Chevron Left
Вернуться к American Deaf Culture

Отзывы учащихся о курсе American Deaf Culture от партнера Система Хьюстонского университета

4.4
звезд
Оценки: 129
Рецензии: 43

О курсе

This is a six-week course providing a historical overview of the American Deaf community and its evolving culture. Theoretical frameworks from sociology are explored. Deafness as a culture and not a disability is explained as participants are guided into the world of Deaf culture....

Лучшие рецензии

CP

Oct 10, 2017

I've gotten an Associate's in Sign Language and learned a lot about American Deaf Culture and this was a wonderful refresher for me! I did NOT want this class to end!!\n\nPlease offer more like this!

JM

Jun 16, 2017

I am also a CODA, and I am so happy that a course on Deaf Culture is on CourseRA. Very proud of the collaborative efforts of exposing hearing people to the deaf community. ILY!

Фильтр по:

26–41 из 41 отзывов о курсе American Deaf Culture

автор: Grace F T

Apr 18, 2020

It was very informative and a great intro course. It could have helped to have more material (each "lesson" is a minute or so long) and make the reading and videos part of the quiz. I recommend doing the homeworks as you get the most out of them and I really like the professor. His interpreter didn't seem to carry the same energy and translations the way I'd hoped, but I still really enjoyed the class and would love to take more like it.

автор: Liliana B C

Jul 25, 2017

Es un excelente curso que habla de manera general de la cultura sorda, de las leyes, las vivencias, el esfuerzo que les ha representado ser reconocidos como individuos valiosos, me encantó poder adentrarme y saber más de este mundo tan rico y acogedor. Me gustaría que hubieran ahondado más en algunos temas, como la educación y que hubiera más profesores para conocer más experiencias.

автор: Omar L

Mar 23, 2018

I learned so much about deaf culture, most definitely appreciated learning about The Rehabilitation act of 1973 along with other laws that were implemented to protect those with disabilities. There is so much we take for granted, this course was great.

автор: Татьяна

Jul 22, 2019

Курс понравился. Немного раздражает вступительная музыка.

Хотелось бы услышать больше о процессах обучения, чтобы сравнить со своей страной.

автор: Lynnette H

May 26, 2020

This review is for several things:

Content 3 stars: sparse. The videos merely grazed the content. The readings were good, albeit a bit dated. Some of the videos and readings seemed to be filler. They were only vaguely referred to and had no real impact on the 2 question quizzes. Which, c'mon- there are three documents to read in one section and then give a 2 question quiz?

Instructor 5 stars: Very educational and is obviously an expert. I enjoyed the real life examples and his ability to make very good connections between experience and content. I would love to see another course with more content and where this Professor could really shine with more screen time. It was also very cool that the instructor and the interpreter were introduced. Very cool.

Certificate 0 stars, but not the Professors fault: Oh have mercy. I worked harder to just get a certificate for this course, then I actually worked on the course. First, I had to verify my account. What the H, Houston? This is a MOOC. THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE are taking these things. They are by no stretch high stakes testing. So, simmer down on your verification BS. Finally, after 4 photos, I send off my drivers license, which I am not happy about. And then downloading it was impossible. Utterly impossible. I had to screen shot the certificate to submit it for PD.

Review: What is happening with this formatting? Why am I all bundled up here in the middle? Get it together Coursera.

автор: Katarina O

Sep 14, 2017

While it introduces many interesting topics, the course is mostly made up of videos that are only a minute or two in length and mention complex and interesting aspects of a topic without providing evidence, expanding on the topic, or providing an optional reading that goes into further depth. Most of this course remains very surface level and general.

автор: Lisa G

Nov 26, 2019

I didn't like some of the translation of the instructor's signs, there were mistakes. Plus the instructor oversimplified a lot of the instruction as I'm deaf myself so it just felt inconsistent with the general deaf community that I've experienced. He has somewhat of a bias.

автор: Anne S

Aug 13, 2019

Because I was interested in the topic and had researched it before, very little of the content was new to me. I would love a level II course in the same topic!

