Chevron Left
Вернуться к Cloud Computing Applications, Part 1: Cloud Systems and Infrastructure

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Cloud Computing Applications, Part 1: Cloud Systems and Infrastructure от партнера Иллинойсский университет в Урбане-Шампейне

4.1
Оценки: 388
Рецензии: 93

О курсе

Welcome to the Cloud Computing Applications course, the first part of a two-course series designed to give you a comprehensive view on the world of Cloud Computing and Big Data! In this first course we cover a multitude of technologies that comprise the modern concept of cloud computing. Cloud computing is an information technology revolution that has just started to impact many enterprise computing systems in major ways, and it will change the face of computing in the years to come. We start the first week by introducing some major concepts in cloud computing, the economics foundations of it and we introduce the concept of big data. We also cover the concept of software defined architectures, and how virtualization results in cloud infrastructure and how cloud service providers organize their offerings. In week two, we cover virtualization and containers with deeper focus, including lectures on Docker, JVM and Kubernates. We finish up week two by comparing the infrastructure as a service offering by the big three: Amazon, Google and Microsoft. Week three moves to higher level of cloud offering, including platform as a service, mobile backend as a service and even serverless architectures. We also talk about some of the cloud middleware technologies that are fundamental to cloud based applications such as RPC and REST, JSON and load balancing. Week three also covers metal as a service (MaaS), where physical machines are provisioned in a cloud environment. Week four introduces higher level cloud services with special focus on cloud storage services. We introduce Hive, HDFS and Ceph as pure Big Data Storage and file systems, and move on to cloud object storage systems, virtual hard drives and virtual archival storage options. As discussion on Dropbox cloud solution wraps up week 4 and the course....

Лучшие рецензии

SP

Feb 18, 2017

Well structured course. Gives a good overview of the basics of cloud computing. couple of typos in the transcripts. will flag errors in future courses

UN

Apr 10, 2018

Understanding of this course will help you to know more about Cloud Computing and the technologies that drive Big Data

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 90 отзывов о курсе Cloud Computing Applications, Part 1: Cloud Systems and Infrastructure

By Edwin B

Aug 26, 2018

An ok survey, but it covers too many topics, without going in depth on any of them; despite using a lot of time informing about how great each technology is.

If they cut out 1/2 of the cheerleading about how great everything is, and how flexible everything is, then perhaps there would have been time for presentation of examples, so we could see how easy it is instead of just hearing about it.

By Zhikun L

Aug 05, 2017

This is so far the worst course I take in this specialization. Professor Roy H. Campbell doesn't seem to really understand what he is doing. It gives me a sense of feeling that he is just reciting slides (sometimes he even can't recite the slides in the right way). He can hardly make one complete sentence without destroying the grammar. His mind just keep wanders around, and I simply can't follow him. I took this course out of curiosity of how bad it can be, and it didn't fulfill my purpose. I am not trying to be harsh here. This is my comparison of this course and the cloud computing concepts course. However, I think Reza Farivar did a really good job at explaining topics.

By Jörg S

Feb 05, 2017

Mr. Campbell's presentations are quite boring and consist of a handful of phrases repeated over and over again. The subjects are treated very superficially and the presentation style is confusing. I recommend to other students to read the Wikipedia articles about the subjects instead. Several times it feels like Mr. Campbell has never before seen the slides he is reading from and he is simply inventing stuff. Some information presented is plain wrong. Also, there is repeated talk of practical exercises to come, but that never happens. To Mr. Campbell's presentations, I would only award ONE STAR.

On the other hand I really liked the presentations from Mr. Farivar. He obviously knows what he is talking about and presents the material in a clear and understandable way. He should take over the whole course and let Mr. Campbell do some research back in his office. I would award 4.5 STARS to Mr. Farivar.

The homeworks of this course are simply checking for a very basic understanding of the topics. E.g. "To do this and that, would you use technology A, B, or C?" Where the answer are some quite different technologies.

The course needs more involvement of the students by going more in-depth and adding some practical exercises.

Had the cloud computing specialization started with this course, I would probably have aborted it.

By Zhaoyang L

Jun 09, 2019

Like Wikipedia on some popular cloud products.

By Debasis D

May 14, 2019

Good Course provided by Coursera. Thank you

By Cenxui L

May 07, 2019

good to learn about cloud

By Austin Z

Apr 25, 2019

Not what I expected after the last two courses in the cloud specialization. A lot of the information has already been covered in the last two courses from a more detailed theoretical level. This is more of a non-technical level overview of some popular and some random cloud tools covered at a level that is not technical enough to gain anything from but in too much tedious detail to be consumable for the parts that are interesting. This course could be condensed into a few page tradeoff table of the services and applications covered.

By Manasvi N

Apr 22, 2019

-

By pranav v

Mar 26, 2019

Course was good

By lowell s

Mar 10, 2019

Great course on the foundations of the cloud. Excellent Lectures

By Iga R

Feb 15, 2019

interesting topics but explanation is sometimes unclear

By Amit P

Feb 10, 2019

The course covers lots of areas and you hear lots of keywords. But it doesn't cover any of the aspects in depth. For me it was very basic course and having some practical aspects would have made it a much interesting course.

By Kamath S S

Feb 06, 2019

very good and insightful course for beginners

By Rizwan H

Dec 22, 2018

its Best course for me i'm very satisfied and get knowledge, its better for my future

By Dronesh D

Nov 29, 2018

A really good course to present the entire landscape of Cloud Infrastructure in a concise format. Course provides a good comparison of all the latest technologies and offerings. This will really help anyone working or aspiring to work in this space to make better decisions and choose the optimal solutions.

By Vinayaka R C

Nov 12, 2018

nice

By Anurag D

Nov 12, 2018

great course

By Luis F P

Oct 20, 2018

The flow of the course was so natural and well explained.

By Nguyen C T

Oct 16, 2018

Very good

By 黄亮

Oct 16, 2018

Provider a lot of materials on cloud application, infrastructure and storage service, not deeply enough to known the inside.

By LAKSHAYE V

Oct 11, 2018

Excellent videos with appropriate quizzes to check the analyse the depth of learning

By Hugo A A S D

Sep 28, 2018

Nice course but too much theory.

By Luis R

Aug 14, 2018

Great course. Looking forward to completing the whole specialization!

By Michael M

Aug 13, 2018

This was a great course.

By Ezequiel A

Aug 02, 2018

Amazing course!