Chevron Left
Вернуться к Data Collection and Processing with Python

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Data Collection and Processing with Python от партнера Мичиганский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 2,030
Рецензии: 324

О курсе

This course teaches you to fetch and process data from services on the Internet. It covers Python list comprehensions and provides opportunities to practice extracting from and processing deeply nested data. You'll also learn how to use the Python requests module to interact with REST APIs and what to look for in documentation of those APIs. For the final project, you will construct a “tag recommender” for the flickr photo sharing site. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" and "Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries" courses (courses 1 and 2 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization). If you are already familiar with Python fundamentals but want practice at retrieving and processing complex nested data from Internet services, you can also benefit from this course without taking the previous two. This is the third of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Лучшие рецензии

CM

Oct 10, 2019

This was a really excellent course. The functional project at the end helped me understand how recommendation systems work and now I'm very excited to try to build a similar system for books I love.

A

Jul 10, 2020

Very interesting and fine course, in this course I learn how to solve Nested data and new a new thing i.e REST API which seems best in course 3 now I am excited about course 4. Thanking you Michigan

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 323 отзывов о курсе Data Collection and Processing with Python

автор: Semant J P

May 24, 2019

The first two weeks were fine. Week 3 was a struggle to get through. I couldn't figure out why all of a sudden we were dealing with APIs. The instructors did go through the material which was tested but I would appreciated an even slower pace. Compared to the previous 2 courses (in this Python3 specialization), Course 3 Week 3 was a grind and I just wanted it over and done with. As usual, the final project requires a lot of scanning around in the forums to figure out how to do things.

автор: Mark G

Jan 31, 2019

The final project allowed me to get a 100% grade even though i did not finish question #6. Over the past week there has been little to no response concerning questions about the course related to problems with the final project.

автор: yaacov t

Jan 30, 2019

Runestone project was buggy and added hours to work to complete

автор: Dixant B S

Apr 20, 2020

The final course work is hard to complete, not because it is a difficult assignment, but because:

1) The runestone is so buggy. It kept giving me errors when I completed one question. I copied the answer, opened the runestone in a different tab, pasted the same answer and then finally the answer was marked as correct. Same thing happened every stage of every question. It's difficult to answer questions when you can't see whats happening, and then there's the buggy software that just adds salt on the wound.

2) The "Cache" pages are fine and well written, but the questions are very confusing to understand for someone who is new to Python, let alone APIs. Videos to explain what the question means and a few examples of what the output should be like would be much appreciated.

автор: Noland J B

Jan 02, 2020

I have recommendation this courses to several friends and colleagues, and will continue to do so. I have learned a lot from this course, as I did with the previous two. The quality of the presentation and material are of the highest standards.

I preferred to do the examples and exercises in a Python environment, instead of the Runestone text book. However, for Course 3, I ran into the following issues I could not overcome (as yet):

The requests_with_caching module get() function consistently gave the following error:

'TypeError: __init__() takes 1 positional argument but 3 were given'

in Python 3.6.3 with Spyder/Jupyter Notebook

2. Also, I could not get 'from requests_with_caching import get" to import in Python 3.6.3 with Jupyter Notebook.

автор: Ashirwad

Jan 17, 2019

Reading content is awesome. Videos are little bit boring. But it's okay when you get to learn so much.

автор: Akash B

Mar 04, 2019

Basically the video lecture was only good, but i think projects should be more challenging rather than to just run on runestone environment, The difficulty level of project should be increased in terms of a real project situation where in this course a user should be able to select his/her own api style given from a list, and moreover this course should encourage searching and tackling some real probelms.

They didn't even mentioned it to put on it to github. This project isn't that enough to be a part of git repo though.

But Overall this course is nice, just after completing the course, anyone should be able to try to think out of the box and do more out of it to prove the worth of your time spent in this course.Thank you.

автор: Luciana M G

Feb 06, 2019

This course is part 3 of a 5-course Specialization on Python 3. It is an excellent course. Courses 1 and 2 start at a very basic level but as the courses progress, the challenges improve and it gets actually quite interesting. The instructors have provided a valuable amount of exercises for us to practice. Prof. Resnick and his assistants are excellent instructors and you get bonus jokes at the end of each week, which I loved. Thank you all for creating this amazing specialization.

автор: Stephen T

Nov 14, 2019

Very well organized instruction and materials. Content and skills are introduced incrementally allowing participant to develop practical skill in their use. In addition, there are practice and reinforcement learning opportunities to help you firmly root the skill in your memory. [Former public school teacher]

автор: Jason J D

Jun 27, 2019

This course really helped me enhance my programming skills in Python. It teaches the more "Pythonic" way of coding. REST APIs are also very important and challenging, and this course guides you through that topic wonderfully. Definitely a must for those who love coding.

автор: Raúl E P

Jun 10, 2020

I think it is a very nice course, well explained. My only issue is that they use a interface (Runestone) to do problems and exams. Although this interface is very nice to do exercises and practice, it is really bad when you have to do complex things. I also think that apart from the practics, which is a really nice tool, they should also teach us how to work in the real word using python from our computer and not through the lens of a custom-built interface.

