Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to HTML5

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to HTML5 от партнера Мичиганский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 10,102
Рецензии: 2,540

О курсе

Thanks to a growing number of software programs, it seems as if anyone can make a webpage. But what if you actually want to understand how the page was created? There are great textbooks and online resources for learning web design, but most of those resources require some background knowledge. This course is designed to help the novice who wants to gain confidence and knowledge. We will explore the theory (what actually happens when you click on a link on a webpage?), the practical (what do I need to know to make my own page?), and the overlooked (I have a page, what do I do now?). Throughout the course there will be a strong emphasis on adhering to syntactic standards for validation and semantic standards to promote wide accessibility for users with disabilities. The textbook we use is available online, “The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming” by Michael Mendez from www.opensuny.org. This course will appeal to a wide variety of people, but specifically those who would like a step-by-step description of the basics. There are no prerequisites for this course and it is assumed that students have no prior programming skills or IT experience. The course will culminate in a small final project that will require the completion of a very simple page with links and images. The focus of this course is on the basics, not appearance. You can see a sample final page at http://intro-webdesign.com/html5-plain.html. This is the first course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on the marketable skills of styling the page with CSS3, adding interactivity with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. You can see a sample site for the capstone course at http://intro-webdesign.com/...

Лучшие рецензии

AB

Sep 27, 2017

I really enjoyed everything about this course. I thought the exercises/quizzes were fair and the instructor showed me many things that will serve me well going forward. Great course, great instructor!

CR

Jan 31, 2016

Exceptional course, taught by a friendly, talented teacher. Perfect introduction to HTML. While the course seems to be still under development (there is the odd typo or the like) it's a great start.

Фильтр по:

1976–2000 из 2,493 отзывов о курсе Introduction to HTML5

автор: Angelo D D

Jul 21, 2016

G

автор: Abayomi P

Feb 16, 2016

.

автор: Ahamed A

Feb 11, 2016

F

автор: Kristina T

Feb 08, 2016

G

автор: Wanda J

Aug 07, 2016

When I started this course, my only experience with HTML was <b> bold</b>, <i> italic</i>, and <u>underline</u>. After this course I have a much clearer understanding of what HTML is, and how it works, and I am able to now use it to a much greater extent than I was before.

The professor did an excellent job of explaining most things, but I did find that on occasion I had to stop the video and go back several times to understand what she'd said or to take notes, despite having slowed the video down as much as possible. (In my opinion, one should be able to slow the video down more than is currently possible, especially for those for whom English is not their native tongue.) With me, it wasn't that I didn't understand what she said so much as I didn't have time to take in what she meant before she'd gone on to something else.

I understand that Coursera is able to do what it does because of its method, which is basically independent study; one watches the videos, and reads whatever resources are listed, and goes on from there. If there is a question, it is not the professor in the videos that the question is asked of, but people hired as "teaching aides". These are the people (other than fellow students) who answer your questions, and they do not always answer in a 'timely' fashion. While this method works well for some people, I am quite sure there are others unable to learn with this method, especially if the subject turns out to be a more complicated, intensive one. Some people need to have a little more than just videos which they can only repeat over and over with the same information, hoping to learn something new from it.

The only other thing I have a problem with is the lack of oversight/security. There's no way of knowing if the person who 'earns' a certificate is the person they claim to be, or if they earned the scores given.

All in all, I think Coursera is a great tool, and well worth the low prices charged; I am sure there are plenty of courses still remaining (after the 'purge') that I would love to take.

