Chevron Left
Вернуться к История рока, часть первая

Отзывы учащихся о курсе История рока, часть первая от партнера Рочестерский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 753
Рецензии: 195

О курсе

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

Лучшие рецензии

SM

Oct 02, 2016

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

BL

Mar 13, 2018

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

Фильтр по:

176–193 из 193 отзывов о курсе История рока, часть первая

автор: Yana N

Mar 24, 2016

Thank you for the course. It's really interesting! I enjoy it so much, especially the quizzes :)

автор: Mark L

Oct 07, 2015

Good course, but I was disappointed that clips of some of the music weren't played.

автор: Juanjo R C

May 21, 2018

lástima que no esté en castellano 100%. Me ha parecido muy útil. Muchas gracias

автор: Dave E

Jan 11, 2020

Buen curso! Muchos datos importantes sintetizados y bien explicados.

автор: Sergey S

Sep 08, 2017

Everything perfect, but quizzes sometimes dig really deep in dates

автор: Mark S

Jan 16, 2017

Well done. Lot of material covered. I enjoyed it.

автор: Garry K

Jul 14, 2017

A lot of great info and it was easy to understand.

автор: Jade T

Sep 08, 2018

Engaging and an overall very informative course.

автор: Raymond D

Oct 10, 2017

Great course! Well presented. Very informative.

автор: Adam L

Nov 14, 2016

Good overview of the birth of Rock

автор: HIMANSHU R

Mar 11, 2019

overall fab....

автор: Laura H

May 07, 2018

nice ponytail

автор: Thomas T

Oct 18, 2016

Very good

автор: Nathalie L

Aug 31, 2015

As a standard overview, the course is fine. However, the lecturer skirts around or hand waves away controversial or difficult subjects, and he's apparently afraid of offending anyone by getting too close to saying "fuck" or "sex" even in an academic setting. Additionally, this course won't introduce anyone to forgotten and erased artists of the past - women are largely absent from his history of rock, even though Janis Joplin and The Supremes didn't come out of nowhere. The quizzes are also too heavy on the trivia - "who published what when" questions rather than critical thinking questions about why or how.

автор: Aimi I

Sep 18, 2015

better than my other courses

автор: Geraldine S

Nov 23, 2016

Sorry but although I found the topic of interest I found the delivery very dull. Yes, Prof Covach knows his stuff but basically what we got here was little more than a reading of text from his book. I know he explained why the actual music was not included but think he could have done more to provide links and stimulate listening. I eventually just started reading the transcribed text of the lectures as I did not find looking at Prof Covach's talking head at all stimulating. Prof Covach did nothing to stimulate discussion in the forums and although I posted a few things there was very little going on in the forums. I bought the book on the basis of being interested in the topic but it is not at all necessary for the course.

автор: Jean R

Sep 07, 2016

No use for me. No music examples because copyrights did not allow, so the course is pretty boring.

Sorry, not for me.

автор: Russell P

Apr 14, 2018

Wish I could give negative stars