автор: Alexander A A

Apr 30, 2020

This course and the balance of courses 1-4 of the specialization were fantastic - I would highly recommend each. Course 5 (the capstone project) was an abomination. Basically zero instruction / guidance and very frustrating for anybody except decently experienced programmers. If courses 1-4 are your only exposure to Python, you could easily spend a month or more on this project. If getting the Specialization Certificate is very important to you, there are resources online that you can leverage to complete the project but that is done largely at the expense of any real learning, so I really hope UofM comes up with an alternative final project that is more consistent with the level of expertise attained in courses 1-5 (maybe something on implementing classic algorithms?).

автор: Jerrold

Jul 04, 2020

I just took course 3 because I wanted to learn the syllabus in this course to brush up on my Python skills for data analysis. The course material covered the topics listed in the syllabus for this course excellently, I could follow all the lectures, the instructor was decent and slowly but thoroughly explains all the concepts while typing and running the code on his screen. However the runestone environment which is what the assignment and project is done in a while getting used to as it is a broswer programming environment not a local machine program like IDLE.

A damn good course with manageable assignments. I highly urge anyone who wants to go venture into data science/analysis using Python to take it. Thanks University of Michigan!

автор: Igor F

Jan 27, 2019

This course helped to understand such convinient thing as list comprehension, also it was really nice to work with API even without having API keys thanks to cached API's responses. I think that these parts are very practical, and I will use these things in the future. Though week's 3 theoretical part seemed to me a little bit long, and, probably, you should spend more time in the real Python environment, I still have enjoyed this course. Completion of the final project really gave me the feeling of personal achievement.

I'd like also to note that on the moment of completion of this course I haven't met same techical problems mentioned on the discusion forums by other participants of the course.

автор: Tushar S

May 18, 2020

This was a very efficient course. It helped me to understand the basic concept of how internet works while requesting data from it. Further it taught me how to read and thus use the documentation of a few REST API. The environment is designed in a way that you can practically examine and use how API works, WITHOUT the need of having a key (*for restricted data available in cached file already).

Thank you to all the professors.

Love from INDIA!!!

автор: Stella B

Jul 29, 2019

This course gives you so much understanding of API and how useful they can be! The exercises and especially the last assessment of week 3 requires to assembling everything you've learned(and sometimes more than that) to solve it. Through the process of trial and error, you'd learn more than you can imagine, not just on APIs but on how assemble multiple complex functions into 1 cohesive program. I strongly recommend to do this course !!

автор: PANIDAPU H C

May 25, 2020

I AM VERY HAPPY THAT I HAVE TAKEN THIS SPECIALISATION.I HAD A LOT OF FUN.I ENJOYED A LOT.I GOT MORE AND MORE INFORMATION ABOUT API AND LIST COMPREHENSIONS,DATA COLLECTION AND A LOT OF THINGS.I LIKE LECTURES OF PROFESSOR PAUL.THANK YOU TEAM COURSERA FOR PROVIDING SUCH A BEAUTIFUL COURSE AND IT'S WONDERFUL.THANK YOU TO INSTRUCTORS OF MICHIGAN UNIVERSITY.I WISH TO DO MORE AND MORE COURSES.

автор: Suresh C

Jul 29, 2019

It's very thorough class and I enjoyed completing it. I have a suggestion. The API data extraction environment could have been made better. Many times, my script succeeds in Jupyter but fails in Runestone environment. Not sure what the problem is. I noticed several messages in discussion forums with similar observation. Thanks.

автор: Kushagra V

May 18, 2020

Paul Resnick is a great teacher. His teaching methodology is very impressive .I managed to cover the entire syllabus within 4 days and also with 100% grades. All the credit goes to him and his team. I faced a little difficulty in the last project but the discussion forums are very useful.

автор: Rishi S

Dec 23, 2018

Very nice exercises and very useful knowledge! some challenges with the auto-grader but I am sure this will be soon fixed as likely to do with being so new (first run). Love it that I do not have to watch long video's , there is enough explanation around the exercises to get you going.

автор: Yauheni P

Apr 21, 2020

Great course! Thank you Paul and everyone who did a great job. I wish the tasks would be easier to understand for non-English speakers. The very last task, for example, made me crazy. I thought I had to get 5 kv pairs for each element in the list. Other than that it is a great course!

автор: Nicolas S V

Apr 07, 2020

The course was interesting, overall the more interesting part was the last challenge or grade, where you have to reach to different endpoint by calling an API where you get movie information and another API from where you get the ratings of such movies. It was fun, so enjoy the ride!!

автор: Aniket S V

Apr 23, 2020

The course provides a deep understanding of nested dictionary and list in python, Week 3 was especially helpful where the actual use of these data structures is explained when using REST API to extract data in JSON format. The exercises are challenging and fun to solve.

автор: Maytat L

Jun 12, 2020

This course taught me a great deal of Python especially fundamental concepts of implementing APIs without having to actually apply a real API key. I found the course project challenging enough such that I spent lots of times and learnt a lot from it. Great course

автор: Subrata G

Sep 16, 2019

Very nice introductions to json and nested data.This course gives us understanding of API and how useful they can be.The exercises and last assessment of week 3 requires to assembling everything you have learned . I strongly recommend to do this course.