автор: Gaute M F

Feb 07, 2020

The course was great. If you read all the information, watch the lectures, read up on the information again, including the small things that you didn't quite get, you are actually at the end of class ready to make a decent HTML5 webpage. The information Collen introduces for us is important and she is to the point. And as she stresses herself, it is important to play around with HTML while you are learning it. That said, there is a reason the class gets 4 and not more stars. There are spelling mistakes on the slides she uses. Some she mentions and others she does not. I don't mind a word or two being misspelled, but when code is missing it is a little more serious. Why? Because we write down the slides, and if we are not careful, and we don't remember everything after a long period away from HTML, those slides with HTML code where things are missing is not a helper. There is also some contradiction between what her slides say and the book she recommends. That one you will find out when you are taking a quiz and don't know the answer, because you have two authorities telling you conflicting information. The quizzes have some mistakes in them, which means if you are like me and want to get a 100% score, that test will have to taken a few times. I see students have reacted on this for at least a year, but this is not corrected. It might be difficult now that everything is in place and can't be changed, but one could certainly give a heads up notice. Point being, going over all the slides and all before the course was put online, was not done. The last part I want to mention is that the final project is too easy. Much more assignments could have been given in this part. I mean, we are here to learn. And the questions which are mostly yes and no questions your peers, which are correcting the final project can't detail, means you can pass with flying colors without knowing HTML very good. But all in all, it is definitely worth 4 stars.

автор: Bob C

Oct 15, 2015

'Introduction to HTML5' course is a very general introduction to HTML5 for beginners. The professor doesn't assume you know anything about Web development or even how files are uploaded to a host website. The course covers a brief history of the Web, basic HTML5 elements, URL terminology, Accessibility, Semantics, and basic FTP & Web hosting software like C-Panel. Forms and other advanced topics are not covered.

The class is presented in a laid back style and uses non-technical language which is easy to understand. The quality of the video and audio are excellent. Supplemental books (pdf) and links to Youtube videos are provided and are useful.

The duration of some of the lectures seemed too long, even when using 2X playback speed. With some of the quizzes, the professor expected you to read her mind and were worded in a subjective manner.

The Accessibility section seemed a little too preachy for me. Also, the final project was convoluted and the instructions were vague. The final project really ended up being a 9 or 10 question quiz that gave you hints on how to code the final project.

In summary, take this course if you are a complete beginner. Otherwise, you won't learn much if you have more than 2 months of experience in front end Web development.

автор: Meghan M

Mar 15, 2020

I thought this course, for the most part, was very thorough. I feel confident that I can create an HTML file. However, I wish the instructor would have spent less time on validating the code and more time on uploading the html file online. When I tried to use cyberduck, it was a little different than what the instructor showed. That made me feel a bit frustrated. I basically kinda had to teach myself how to put the html file on the web (so that the url started with http instead of file:///). Because I found that part to be the most difficult part of the course, I wish the final project required you to put it on the web for the public to see instead of just submitting your html file. I was very proud of myself when I figured out how to do this and I am glad that I took an extra step and tried to figure this out even though it's not required. Overall, I thought the course was pretty thorough and and easy to follow. I like the Coursera courses through the University of Michigan and this one did not disappoint. I don't love the University of Michigan (I went to ND for undergrad :) go Irish) but I have a lot of respect and appreciation for their Coursera courses.

автор: Jin H O

Nov 12, 2019

Overall, I think this is a pretty good course. It is specifically geared for complete newbies, and due to peer grading, it does feel like a virtual classroom environment.

I docked a point because I felt that there are some quirks. The lectures themselves are fine -- however, I don't think the quizzes and projects match up completely with the lecture material. Some things, you are just expected to know by reading the online textbook and are thus not taught them in the lectures. The same pitfall I found in offline courses, which I feel is a bit unnecessary in online courses which don't have the same time constraints vs. the amount of material that has to be covered. But I'd hate to end this review on a bad note, because I really liked the course. It had a very positive and encouraging vibe, Dr. van Lent was very nice, friendly, and very clear in her lectures. She broke down CODE of all things into easily understood ideas. The chunks of material per week were just the right amounts to be encouraging and informative at the same time. I am registered for her CSS course and look forward to learning more from her!

автор: Ana K

Mar 14, 2016

I'd give it a 3.5, but it's not possible so I'm leaning more towards a 4 than a 3.

The most positive thing about the course was Prof. van Lent who really knows her stuff. She also has a calm, soothing manner of explaining things and moves with it at the right pace.

The content was easy to follow and quizzes were useful. Final assignment was messed up and they really should fix that, but the additional eight questions were basically a transcript of the code itself, and if you did your own code, you shouldn't have had any problem distinguishing the bad code from the good one. Extra stuff for those who successfully finished the course was a nice touch.

