Chevron Left
Вернуться к Изменения общества, необходимые для формирования здорового образа жизни населения

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Изменения общества, необходимые для формирования здорового образа жизни населения от партнера Университет Джонса Хопкинса

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 154
Рецензии: 38

О курсе

In bringing about behavior change in public health, we often focus on the individual mother, student, or farmer. We should not forget the community structure and norms constrain for encouraging individual health behaviors. This course examines the community context of the changes needed to promote the public’s health. We begin by examining the various definitions of ‘community’ and the processes by which we ‘diagnose’ or seek to understand the structure and characteristics of different types of communities. An appreciation of community similarities and differences is necessary lest we fall into the trap of designing one-size-fits-all interventions. We need to recognize that no matter that outsiders may view a community as poor or neglected, we can find strengths and capacities for improvement in each community. Identifying community capacities and resources is the first step in facilitating community change. Different practical and philosophical approaches to change and therefore, examined. Specific to the change process is our recognition of the need for communities to participate in the design, implementation and evaluation of any intervention. We examine the concept of participation in an effort to see how different levels of involvement may affect sustainability of community change efforts. Finally a case study of a community participatory approach to onchocerciasis control in Africa is presented. Community Directed Intervention has subsequently been successfully applied to providing other essential primary health care services by and in the community, such as insecticide treated bednets, malaria treatment, vitamin A distribution, deworming medicines, and pneumonia and diarrhea case management....

Лучшие рецензии

AA
20 февр. 2017 г.

It was a very insightful course as it showed us how community change is effected in developing countries. The case studies were practical and showed the change that occurs in reality, not just theory

MH
11 февр. 2019 г.

Very informative and give me the chance to have a new perspective regarding the essential role of community participation in improving and sustaining the health care system.

Фильтр по:

26–38 из 38 отзывов о курсе Изменения общества, необходимые для формирования здорового образа жизни населения

автор: Elvira E G

4 янв. 2022 г.

Excellent explanations, examples and especially the case study exercises, where the concepts are applied in a practical way, were very useful to consolidate what was learned. It will be very useful for me to design and implement interventions in the communities. I consider it to be one of the most interesting courses of the specialization.

автор: Mercy P E

7 апр. 2021 г.

Thanks to God Almighty and the organizers of this platform, the course has increased my knowledge on the strategies, design and ways of implementing community change for actual development outcomes and sustainability.

автор: Myrna P

20 окт. 2020 г.

Overall I enjoyed the course and learned quite a bit. I realize that this course was filmed a while ago when focusing on communities in Africa was and they still are a priority. As I live in a very large urban city in the US and I am taking not only this course but the Foundations of Global Health during a SARS-COV2 pandemic I am looking at it through that lens. It would be nice if this could be updated to include the COVID-19 pandemic

автор: Audra B

8 окт. 2016 г.

LOVE the topic/content. I would like more small assignments to solidify defining terms and ideas before applying the course ideas to case study samples. I would take more courses in this topic and similar topics!

автор: Shruti S

8 дек. 2016 г.

It was a very informative course that helped me understand the principles behind community work. The use of case studies to explain concepts was what helped me the most.

автор: Suzan O

21 мар. 2017 г.

It is a very useful insight into community change in public health and a must for every one who want to ensure sustainability is integrated into his intervention

автор: Humeyra A K

12 июня 2020 г.

This was a thought-provoking course on community typologies and the best approach to take to trigger behaviour change.

автор: Eunice A

28 авг. 2016 г.

This course is ideal for anyone interested in community-oriented public health. It's worth the time and effort.

автор: Onyinyechukwu A

7 янв. 2018 г.

Very insightful. Lessons can be integrated beyond public health

автор: Nader A

21 дек. 2017 г.

It was Amazing!

автор: rashmi r

10 сент. 2017 г.

good information.

автор: Katherine G

27 апр. 2018 г.

If you like learning labels and definitions, this is a great course. If you want to learn about how to create community change, skip it.

The course focuses on defining communities and types of change, which it does very well. However, be aware that it does not cover how to create this change, except with the most cursory of references. I found the assessments (which require you to define various parts of a community and change processes) monotonous, especially as you must complete the same assessment questions twice. Neither myself nor anyone I peer-graded agreed with the course creators on which labels to use for the case studies, so I wonder how useful they are as learning points.

Finally, I was disappointed that the course focuses on a handful of stereotypical communities and change programs (e.g. HIV, malaria, and clean water in Africa). It is difficult to relate the material to other community contexts, such as Western or developed ones.

автор: pete m

1 мар. 2017 г.

the course really covered information I knew but made simple concepts complex - that is just my opinion