Chevron Left
Вернуться к Java for Android

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Java for Android от партнера Университет Вандербильта

4.5
Оценки: 1,109
Рецензии: 289

О курсе

This MOOC teaches you how to program core features and classes from the Java programming language that are used in Android, which is the dominant platform for developing and deploying mobile device apps. In particular, this MOOC covers key Java programming language features that control the flow of execution through an app (such as Java’s various looping constructs and conditional statements), enable access to structured data (such as Java's built-in arrays and common classes in the Java Collections Framework, such as ArrayList and HashMap), group related operations and data into classes and interfaces (such as Java's primitive and user-defined types, fields, methods, generic parameters, and exceptions), customize the behavior of existing classes via inheritance and polymorphism (such as subclassing and overriding virtual methods). Learners will apply these Java features in the context of core Android components (such as Activities and basic UI elements) by applying common tools (such as Android Studio) needed to develop Java programs and useful Android apps. Learners will work on several hands-on projects throughout the MOOC, i.e., each week will require learners to write solutions to programming assignments that reinforce the material covered in the lecture videos. There will be roughly 4-6 hours of student engagement time per week, including video lectures, quizzes, and programming assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

SV

Jun 28, 2018

Excellent !! As a beginner I found this course a major kick-start to building a strong base for my Android app skills. A lot of practice needed though, but these videos would keep me going well

AA

Jun 24, 2017

This course is very good to learn the basics of Java and how to write a Java code in a object oriented manner. Ths course helped me to learn how to write more efficient and scalable code.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 289 отзывов о курсе Java for Android

автор: paul s k

Mar 04, 2019

This course is poorly done. The videos are not up to date with the current versions of the tools they are using. I thoroughly enjoyed how there is multiple parts in the second module where they could not bother to edit the video's when things where misread.

I also liked how the first module jumps into talking about super classes, interfaces, polymorphism, abstraction, and inheritance. Then tell you not to worry about fully understanding these concepts as its an introductory course and will cover it more in depth later. Followed by a quiz on said concepts.

I have already done some courses and have an understanding of object oriented programming. I could figure my way thru this hodge podge course but this does not sit well with me. Considering this course is asking for more money then the other courses I have taken, and has by far had the least upkeep done, I do not feel its justified.

Considering this question is on the first quiz..

Which of the following are expectations of learners who take this MOOC, according to the lessons in this module?

The correct answers are:

-You are expected have basic computer literacy skills, such as knowing how to send & receive emails and browse the web.

-You are expected to be interested in both the concepts and practice of developing mobile apps

This course has already failed on delivering what it is promising people. I would recommend the instructors here take some of the Duke University courses to get some pointers and redo this course properly.

Ask me how I really feel.... :P

автор: Bruce W

Jun 11, 2018

The Android studio used in the course is at least 2 major revisions old. Projects do not match the current API levels or AVD devices. eg. Android studio 3.1.3 will not compile the application from week 1 without complaining. I'm glad that I decided to audit the course before paying for it. Needless to say I won't be.

автор: Gaylen C

Sep 23, 2017

The information is out of order for people very new to Java, which makes it difficult to learn with the class. You'll spend a lot of time doing outside research and trying to find examples of code that the instructors fail to present in the lectures.

The assignments are rather hard for the scope of what this class is trying to accomplish. For example, this relies a lot on math--which, while useful to programming, isn't necessary to learn the language in the first place. The instructors aren't very helpful with explaining things you don't understand because of "Coursera's honor code". This makes the learning process both difficult and aggravating. And the reward of possibly figuring it out is not worth the hours you'll spend trying to work it out.

The assignments also contain problems that was not properly gone over within the lectures. So, if you don't have a lot of time to devote to researching the topics yourself, I suggest you skip this one. The forums are so-so in terms of helping you understand things. The instructors and mentors tend to just repeat directions at you instead of listing another example or further explaining how to figure out a problem that they never properly explained in the first place.

There is also a final peer-graded assignment for a beginner's class, which must be reviewed by so many people to even be considered as "complete." Plenty of people have complained about having to switch to the next course because they can't get enough reviews on their assignment. You must also review 5 assignments, or 10% of your grade is penalized. This is definitely not a class for people looking to learn in their spare time. The amount of estimated time per week is also grossly understated due to the very vague explanations and difficult quizzes and assignments. So, again, don't take this if you don't have a lot of spare time to devote to it.

I very, very, very rarely ever rate anything below a 3/5 on websites because it's usually just a matter of not liking the course. But I feel compelled to echo what many others who have not completed the course are saying in the hopes that this course will be revised to be made learnable and passable. I wish I had trusted the negative reviews before wasting my time on this. I'm usually excited to learn things. But I absolutely hate this course. It's impossible to feel like I know anything at all while trying to progress through it.

автор: Steven G

Feb 14, 2019

This class does a good job in quickly teaching students the basics of Java and Object-Oriented Programming concepts. However, the assignment files and teaching instructions for Android Studio are out of date.

автор: Jade F

Jan 09, 2019

This is a 5 star course - I worried that this first course in the specialization would gloss over the details of Java in order to get you into apps, but I was wrong - these instructors will teach you very good Java practices and by the end of the course you will have a broad exposure to the Java programming language.

This is a high quality course that check all the boxes of a great Coursera program - professional instructors, well constructed programming assignments with unit tests, and lots of content to work through.

You get a lot of Java here - I'd actually recommend this one to anybody looking for Java training. Android specific material comes in later courses - this one if a very confidently delivered overview of Java.

автор: Vadher H

Jun 15, 2019

Perfect

автор: Gaurav d k

Jun 14, 2019

nice learning experience

автор: awais a

Jun 10, 2019

great

автор: Yashika V

Jun 06, 2019

Productive course with excellent learning outcomes and learning assignments.

автор: Bhaumik P

Jun 01, 2019

It was great in depth course.

It will help me a lot in future as android developer

автор: muhammed m e

May 30, 2019

wonderful...

автор: Arpan M

May 29, 2019

I am Happy

автор: Prabhjot S

May 24, 2019

In my opinion, this mooc has pretty hard assignments to do, for basic things like 'for loop', they had created such tough assignments which require high thinking & logic.

автор: Georgios K

May 15, 2019

Helps a lot especially the exercises.

автор: Sudhanshu C

Apr 29, 2019

It's great content to learn

автор: Rahhi B

Apr 29, 2019

Good course to explore more knowledge in an Android development

автор: Deleted A

Apr 26, 2019

its good

автор: Surya K

Apr 10, 2019

good resource

автор: Rishu R

Apr 10, 2019

Great for JAVA

автор: manish m u

Apr 09, 2019

Very good course for beginners all topics are in depth from basics

автор: Ganesh R

Apr 09, 2019

very good course

автор: Shikhar T

Apr 05, 2019

teacher made this course vary easy to understand

автор: Neelesh

Apr 02, 2019

good

автор: Lalith M

Apr 02, 2019

good

автор: Urvashi

Apr 01, 2019

nice course