The real downside of it all was the 'staff'. I got my question answered nine days after I posted it, when I had already finished. I've also seen some rude and condescending yet sparse answers to other students. Similar (but worse) things happen in CSS3 course as well. I don't know who those people are and how they got their jobs, but they should be replaced. Or sent to professional conduct and time management class.

автор: Barry S

Aug 04, 2016

I would have given this course 5 stars if not for the final exam, which is to look at a jpeg and then write code to make a web page look exactly like the jpeg. The issue is that there are many ways to get a page to look like the image and you will still fail the exam. The course creators have realized this and you now have supporting questions that you can pass the course on even if your page code is not validated as correct. In my opinion there are so many better ways this final exam could have been handled, for instance i would have like to have seen a few more questions in the exam, and once passed you could see a forum area open up for us all to paste our code in or link to a page where we could discuss with teachers and moderators etc. personally I believe that sort of approach would add more value.

The above being said the content of the course is excellent for beginners with an eye opening focus on accessibility and good content on the DOM structure. The course will provide you with a good set of tools to get a basic page up on the internet.

автор: Clinton B

Dec 28, 2017

So far I really like the structure and pedagogical paradigm of this course. The video lectures are also quite good, although I do wonder if there should be just a few more visual examples for some of the more "theoretical" content in some of the video lectures (ideally very quick and visually clear). It is noted that some examples of this nature are already present, and they are appreciated. The main reason the course is just shy of perfect for me is that it is just a little bit rough around the edges: A few of the videos and at least 1 quiz needs to be updated, and better integration of and reminders for readings are needed. Right now all the readings for the first 2 weeks are just dumped at the beginning of week 1 with nearly no context, and then not mentioned again even though questions about the reading appear on the quiz!

Overall very good, just needs a tune-up.

автор: John M

Feb 14, 2019

Good intro to HTML5. I rated it 4 stars because I feel the instructor spent too much time on accessibility and validation. Although important, 1 video might have been enough. As a web designer/developer I worked for several major international companies and accessibility/validation was never a high priority with them. I had to go to the mat at times to get them to change their standards. When the instructor did discuss accessibility, she should have provided examples of what a reader looks like and how they are used.

Also, there were several quiz questions about the info in some of the OPTIONAL readings. If it is optional, they should not have been included in the quizzes.

The final test HTML should have included a simple table and not the <display> tag. The display tag is rarely used, yet tables are very important.

автор: Jason M

Dec 13, 2015

Overall I learned a lot. The course covered the topic of HTML 5 and the concepts behind the internet (hosting, protocols, DNS, etc.)

I like that it was purely quiz/project based and no grading was done as peer review. However, occasionally (about 1/20) some of the quiz problems were just plain wrong. Also, the final project was a bit too strict and needed more fuzzy logic for the parser. One could produce visually identical and 100% valid results and still not get a perfect score. That seems a bit flawed to me. However, if you really want to labor on it, you can just give the quiz what it wants and eventually get a full score.

All-in-all, I would recommend the course.

автор: suryansh m

Jan 10, 2016

It was a very good course. I understood everything. My only complaint is that the tests questions were repetitive and so it would be easy to cheat on a second or third attempt and also the final quiz should have been more about writing your own code. I think what should have been tested was the end product by the autograder rather than the exact code. I'm not sure how that would work but it would result in a more precise grade rather than the 87.5% everyone gets and also help the student write his/her own code rather than proofreading and selecting others. I did thoroughly enjoy the course and am looking forward to Course two of the series on CSS3.

автор: Karol F

Jan 22, 2016

A brief but interesting introduction to HTML. Very few practical examples and exercises, but it does cover the basics like: syntax, semantics, what to pay attention to while creating own website. Love the way the material is presented by Mrs. Lent and will finish all three remaining courses.

Combined with the HTML & CSS course at CODECADEMY I have the ability to write simple html, read somebody else's code and find resources necessary to get me started with my own page. Till now I always thought HTML and web design was boring, well not anymore!

I would recommend this course to somebody who is only starting to learn HTML.

