Chevron Left
Вернуться к Genome Sequencing (Bioinformatics II)

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Genome Sequencing (Bioinformatics II) от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

4.7
Оценки: 191
Рецензии: 40

О курсе

You may have heard a lot about genome sequencing and its potential to usher in an era of personalized medicine, but what does it mean to sequence a genome? Biologists still cannot read the nucleotides of an entire genome as you would read a book from beginning to end. However, they can read short pieces of DNA. In this course, we will see how graph theory can be used to assemble genomes from these short pieces. We will further learn about brute force algorithms and apply them to sequencing mini-proteins called antibiotics. In the first half of the course, we will see that biologists cannot read the 3 billion nucleotides of a human genome as you would read a book from beginning to end. However, they can read shorter fragments of DNA. In this course, we will see how graph theory can be used to assemble genomes from these short pieces in what amounts to the largest jigsaw puzzle ever put together. In the second half of the course, we will discuss antibiotics, a topic of great relevance as antimicrobial-resistant bacteria like MRSA are on the rise. You know antibiotics as drugs, but on the molecular level they are short mini-proteins that have been engineered by bacteria to kill their enemies. Determining the sequence of amino acids making up one of these antibiotics is an important research problem, and one that is similar to that of sequencing a genome by assembling tiny fragments of DNA. We will see how brute force algorithms that try every possible solution are able to identify naturally occurring antibiotics so that they can be synthesized in a lab. Finally, you will learn how to apply popular bioinformatics software tools to sequence the genome of a deadly Staphylococcus bacterium that has acquired antibiotics resistance....

Лучшие рецензии

SV

Jan 10, 2017

Great course to explore a bit of Bioinformatics for those with no background in Bioinformatics. I love the way the content has been provided, its interactivity increases the interest in the course.

MP

Dec 08, 2017

I like the real-world tasks, especially the assembly on the final exam. Some of the programming tasks, such as the antibiotic noisy spectrum assembly, are challenging (which is good).

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 38 отзывов о курсе Genome Sequencing (Bioinformatics II)

автор: Melinda B

May 24, 2019

The UCSD affiliation is really the only reason to do this course. It is so much harder than it needs to be.

автор: Ryan B

May 06, 2019

Long waits for peer review....ruins what is a good course.

автор: Juanjo B

Apr 29, 2019

The instruction material was slightly less helpful than in bioinformatics I.

автор: Pinakhina D V

Apr 02, 2019

Thank you very much for such an engaging course.

автор: ZIHAN X

Mar 25, 2019

good course!

автор: Lucas M

Oct 09, 2018

Excellent course. I didn't have the time to follow the honor's track, but I've done it for other instances of the specialization and I can say that the interaction with Stepic works perfectly. Way to go, thank you!

автор: Olaf W

Oct 03, 2018

Great , interactive content. Well structured and explained.

автор: Hilda P E

Aug 21, 2018

The course needs updates EXAMPLE: The version 3.0 for spades doesn't give the statistics and if you do a new version it doesn't give you the same data. I think this happened to other students, but we used Quast that it was later described in the instructions, but if it wasn't because someone suggested it in the discussion I would have follow the same path of using a new version that would have given me wrong data.

Thank you so much, This course has been helping me a lot.

CHEERS!!!

автор: Jorge I F R

Aug 09, 2018

good introduction :)

автор: Diego J M G

Jul 12, 2018

Great Materials but bad support

автор: Dr S C

Jul 05, 2018

Another excellent course. Great to be able to start from a basic idea and keep expanding it until we look back and see we've learnt how to solve quite a complex problem!

автор: Ricardo

Feb 22, 2018

Excellent course to get a sense of Genome sequencing , programming assignments really make you learn.

автор: Evgeny L

Jan 01, 2018

If you liked first course, you must take second course too, one of the most enjoyable and challenging courses available. It's great not only for bioinformaticians, but for people who are interested in algorithms and their application.

автор: Mihai P

Dec 08, 2017

I like the real-world tasks, especially the assembly on the final exam. Some of the programming tasks, such as the antibiotic noisy spectrum assembly, are challenging (which is good).

автор: Philipp M

Oct 18, 2017

A really rewarding course! Definitely shifted up a gear compared to the preceding course, so I recommend doing this in the prescribed order.

автор: Shweta C

Oct 05, 2017

Great course for beginning in Genome sequencing..

автор: Ксения

Sep 06, 2017

Spend a huge amount of time because of mistakes in tasks!

автор: Qianhao L

Aug 28, 2017

It would be great if all the slides for every week could be shared. The Bioinformatics II is much harder than the last level. They've made it easy to learn.

автор: David B

Jul 25, 2017

This is a well organized course with excellent interactive programming exercises that help with learning the concepts.

автор: Nivedita S

Jul 24, 2017

I particularly enjoyed this course a lot more than the first! i felt it was more application oriented and intuitive.

автор: Naveen P

Jul 01, 2017

The course is well defined.

автор: ChenYuexi

Jun 22, 2017

There is no debug dataset like the previous course, which means you will get stuck longer.

автор: Hercules P N

Jun 09, 2017

These courses are consistently excellent. The are possiblly the best entry point for someone wishing to have a go at bioinformatics.

автор: vibha h

May 18, 2017

Very nice course!

автор: Tomasz K

May 11, 2017

Great!