Chevron Left
Вернуться к Genome Sequencing (Bioinformatics II)

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Genome Sequencing (Bioinformatics II) от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 287
Рецензии: 61

О курсе

You may have heard a lot about genome sequencing and its potential to usher in an era of personalized medicine, but what does it mean to sequence a genome? Biologists still cannot read the nucleotides of an entire genome as you would read a book from beginning to end. However, they can read short pieces of DNA. In this course, we will see how graph theory can be used to assemble genomes from these short pieces. We will further learn about brute force algorithms and apply them to sequencing mini-proteins called antibiotics. In the first half of the course, we will see that biologists cannot read the 3 billion nucleotides of a human genome as you would read a book from beginning to end. However, they can read shorter fragments of DNA. In this course, we will see how graph theory can be used to assemble genomes from these short pieces in what amounts to the largest jigsaw puzzle ever put together. In the second half of the course, we will discuss antibiotics, a topic of great relevance as antimicrobial-resistant bacteria like MRSA are on the rise. You know antibiotics as drugs, but on the molecular level they are short mini-proteins that have been engineered by bacteria to kill their enemies. Determining the sequence of amino acids making up one of these antibiotics is an important research problem, and one that is similar to that of sequencing a genome by assembling tiny fragments of DNA. We will see how brute force algorithms that try every possible solution are able to identify naturally occurring antibiotics so that they can be synthesized in a lab. Finally, you will learn how to apply popular bioinformatics software tools to sequence the genome of a deadly Staphylococcus bacterium that has acquired antibiotics resistance....

Лучшие рецензии

SV
9 янв. 2017 г.

Great course to explore a bit of Bioinformatics for those with no background in Bioinformatics. I love the way the content has been provided, its interactivity increases the interest in the course.

MP
7 дек. 2017 г.

I like the real-world tasks, especially the assembly on the final exam. Some of the programming tasks, such as the antibiotic noisy spectrum assembly, are challenging (which is good).

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 60 отзывов о курсе Genome Sequencing (Bioinformatics II)

автор: Jan G

2 февр. 2020 г.

Course is abandoned, no support on forums, waiting for weeks for peer-reviews, images don't load in the interactive text and quizzes, links in assignments are broken. Coursera should refund me for this joke.

автор: Hercules P N

9 июня 2017 г.

These courses are consistently excellent. The are possiblly the best entry point for someone wishing to have a go at bioinformatics.

автор: Ryan B

6 мая 2019 г.

Long waits for peer review....ruins what is a good course.

автор: Ксения

6 сент. 2017 г.

Spend a huge amount of time because of mistakes in tasks!

автор: Jonathan L

24 мая 2021 г.

The course is great, but be prepared to spend 20-30 hours a week on it...

автор: Ricardo S

10 окт. 2016 г.

I learned a lot on this course. Sequencing, sequencing antibiotics. Ilumina sequencing using BaseSpace. I attended an Ilumina seminar in person ( that I found on the website and by serendipity was coming to my city) and understood everything, because the experience with this course. I wish you can connect the sections with relevant papers (Pavel have so many that is hard to choose one).

автор: Daniel D

8 окт. 2019 г.

The course is absolutely fantastic. Concepts are introduced gradually, and you get away with solid fundamentals of genome sequences.

Beware however that the course is not actively maintained any longer and has few participants. It may be that your final assessment will take a bit to be graded by the peers and the forums are not super active.

автор: Evgeny L

1 янв. 2018 г.

If you liked first course, you must take second course too, one of the most enjoyable and challenging courses available. It's great not only for bioinformaticians, but for people who are interested in algorithms and their application.

автор: Lucas M

9 окт. 2018 г.

Excellent course. I didn't have the time to follow the honor's track, but I've done it for other instances of the specialization and I can say that the interaction with Stepic works perfectly. Way to go, thank you!

автор: Swaroop V

10 янв. 2017 г.

Great course to explore a bit of Bioinformatics for those with no background in Bioinformatics. I love the way the content has been provided, its interactivity increases the interest in the course.

автор: Mihai P

8 дек. 2017 г.

I like the real-world tasks, especially the assembly on the final exam. Some of the programming tasks, such as the antibiotic noisy spectrum assembly, are challenging (which is good).

автор: Federico R

17 апр. 2017 г.

It's really a great course. A must for everyone working with bioinformatic tools in order to understand some basics and limitations that ultimately leads to biological conclussions

автор: Samuel C

5 июля 2018 г.

Another excellent course. Great to be able to start from a basic idea and keep expanding it until we look back and see we've learnt how to solve quite a complex problem!

автор: Qianhao L

27 авг. 2017 г.

It would be great if all the slides for every week could be shared. The Bioinformatics II is much harder than the last level. They've made it easy to learn.

автор: Philipp M

18 окт. 2017 г.

A really rewarding course! Definitely shifted up a gear compared to the preceding course, so I recommend doing this in the prescribed order.

автор: CHAN V S F

14 июля 2021 г.

The exercises were challenging. But thanks to the community in Stepik, I can understand more details for the genome sequencing algorithms.

автор: Paolo B

9 мая 2017 г.

Excellent and fun introduction to sequencing techniques. I found it harder than Bioinformatics I, but worth the effort.

автор: David B

25 июля 2017 г.

This is a well organized course with excellent interactive programming exercises that help with learning the concepts.

автор: Nivedita S

24 июля 2017 г.

I particularly enjoyed this course a lot more than the first! i felt it was more application oriented and intuitive.

автор: Rudramani P

24 авг. 2019 г.

This one is great introductory course for physicist like who knows the computing but lacks biological background.

автор: Ricardo

22 февр. 2018 г.

Excellent course to get a sense of Genome sequencing , programming assignments really make you learn.

автор: Jeff L

30 нояб. 2020 г.

great course for those with strong motivation and interest. but it is a difficulty one though

автор: Ce D

2 дек. 2016 г.

Very useful to my working project. My gratitude for all the staff of this course.

автор: Yirou L

26 дек. 2016 г.

Very helpful to those biologist who wants to start a career in bioinformatics

автор: Zack X

21 июля 2019 г.

In depth and comprehensive coverage of the topics in genetic data analysis.