Chevron Left
Вернуться к Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration от партнера Система университетов штата Колорадо

4.4
звезд
Оценки: 916
Рецензии: 184

О курсе

This is the second course in the Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. Ideally, the courses should be taken in sequence. In this course, you will learn exciting concepts and skills for designing data warehouses and creating data integration workflows. These are fundamental skills for data warehouse developers and administrators. You will have hands-on experience for data warehouse design and use open source products for manipulating pivot tables and creating data integration workflows. In the data integration assignment, you can use either Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL databases. You will also gain conceptual background about maturity models, architectures, multidimensional models, and management practices, providing an organizational perspective about data warehouse development. If you are currently a business or information technology professional and want to become a data warehouse designer or administrator, this course will give you the knowledge and skills to do that. By the end of the course, you will have the design experience, software background, and organizational context that prepares you to succeed with data warehouse development projects. In this course, you will create data warehouse designs and data integration workflows that satisfy the business intelligence needs of organizations. When you’re done with this course, you’ll be able to: * Evaluate an organization for data warehouse maturity and business architecture alignment; * Create a data warehouse design and reflect on alternative design methodologies and design goals; * Create data integration workflows using prominent open source software; * Reflect on the role of change data, refresh constraints, refresh frequency trade-offs, and data quality goals in data integration process design; and * Perform operations on pivot tables to satisfy typical business analysis requests using prominent open source software...

Лучшие рецензии

LS
18 сент. 2020 г.

Great course. It mimics real life case. However, the time required to complete assignments is much more than stated. The assignments are great though, I learned a lot from those.

EK
15 дек. 2015 г.

Very nice class, well thought out and organized. The assignments are interesting and the practice assignments are relevant. Getting hands on on Pentaho was a big plus.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 172 отзывов о курсе Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration

автор: Nils K

16 нояб. 2017 г.

The torture of having to identify which of the many combinations of Pentaho, Java and some freeware plugin actually works in the end has completely ruined this experience. I don't care if SOMEWHERE in the notes there is info I should install Version 5.0.2.3 instead of 5.0.whatever, this is just plain laziness in the course design by picking software which might have worked in the past and then not updating the instructions while pocketing the student's money for years to come. I have about had it with spending my nights installing and re-installing this junk of software nobody uses anyways in a real business setting only to advance in this class.

автор: Sebastian G

2 янв. 2017 г.

Personally I don't recommend this course. I really need to learn data warehousing for my job and I have no problem with learning by doing. This course gave me basics, but the learning was very stiff. I think it's just to theoretical here.

автор: gavin

9 нояб. 2019 г.

Disgracefully outdated course that does not match with the technology that it claims to use -- dont bother with this one

автор: Александр К

10 нояб. 2018 г.

The quality of assignments is awful

автор: Rochelle H

19 авг. 2017 г.

No guidance from instructors, and the assignments have nothing to do with the lectures. If I could get a refund, I would quit and get my money back. Not worth the frustration.

автор: sujay b s

18 янв. 2018 г.

Pentaho does not work, hence I was not able to complete week 2 assignment and the course.

автор: Nelson F A

24 авг. 2018 г.

A very good course. It is challenging, especially the assignment in week 3, but extremely rewarding. Thanks to Coursera and the University of Colorado for creating this course. Really good to get an understanding of enterprise level data warehouses.

автор: John F

20 февр. 2016 г.

Overall a great course mixing concepts, technical skills and self learning very well. I'd recommend this course for anyone who is looking to learn about building data warehouse from scratch with minimal starting knowledge.

автор: Robert L J

5 мар. 2016 г.

Again, professor Michael Mannino presents a very well prepared course that achieves optimal results in limited time. This course provides the background and basic skills necessary understand and work with Data Warehouses.

автор: Mesum R H

13 дек. 2016 г.

Good learning for Data integration and ETL learning. How data from source to target table transform over the business requirement to be ready for processing

автор: Franklin P G

25 мар. 2016 г.

Excellent course in the way of preparation to be a Expert in Business Intelligence and Data Warehouses.

100 % recommended!

автор: Jose A

12 июня 2017 г.

I've learned lots from this course. I highly recommend it if you want to learn the concepts behind data warehouses.

автор: Esteban R

1 окт. 2019 г.

good material but should update some videos since program versions have changed.

автор: Felix M

1 авг. 2017 г.

I love both the theoretical and practical nature of this course. Enough content is provided to ensure a smooth introduction to data warehouses and proficiency in the important concepts of Extraction, transformation and loading. The progression of content across the weeks is excellent and Michael is definitely the best instructor in the subject.

автор: Bintang A S

1 янв. 2017 г.

I love this course! Especially with the practice exercises. This course has helped me significantly improve my understanding & the technical skills revolving data warehousing. It would be much better though, if this course has a lot more technical exercises, learning how to utilize essential data warehousing tools efficiently.

автор: Deleted A

30 нояб. 2018 г.

I just re-reviewed the 1 week and will re-review it within the day, prior to taking the exam. overall the presentor is very capable and has mastery of the subject which is very very good. I love this course and i hope I could have this re-reviewed once I get to have the paid subscription.

автор: Nasheena

3 апр. 2019 г.

Excellent course, you will learn how to use data warehouse tools, you will gain design experience and have organisational context to work in data warehouse development projects. My experience from this course is you need to be quite dedicated to pass.

автор: Susan W

16 апр. 2016 г.

great course with hands on practice of the concepts. Getting the tools installed is a little frustrating but once you get past that part there are a lot of good exercises to apply what you are learning.

автор: Liberto S

19 сент. 2020 г.

Great course. It mimics real life case. However, the time required to complete assignments is much more than stated. The assignments are great though, I learned a lot from those.

автор: Ernesto K

15 дек. 2015 г.

Very nice class, well thought out and organized. The assignments are interesting and the practice assignments are relevant. Getting hands on on Pentaho was a big plus.

автор: Sherri J

13 апр. 2017 г.

I enjoyed learning this material and found that the Pentaho Kettle hands-on experience was a nice additional to skill set that I can provide my clients.

автор: Ranjeet k

13 апр. 2020 г.

Good course for starting DW and ETL. Some of the technologies like Pivot4j are old/ irrelevant today. They should be updated with latest technologies

автор: Abdi M

12 июня 2017 г.

A great hands-on introduction to Pentaho. Gave me a very good insight into the capabilities of the product. I will start using the tool at work.

автор: Raja U A

18 февр. 2017 г.

Best course for beginners to learn and develop their careers in field of Data warehousing. Also Coursera is best learning source. Thank you all

автор: Nikolaos A M

23 янв. 2016 г.

This is a very well-structured and demanding course with an excellent professor.

I'm looking forward to finishing the entire specialization!