автор: Angela B

Jul 14, 2017

I don't understand the design of this course. Tiny lectures that were often 1 minute or less, and each segment began and ended with the University's intro and outro. It makes for a very disjointed and tedious learning experience. Also, no topic was explored in any sort of depth. Much more information was gleaned from the assigned readings and youtube videos. As someone with experience in designing online learning modules, the flaws in this course's execution alone make me glad I didn't pay to take it.

The fact that the lectures are conducted solely in ASL is what drew me to the course in the first place. I'm a new ASL/Deaf Studies/Interpreter Studies student, and who better to lecture on this subject than a Deaf professor in his own language? Although the lectures were jarringly short, the professor's expressiveness and passion for the subject comes through clearly in his signing. I barely know ASL, however, I think it's safe to say that his interpreter did him a disservice. The interpreter is monotone, conveying neither the emotion the professor communicates, nor the sophistication of the ideas presented. The interpreter doesn't sound confident in what he's saying and often stumbles over his words. (Weren't they able to re-record or edit the VO track?) If you watch the 2-hour long video that is part of the week 6 lecture with Mark Drolsbaugh, THAT is what great interpretation sounds like.

Overall, although I think it's a great accomplishment and opportunity to have a course taught in ASL by a Deaf professor, it suffers too much from poor, fragmented lecture design, making it frustrating to complete. For hearing students, the interpretation significantly detracts from the lessons.

автор: Блинова А А

Mar 24, 2019

This course was a huge disappointment for me. The good thing about it is that it is fully in ASL and tries to make a broad lookout on the life of deaf Americans... The downsides, though, are plenty. Overall, I don't feel like I received a complete overview: rather a number of separate pieces of information (legal, societal etc.) that do not clearly link together. Some topics take long to be discussed (e.g. labels) but leave me without a clear understanding of what names are (im)proper saying that it is all very personal. Yet, the test presses me to decide between rights and wrongs. The physiological side of deafness (e.g. why and how it occurs, why hearing parents can have a deaf child etc.) is left out, although it would be helpful in setting the scene. The tests are poorly made: the weekly quizzes have hardly any relation to the videos, and the final one boasts two exactly similar questions, one missing answer option (the question phrase is there instead), and overall copies weekly quizzes apart for a couple of new questions. Sadly, I would only recommend the course to people who have next to no understanding of the deaf world, otherwise they may be bored and confused.

автор: Fletcher P

Apr 24, 2020

It's a good introduction to a lot of concepts, with no follow-up. I would recommend this class if you're a strong self-teacher and just need a place to get started. The lecture videos are really only useful for introducing you to terminology and ideas, and you'll have to learn more on your own if you want to get more out of it. The additional materials, however, are excellent, and well-curated.

автор: Kira S

Jun 10, 2019

This was an ok class as someone who has next to no knowledge on ASL or deaf culture. I mainly only took this class since I'll be taking a summer ASL class and wanted to get some basic fore-knowledge to prepare myself. I was a little disappointed at how basic the information was as it didn't even seem connected. But the snippets I did learn at least piqued my interest to learn more.

автор: Jenifer M

Jul 10, 2017

This course seems a bit sloppy and thrown together. Much surface knowledge with not much explanation or content. The final test had several errors, including two of the exact same question. I do love that the course was presented in ASL by a member of the Deaf community.

автор: Erin D

Jun 25, 2017

Not really as in depth as I had hoped for. Also, the intro music for the videos is EXTREMELY irritating.

автор: Vaclav K

Jan 15, 2019

Too short or simply? A demo version only? Twice two same question in test, really?

автор: Carol M W

Jul 11, 2017

It was unsettling to me that the Instructor communicated that he was apartment shopping with his girlfriend. That goes against my morals, that a couple live together without being married. Also, he [the instructor] seemed to be an unkempt person. These things were distracting for me as a learner, and I didn't appreciate them. I did appreciate some of the additional resource material. Thank you,Mrs. Walz