Chevron Left
Вернуться к Cloud Computing Applications, Part 1: Cloud Systems and Infrastructure

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Cloud Computing Applications, Part 1: Cloud Systems and Infrastructure от партнера Иллинойсский университет в Урбане-Шампейне

4.1
Оценки: 441
Рецензии: 106

О курсе

Welcome to the Cloud Computing Applications course, the first part of a two-course series designed to give you a comprehensive view on the world of Cloud Computing and Big Data! In this first course we cover a multitude of technologies that comprise the modern concept of cloud computing. Cloud computing is an information technology revolution that has just started to impact many enterprise computing systems in major ways, and it will change the face of computing in the years to come. We start the first week by introducing some major concepts in cloud computing, the economics foundations of it and we introduce the concept of big data. We also cover the concept of software defined architectures, and how virtualization results in cloud infrastructure and how cloud service providers organize their offerings. In week two, we cover virtualization and containers with deeper focus, including lectures on Docker, JVM and Kubernates. We finish up week two by comparing the infrastructure as a service offering by the big three: Amazon, Google and Microsoft. Week three moves to higher level of cloud offering, including platform as a service, mobile backend as a service and even serverless architectures. We also talk about some of the cloud middleware technologies that are fundamental to cloud based applications such as RPC and REST, JSON and load balancing. Week three also covers metal as a service (MaaS), where physical machines are provisioned in a cloud environment. Week four introduces higher level cloud services with special focus on cloud storage services. We introduce Hive, HDFS and Ceph as pure Big Data Storage and file systems, and move on to cloud object storage systems, virtual hard drives and virtual archival storage options. As discussion on Dropbox cloud solution wraps up week 4 and the course....

Лучшие рецензии

SP

Feb 18, 2017

Well structured course. Gives a good overview of the basics of cloud computing. couple of typos in the transcripts. will flag errors in future courses

UN

Apr 10, 2018

Understanding of this course will help you to know more about Cloud Computing and the technologies that drive Big Data

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 103 отзывов о курсе Cloud Computing Applications, Part 1: Cloud Systems and Infrastructure

автор: Edwin B

Aug 26, 2018

An ok survey, but it covers too many topics, without going in depth on any of them; despite using a lot of time informing about how great each technology is.

If they cut out 1/2 of the cheerleading about how great everything is, and how flexible everything is, then perhaps there would have been time for presentation of examples, so we could see how easy it is instead of just hearing about it.

автор: Zhikun L

Aug 05, 2017

This is so far the worst course I take in this specialization. Professor Roy H. Campbell doesn't seem to really understand what he is doing. It gives me a sense of feeling that he is just reciting slides (sometimes he even can't recite the slides in the right way). He can hardly make one complete sentence without destroying the grammar. His mind just keep wanders around, and I simply can't follow him. I took this course out of curiosity of how bad it can be, and it didn't fulfill my purpose. I am not trying to be harsh here. This is my comparison of this course and the cloud computing concepts course. However, I think Reza Farivar did a really good job at explaining topics.

автор: Jörg S

Feb 05, 2017

Mr. Campbell's presentations are quite boring and consist of a handful of phrases repeated over and over again. The subjects are treated very superficially and the presentation style is confusing. I recommend to other students to read the Wikipedia articles about the subjects instead. Several times it feels like Mr. Campbell has never before seen the slides he is reading from and he is simply inventing stuff. Some information presented is plain wrong. Also, there is repeated talk of practical exercises to come, but that never happens. To Mr. Campbell's presentations, I would only award ONE STAR.

On the other hand I really liked the presentations from Mr. Farivar. He obviously knows what he is talking about and presents the material in a clear and understandable way. He should take over the whole course and let Mr. Campbell do some research back in his office. I would award 4.5 STARS to Mr. Farivar.

The homeworks of this course are simply checking for a very basic understanding of the topics. E.g. "To do this and that, would you use technology A, B, or C?" Where the answer are some quite different technologies.

The course needs more involvement of the students by going more in-depth and adding some practical exercises.

Had the cloud computing specialization started with this course, I would probably have aborted it.

автор: Rizwan H

Dec 22, 2018

its Best course for me i'm very satisfied and get knowledge, its better for my future

автор: Vinayaka R C

Nov 12, 2018

nice

автор: Anurag D

Nov 12, 2018

great course

автор: Dronesh D

Nov 29, 2018

A really good course to present the entire landscape of Cloud Infrastructure in a concise format. Course provides a good comparison of all the latest technologies and offerings. This will really help anyone working or aspiring to work in this space to make better decisions and choose the optimal solutions.

автор: lowell s

Mar 10, 2019

Great course on the foundations of the cloud. Excellent Lectures

автор: Ezequiel A

Aug 02, 2018

Amazing course!

автор: Michael M

Aug 13, 2018

This was a great course.

автор: Luis R

Aug 14, 2018

Great course. Looking forward to completing the whole specialization!

автор: LAKSHAYE V

Oct 11, 2018

Excellent videos with appropriate quizzes to check the analyse the depth of learning

автор: Nguyen C T

Oct 16, 2018

Very good

автор: Luis F P

Oct 20, 2018

The flow of the course was so natural and well explained.

автор: Gautam S

Jul 13, 2018

Great course and content

автор: Manjeet D

May 06, 2018

Great Course! It gave me solid foundation in understanding cloud computing and its applications.

автор: Uche N

Apr 10, 2018

Understanding of this course will help you to know more about Cloud Computing and the technologies that drive Big Data

автор: Rodrigo F V

Jan 28, 2018

I doubt there is any other easier way to understand the basics of cloud computing, this course is the best kick off I found about this theme and I learned more here, than in a few months in Google because of the lack of method of learning and correctly information, which I found here and after around 20 MOOCs courses, this one seems to have the best methodology.

This course offer enought to let a person walking in his own shoes in any cloud available nowadays and was exactly what I need to undestand Cloud Computing, and I was be able learn about DevOps concept too, even not been part of this course.

автор: Lawrence L

Jun 24, 2018

It was an awesome course. Opened up my eyes

автор: Patrick F

Apr 14, 2017

thank you for everything !

автор: Norman

Jun 15, 2017

A really great course for a novice

автор: Anakot K R

Oct 28, 2017

Good Introduction.

автор: Sunil G

Oct 29, 2017

very interesting and informative. Really enjoyed it!

автор: S S K

May 13, 2017

It's very useful.

автор: sanjay p

Feb 18, 2017

Well structured course. Gives a good overview of the basics of cloud computing. couple of typos in the transcripts. will flag errors in future courses