Chevron Left
Вернуться к Изменения общества, необходимые для формирования здорового образа жизни населения

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Изменения общества, необходимые для формирования здорового образа жизни населения от партнера Университет Джонса Хопкинса

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 153
Рецензии: 37

О курсе

In bringing about behavior change in public health, we often focus on the individual mother, student, or farmer. We should not forget the community structure and norms constrain for encouraging individual health behaviors. This course examines the community context of the changes needed to promote the public’s health. We begin by examining the various definitions of ‘community’ and the processes by which we ‘diagnose’ or seek to understand the structure and characteristics of different types of communities. An appreciation of community similarities and differences is necessary lest we fall into the trap of designing one-size-fits-all interventions. We need to recognize that no matter that outsiders may view a community as poor or neglected, we can find strengths and capacities for improvement in each community. Identifying community capacities and resources is the first step in facilitating community change. Different practical and philosophical approaches to change and therefore, examined. Specific to the change process is our recognition of the need for communities to participate in the design, implementation and evaluation of any intervention. We examine the concept of participation in an effort to see how different levels of involvement may affect sustainability of community change efforts. Finally a case study of a community participatory approach to onchocerciasis control in Africa is presented. Community Directed Intervention has subsequently been successfully applied to providing other essential primary health care services by and in the community, such as insecticide treated bednets, malaria treatment, vitamin A distribution, deworming medicines, and pneumonia and diarrhea case management....

Лучшие рецензии

AA
20 февр. 2017 г.

It was a very insightful course as it showed us how community change is effected in developing countries. The case studies were practical and showed the change that occurs in reality, not just theory

MH
11 февр. 2019 г.

Very informative and give me the chance to have a new perspective regarding the essential role of community participation in improving and sustaining the health care system.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 37 отзывов о курсе Изменения общества, необходимые для формирования здорового образа жизни населения

автор: Okediji I O

26 сент. 2020 г.

I was able to have several perspective on community health and I saw a vision that there is hope for Africa.

автор: Scherine C

27 февр. 2018 г.

You will likely find this course to be very useful and that it requires a lot of effort on your part to show that you've in fact gained knowledge & the right understanding. It encompasses video lectures, extensive reading material, MCQs, scenario reviews, essays, and a gateway to sharing/discussing content with other students & mentors which should enhance your experience. I highly recommend it.

автор: Maung M K

26 сент. 2018 г.

The theories were well delivered along with example cases and the best part is the assignment and peer review which can help the course the taker to learn much more ideas from peer as well as getting feedback from them. If you are interested in making changes for the better future, I believe this one is for you. The assignments may be challenging but worth taking.

автор: Sara P

17 окт. 2016 г.

The course is extremely comprehensive in regards to coverage of the subject matter and the professor employs a certain mixture of academic as well as practical knowledge, which is second to none. The material is quite approachable for a range of students who may have little or extensive experience with public health/community change models of healthcare.

автор: Akshita R

15 июля 2020 г.

Definitely learned a lot about communities and how to bring about a transformation by means of community activities, what are the necessary models, tools, and approaches. Totally worth all the time and energy. The case studies are really good. A very helpful course for those interested in policy and market strategy.

автор: Shirley O N

4 нояб. 2017 г.

Great course worth recommending to others. I am a community development advocate. i have gained much insight from this course which leaves me more than motivated to keep working with communities for communities. it was never a mistake enrolling for this course. great thanks course instructor.

автор: Denita B U

23 июля 2019 г.

Great course, very applicable for me. The materials provided theories as well as real-life practice. The case study assignments also allow students to think critically and integrate theories and knowledge from each lectures.

автор: Tommy G

11 июня 2019 г.

This course is excellent! It provides information on the different measures which can be used to improve healthcare systems, also provides real life examples on the subject and the teachers are awesome people!

автор: adetoyeke a

21 февр. 2017 г.

It was a very insightful course as it showed us how community change is effected in developing countries. The case studies were practical and showed the change that occurs in reality, not just theory

автор: Mohammed S M H

12 февр. 2019 г.

Very informative and give me the chance to have a new perspective regarding the essential role of community participation in improving and sustaining the health care system.

автор: Mundih N N

15 мая 2020 г.

This was an intriguing and though-provoking course. I really enjoyed it and learnt a lot from it. I absolutely recommend it to anyone with interest in public health.

автор: Sanghamitra B

16 июня 2020 г.

This course is worth the time and effort. The modules have been well designed and highly enriching.

автор: Yasmin S

30 июня 2019 г.

Good course, but apparently not enough students to complete the peer review in a timely manner.

автор: Moumini N

23 нояб. 2017 г.

This is MUST take course for any public health professional no matter your leadership position

автор: Ayobami O

4 июля 2019 г.

The course is very relevant to my responsibilities. Highly educative and interesting course

автор: JAMES B A

8 окт. 2018 г.

Very nice course. Many thanks to the team who put the course together and the lecturers too

автор: Wong W Y

9 сент. 2016 г.

A very good course if one is interested to practise public health in the future ;-)

автор: Monika M

26 дек. 2016 г.

An excellent learning program..a great opportunity to gain knowledge..

автор: Morah G

7 дек. 2016 г.

Great Course with in-depth lectures

автор: Msema B

13 окт. 2016 г.

the course was informative to me

автор: Elkan R

6 июля 2020 г.

Really great and enjoyable

автор: Ronei C

3 апр. 2019 г.

muito bom!

автор: prashant s

27 февр. 2019 г.

good

автор: Yurii Z

12 мая 2019 г.

)

автор: Aurore V

13 окт. 2016 г.

Very useful course for those who work in the field and want to better structure their public health activities. Plan for more time than what is written if you really want to benefit from the case study homeworks, especially if you're a non-native (even good level) English speaker, but this should not stop you from taking the course: the topic is very well addressed and the examples tremendously relevant, not to say inspiring J!