas M

Oct 17, 2017

i think its not for beginners

автор: Rick P

Oct 25, 2017

The data set in the genome studies was too large for mine - and judging by the forums - others computers memory to compile. Which made some of the exercises/tests very difficult to complete. Also, a few of the tests seemed to have at best unclear questions and at worst plain wrong. &-:

автор: Nadav Z

Nov 10, 2015

Couldn't fiish the course. Not hard, but exhausting and not interesting.

автор: Felicia K

Oct 27, 2015

Could not get through the first week. Way too much emphasis on BlueJ and Duke University specific libraries. I I already have a decent foundation in coding and took the course with the idea I could get a refresher on Java. If your a beginner there are way better courses out there. This course is all over the place and I could see it being confusing for someone just picking up programming.

автор: lee h

Mar 13, 2018

Video instructors are knowledgeable, and I like the challenge of the assignments. But I recently got stuck on an assignment and went to the discussion forum for help. No response from any of the moderators or peers. Plus the codesnippet tool to post code to the forum is absolute crap. Will not format any code even if it is written in line by line. I have been fruitless trying to search for help outside of this course so far as well.

Lots of wasted time.

I really want to finish the class, but I doubt I will ever waste my money on these Duke\Java classes again. I will go elsewhere.

автор: Chadrick A E

Apr 01, 2018

The instruction for the first week was quite basic and taught the learner little about how to actually write code in Java. However the assignments, which scarcely reflect the instruction, dive into code you were not taught how to write, and at a level well beyond any reasonable estimation of a true beginner. The assignment instructions are somewhat confusing and the necessary resources are scattered here and there. The first quiz reflected the homework, and so was likewise beyond anything that was actually taught. As well, its resources have to be gathered from here and there. The discussion board is rife with complaints echoing what I just wrote, as well as complaints about the basic course design and organization problems. These complaints are an ongoing issue, and stretch for almost a year back. Unless you are a fair hand at programming in a related language already, I would not sign up for this course.

автор: Алексей

Sep 16, 2018

Using custom libraries is very bad for students. We must study java core not some custom libraries.

BlueJ also a bad choise, even the notepad or the vim are better for understanding the compilation process. Also there is no peer reviewed assignments.

автор: William H

Jul 17, 2018

NOT FOR BEGINNERS AT ALL

автор: Kartikey p

Jul 13, 2018

Not organised properly. And it is stated that this course is for beginners. But the concepts and their usage is not properly explained.

автор: Natalie R

Nov 08, 2017

This course is a huge disappointment. It is impossible to start the first assignment due to lack of information or examples of any kind. Many of the students have posted the same issue on the discussion forum and we are receiving no answers from mentors. This specific class is extremely frustrating and a huge waste of time. I am not the only one who thinks this!!!!! Someone should fix this class before they loose a lot of subscriptions because students are frustrated!!!!!

автор: Naman G

Mar 20, 2018

titd