автор: Chris M

Dec 01, 2016

I love Colleen's style of presenting and teaching. It's refreshing! She looks like she's a great teacher who thoroughly enjoys sharing her knowledge with others. Her students at UMich are very fortunate indeed. As to the course content: it's very well structured, with clear explanations and quizzes/assignments that help understand and apply the course material. Maybe one flaw: it was such a brief introduction, it left me wanting for more. But I guess that's also a good sign, right? So if you have little time and you really want to get the basics to start working on web development, look no further than this course.

автор: Elvin R

Dec 11, 2016

I liked the course, but I have to mention that i got pretty furious over that last quiz. I had no idea how to get these progress-bars the right way to look. So I spent hours on trying to figure it out, only being left with an unsatisfied answer, which is that i gotta use CSS. I'd have really loved to find out if i can recreate these bars using only HTML. Anyways, The course was great though and explained a variety of things like website-hosting and accessibility. If there was one thing I'd change about the course it would be, more practical use of the mentioned tags. Thanks for the journey.

автор: Saskia G

Aug 19, 2017

I like this course and I've learned quite a lot.

Still, I think some questions in the tests are not very useful. For example I have learnt that css was first made available for the public in 1996 and that HTML version 2.3 (or so) offered more options for - I can't remember what exactly ;) but my point is that these are important basic facts one must have heard about. But in my opinion they don't necessarily need to be asked in a test.

Still, all in all I'm very happy that I did this course and I would definitely recommend it for beginners of HTML. You definitely get to know all the basics.

автор: Juthika S

Dec 11, 2015

Great course for beginners who have absolutely no idea about coding! Huge thanks to Prof. Colleen who used very simple language to make the course easier to understand. All the important aspects of basic HTML5 were covered. Assignments were challenging and fun! I can proudly say that I created my own 'First' webpage with the help of this course. One star less just because I felt that some topics like images and especially multimedia usage can be confusing and could have been explained more in detail. Overall a very informative course...highly recommended!!

автор: Juan O L

Oct 07, 2015

This is a very nice introductory course. Although I have experience with HTML, I appreciate the fact that it assumes no previous knowledge and takes the time to show beginners how to create and save an HTML file for the first time, as well as some of the editors that are available. Three weeks is a bit short, in my opinion. I would have liked to see forms being covered a bit, even if the actual handling is postponed until JavaScript is covered. I was also expecting for the canvas tag to at least be mentioned.

Overall, an excellent course for beginners!

автор: Sajad Y

Feb 16, 2019

Overall, this course is pretty good. Colleen explains the concepts very well and also directs to other resources that can be helpful. However, it will be more effective if there are more coding exercises especially, in week 2 where there is a lot of discussion on "tags". Lastly, the only part which I did not find very useful was the "peer reviewed final project" and the reason behind that is that for some people like me who are going through the course very rapidly, have to wait until someone reviews your course and that takes some time to be completed.

автор: Ashley U

Oct 23, 2019

Really enjoyed this course. I had completed a basic overview of HTML prior to this, but Colleen provides a great overview for complete beginners, and I love her focus on accessibility. A lot of those pieces were new to me and not covered in many introductory courses.

One note is to be careful when taking quizzes or reading homework assignments. There are typos or unclear requirements at times, so it is helpful to watch the optional videos on the assignments when available for additional clarity.

автор: Elevic P

Dec 24, 2015

Lectures are great. Colleen sounds very amiable. She has great tips.

Downside: You're only required to do some coding for the final project. I think this course would be better if they'll add an in-browser editor so students could play with code after a lecture.

Yes, I do play with code after the lecture to get around it, but I think the way the lectures are presented tempt the students not to. So any additional prompts such as in-browser editor - for in-lecture quizzes - definitely will help.

автор: Ruben S

May 17, 2017

Everything was easy to understand the teacher really tried to have a slow pace so everybody could follow along. However, it was a little too slow for me. I took this course to get a basic, but profound knowledge about html5. I know a lot of tags and best practices now, but do not have a clue why I would use <footer> and <header> instead of <section>, except for "SEO reasons". How does it influence my ranking? What does it help with? Those questions were not answered.