Chevron Left
Вернуться к История рока, часть первая

Отзывы учащихся о курсе История рока, часть первая от партнера Рочестерский университет

4.8
stars
Оценки: 753
Рецензии: 195

О курсе

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

Лучшие рецензии

SM

Oct 02, 2016

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

BL

Mar 13, 2018

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 193 отзывов о курсе История рока, часть первая

автор: Maria C

Aug 29, 2015

This course was EXCELLENT! It held my interest the entire time, exposed me to so much music I had not yet heard, and I am excited to take Part

автор: Ray W

Aug 16, 2018

These two courses we're very fun compared to most.They we're very informative but important for anyone working in the music business.thanks

автор: Grandom F B R

Nov 14, 2019

Es un curso bastante completo, interesante e innovador, me gustaría que realizarán un curso especial donde se aborde la cultural del Metal

автор: Shahr S

Aug 16, 2015

The course I always loved to take! Thank you Coursera and Rochester University for giving people the opportunity to take this course.

автор: Gustavo N S

Jul 30, 2019

I really enjoyed with this course, It was very informative, interesting and a great source of information about rock and roll music.

автор: Anuj P N L

Apr 04, 2019

It was an awesome experience of Learning history of Rock. Thank You Prof. John Covach. I learnt a lot of stuff from your Videos.

автор: Carolina A V S

Aug 18, 2018

El mejor curso sobre la historia del rock. Excelente profesor, detalles e información, entretenido, buenos ejemplos musicales.

автор: Henry J A T

Jan 12, 2016

Great course! Great instructor!, thanks a lot to John Covach and to the University Of Rochester, for this pleasant experience!.

автор: Ramiro M F

Jan 04, 2017

Sheds a lot of light on this fascinating subject! Highly recommendable, amusing talks and nice quizzes. A defintely must-try.

автор: Ryan M

Jan 11, 2017

Not finished, but great the way he explains the origins of so much and ties things together. I've already learned so much.

автор: Bill G

Oct 06, 2015

Great course. Very informative and helps me put together all that was happening during my youth and teen age years. Bravo!

автор: jiong s

Apr 08, 2018

great course with all those details to help to understand more about the history of rock music. many thanks .

автор: Juan C V L

Apr 03, 2016

Great course. Greetings from Colombia. With this course I've found the best lessons about Rock Music. Thanks

автор: Jhose A G

Dec 06, 2015

Thanks for this interesting and enjoyable course. I´m looking forward to do the part two of History of Rock.

автор: John R

Nov 02, 2015

This course rocks! (no pun intended). Great professor, fun and relevant content, and excellent presentation.

автор: Mauricio A S P

Aug 15, 2019

Te entrega mucho conocimiento de la historia del rock y en realidad de la música en general, muy bueo

автор: Carrie F

Jun 26, 2017

Great info, I loved listening to the music and learning about the bands! Can't wait to get to Part 2!

автор: Cathy G

Jan 24, 2017

Extremely knowledgeable teacher!! You will learn amazing facts and details of the rise of rock music.

автор: Andrew G

Jun 30, 2016

Very, very well done course -- great information, well presented and well paced. Highly recommended!

автор: Michael V

Nov 09, 2015

Terrific course. John Covach knows the material and presents it well. Enjoyed the course immensely.

автор: Geert P

Oct 08, 2016

Great course, with great stories. A Professor you can listen to for hours. Absolutely top notch!

автор: Huang K

Jan 15, 2016

The professor gives a fun speech on music and I really enjoy watching as well as listening in his

автор: Ferdinand P

Jan 26, 2018

A truly amazing class. I had a great time and learned a lot. I'm looking forward to Part 2!

автор: 任欣雨

Dec 04, 2016

Very good course for beginner to know about rock history,looking forward to join the Part.2

автор: Aline D

Mar 03, 2016

I loved the content and found the teacher spectacular. This is a really fun course to take.